Insurance Australia Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Insurance Australia Group Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 177 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Peter Harmer
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and great culture(in 25 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours and great benefits as IAG are partnered with a broad range of external partners(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "restructure is the repeated pattern of IAG(in 16 reviews)

  • "(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Liability Claims Consultant - Great team to grow your insurance career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insurance Australia Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Flexibility. Encourages wellbeing. - Culture. Supportive and collaborative. - Good management culture. - Great exposure to brands across company.

    Cons

    - Lack of training structure. - Salary.

    Insurance Australia Group2019-06-11
  2. "Good, forward thinking financial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insurance Australia Group part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -modern -flexible working -good pay -driven -ethical

    Cons

    -multiple strategies hard to know where to align - silo working - trying to be more innovative than what we are ready to be as a foundational capability

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page

    Insurance Australia Group2019-05-24
  3. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Insurance Australia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed fexible working was handy

    Cons

    No career development, remuneration was under market rate and constant restructures.

    Insurance Australia Group2019-05-21
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Insurance Australia Group

      Pros

      Very flexible and able to speak up when you see something that needs changing.

      Cons

      Constant restructures mean you will quickly forget which department you work in

      Advice to Management

      Less restructures

      Insurance Australia Group2019-04-16
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Graduate 

        I have been working at Insurance Australia Group full-time

        Pros

        Learning alot Passionate manager with a great vision

        Cons

        Large organisation leads to usually low levels of interaction with others outside of business area

        Insurance Australia Group2019-04-17
      • "Good company overall but some teams are disaster"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Claims Consultant Landlord in Parramatta
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Insurance Australia Group full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good staff benefits Reasonably good systems

        Cons

        The team I was in had the worst manager I've had in my career. Rude, condescending, bullies staff.

        Insurance Australia Group2019-05-22
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great perks, working from home etc, large company but plenty of uncertainty"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Insurance Australia Group full-time

        Pros

        They hire intelligent staff, great complex business. Laptop and mobile provided. Great access to conferences, events and other partnership workshops etc.

        Cons

        Plenty of restructures. Very Sydney centric, making it hard for those working in Melbourne to feel included, move roles or gain other opportunities.

        Advice to Management

        Value your staff more, engage with them and help them progress.

        Insurance Australia Group2019-04-09
      • "Anonymous"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Insurance Australia Group full-time

          Pros

          Great team and good environment

          Cons

          Too much change, no clear strategy

          Insurance Australia Group2019-04-23
        • Helpful (2)

          "Loosing valuable employees and trust"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Insurance Australia Group full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Employee benefits- flexi work, insurance discounts, retail stores discounts etc.

          Cons

          1. Too many restructuring. 2 . Loosing talent- I was hired one year back after a rigorous interview process. Within 1 year my role has been made redundant. You spend so much time in hiring process and letting go your employees. Such a waste of time n money. No proper business planning as well. 2. Toxic culture. 3. Politics- If you dont have contacts you wont be able to clear internal interviews although you have...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Retain your valuable employees before its too late. I was so impressed by the company values n brands but turned out to be such a disappointment.

          Insurance Australia Group2019-04-16
        • "Great place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Test Automation Engineer in Sydney
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Insurance Australia Group full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Relaxed atmosphere Good infrastructure Good employee benefits

          Cons

          No major Cons working here

          Insurance Australia Group2019-03-21
        Found 177 reviews