Kony Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Kony Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 835 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Kony CEO Thomas E. Hogan
Thomas E. Hogan
512 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can get unbalanced at times due to the rapid growth(in 88 reviews)

  • "No Cons observed for this company(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mobile is the place to be right now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time

    Pros

    Great people and culture. Cool technology

    Cons

    High pressure projects across many timezones can make downtime a challenge

    Kony2018-09-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Losing focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Leadership in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product and engineering team. Innovative engineering culture.

    Cons

    - Executive management has lost focus with too many experiments with GTM model / constant re-organization - Lost key members of executive management due to personal conflict - Missed best window of opportunity to take the company public or to be acquired. Sold the company for a small fraction of what it was worth at its best - Lack of customer focus has led to loss of customer confidence - Highly political with... internal strife - Very little understanding of markets outside the US - GTM talent is not valued - Increasing negative sentiment across teams - Poor work-life balance

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Constant re-orgs disrupt customer confidence. Experiments need time to show results. If you believe in it, give it time to start delivering value before jumping to the next experiment. Removing bureaucracy will let the company take advantage of its size and be nimble.

    Kony2019-08-26

    Kony Response

    September 3, 2019Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for weighing in and sharing your thoughts about our products and innovate culture. This is core to who we are and the Mobilizers who work here. We do agree that we are regularly tweaking the go-to-market model just as all hyper-growth companies do. Regarding our acquisition by Temenos, Kony shareholders and analysts would seem to respectively disagree, with the commentary indicating this is a fair price according to industry norms, and that this is a great marriage propelling the unified organization to even greater heights in the future. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Show Less
  3. "Worst in my 15 year of career life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's nothing good about this organisation.

    Cons

    Worst senior management ever seen. Hire and Fire mentality.

    Advice to Management

    How do you make some a VP? Send to them for people management skills training. Learn to treat people better

    Kony2018-07-14

    Kony Response

    July 16, 2018Chief Human Resources Officer

    I am sorry it didn't work out for you here. It's clear you did not have a good experience. Please reach out to our Talent Mobilization team as we would very much want to hear your perspective. Best of luck in your future career.

  4. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kony

    Pros

    The work timings are very flexible and you get to work on some cutting-edge technologies

    Cons

    No good appraisals and lot of work pressure

    Kony2017-01-21
  5. "Run while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kony for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting technology. Some smart people in the trenches. New CEO might save them. Time will tell.

    Cons

    Founder was/is crazy, erratic and dysfunctional CEO. I've never seen such unprofessional behaviour be a CEO and his minions. Product is released way to early and essentially slide ware for at least 6 months.

    Advice to Management

    Cut ties with founder. Connect product pricing to reality and what the market dictates.

    Kony2016-07-08
  6. Helpful (6)

    "D player central"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Too few to remember. Kony is in a fast paced tech environment so employees learn a lot about the industry. Compensation can be good for certain roles.

    Cons

    Senior, Middle and Junior management ensure that large pool of C and D players exist in the company, which in turn makes them feel very important. Your ideas or actions will easily get trumped by a poor manager who cannot tolerate anything but his or her own way of thinking and who's threatened easily. Turnover has consistently been high and the people leaving are the A players or those can't be at HQ to suck up... to their managers. The company blew through many hundreds of thousands of dollars recruiting folks who eventually got chased away by their C and D player managers. The company has no corporate culture but plenty of political culture. If you're unable to play the game or kiss ass in other ways or are from a different Indian tribe/community than your manager, your options for contributing to the company's success are very limited.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The purpose of management is not suppress and oppress and beat up employees, but to help grow business, employees and careers. Run the place like a modern American business and it could become a rocket ship. Get rid of the tribe/village/caste/state based culture and you'll attract excellent talent instead of chasing it.

    Kony2012-09-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent employee friendly company. Good management and encouragement Excellent package and other benefits

    Cons

    Medium size company hence customers put undue pressure sometimes to get more work squeezed from Kony.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Kony2019-09-25
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Good work culture 2. Work pressure Changes from project to project 3. A lot depends on Team and Manager 4. Geta onsite opportunity after 2-3 years

    Cons

    1. Limited learning 2. Slow growth rate.

    Kony2019-10-11
  9. "Good Company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Hyderābād

    I worked at Kony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No Micro management, good work culture

    Cons

    Average Pay, sometimes work pressure

    Kony2019-10-08
  10. "Work at Kony"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time

    Pros

    Great Work Culture at Kony

    Cons

    No cons applicable as of now

    Advice to Management

    Not advice to management as of now

    Kony2019-09-18
Found 835 reviews
</>Embed