LateRooms.com Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

LateRooms.com Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
46%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
LateRooms.com CEO Hugo Kimber (no image)
Hugo Kimber
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "City centre location was perfect, and close to transport links made it ideal for me really(in 13 reviews)

  • "Enjoyed my time with the company, was full of lots of great people who became friends(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - N/A 

    I worked at LateRooms.com full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and team. The people made it.

    Cons

    Great place to work, was very sorry to leave

    LateRooms.com2019-10-03
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LateRooms.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Good Excellent Benefits great Staff good

    Cons

    Sad to see its closed down

    LateRooms.com2019-08-31
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LateRooms.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, management easy to talk to

    Cons

    nothing really, all just fine.

    Advice to Management

    none

    LateRooms.com2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Hoping everything works out ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LateRooms.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The majority of the people are hard working, friendly and will genuinely help you out and make you feel welcome. I worked at LR for many years and count a lot of colleagues as friends. The office location is good and near enough to transport and places to eat. The company benefits recently got improved, including holidays and staff vouchers. Working hours are relatively flexible depending on your manager. Moving... jobs/positions within the company is good, they will generally give you a lot of support if you're changing roles in the business. The technologies are pretty up to date. Agile way of working.

    Show More

    Cons

    The salary is truly awful compared to the average in the area. Bad vibes in the Manchester office which all seem to centre around one specific staff member. No one seems to believe in the product. No one knows what the target audience is and the relevent teams don't appear to be given any resources to properly research who the product is aimed at. People losing faith in the company following on from recent news... articles regarding missed payments and share prices falling. I see in a lot of reviews on here that the company respond to, advising people to raise concerns with managers/HR, but the same issues get raised over and over again and the people who are at fault never get reprimanded. It's a shame as the company used to be a global business with offices around the globe catering for many different countries. I'd really like to see Laterooms thrive again and be what it used to be in the market place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'd implore senior staff or HR to do something about the attitudes of some of the management teams. Most of the managers are exceptional but some are really ruining the morale. Not to mention that it's very upsetting seeing fellow colleagues literally getting shouted at. There are better ways to talk to people, like taking them to one side etc, not loudly and in front of peers.

    LateRooms.com2019-07-13
  5. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at LateRooms.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young and dynamic working enviroment

    Cons

    Cut-throat employment practice - watch your back

    LateRooms.com2019-07-28
  6. "Continuous improvement culture and staff engagement focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LateRooms.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are always the focus at Laterooms and have been since I started. The team work is fantastic and the opportunities for challenge and growth among staff is like nowhere I have ever worked before. There are challenges like with every changing business but the open and honest culture allows people to talk through the issues and try to work them through without fear of reproach or judgement which is... refreshing. The HR team are working tirelessly on making staff benefits better and more aligned for all and they take a lot of criticism without the understanding that they are a very small team and stretched in a lot of directions. Personally I have always had someone I can turn to if I needed advice or a sounding board which cannot be said for many HR teams I have worked with previously. The absence of a CTO at present seems to have solidified the IT leadership team and allowed a more direct line into the board - feedback to this effect has been submitted to the SLT directly and it is very positive to hear that staff are secure in times of change. There are always areas to improve in any organisation but the bonus of LateRooms is that staff are listened to and the organisation as a whole are genuinely trying to make improvements wherever possible to ensure the success of the business and the people that make the place.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things tend to take time at Laterooms when business wide change is required it would be good to see the organisation as a whole be more agile to deliver internal changes at pace. Senior people need to get out of the shrinking mindset - the organisation structure had to change to move forwards and build a new product. That product is now live and we need to shift the mentality of cost cutting and trimming down to... support our future growth plans - stop challenging staff replacements with lesser roles and start to understand that we must support partners to the best of our ability and to do that we cannot run as lean as we have been in recent years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your people. Continue to drive the appreciation culture across the business. Aim to become a market leader for staff wellbeing and benefits - it’s not just the salary that people consider for jobs nowadays. Change your mindset to one of growth now - ahead of the curve. Appreciate the challenges of running teams and technology too lean for too long - systems and applications need TLC too stagnation... leads to issues with knowledge, expertise, availability and stability directly impacting customer experience and conversion.

    Show More
    LateRooms.com2019-06-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of direction, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LateRooms.com full-time

    Pros

    Nice HQ Office in Manchester; OK Work/Life balance

    Cons

    Lack of direction; The product was not competitive; Impossible to meet the targets.

    LateRooms.com2019-05-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Think Twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LateRooms.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with some great people at LateRooms.

    Cons

    To many inexperienced Managers trying to run major parts of the business, resulting in a mass Exodus of talented people.

    Advice to Management

    Choose more wisely when making Managerial appointments.

    LateRooms.com2019-06-20
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic atmosphere, constant loss of staff, poor pay rates and misdirected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LateRooms.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good annual leave (increased at start of 2019 as struggling to recruit/retain staff) Some flexibility in working hours Get £100 voucher to spend on Sperbreak.com per year. If you do really well and someone leaves, you get to do their work too. Current acting CTO (and owner) Hugo Kimber is a great guy, open and honest with a good outlook for the company.

    Cons

    Toxic atmosphere. SLT are misdirected by SMT People in higher technical positions are not technical and have no clue how things work. Do not pay market rate. When someone leaves, they are generally not replaced like for like, responsabilites dived between whoever is left or replacement is a junior /less experienced role forcing a dilution in skills and more pressure other team members. HR ignore staffs advice... on how to improve. Money is tight, the investors have had no return on their investment in the new brand and therefore will not invest any more monies. Stupid decisions are made which result in costing the company money, where this money could be invested in staff or equipment. Company is being swallowed up by bigger fish in market, each year decreases in size and profits, future outlook not looking too great.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Review the people who are causing the poor atmosphere and making bad decisions. Improve the wages of staff, train them so they can leave but treat them so they don't want to .

    LateRooms.com2019-06-10
  10. "Windows Platform Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LateRooms.com full-time

    Pros

    Great location and friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Wages are not very competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Make more of an effort to hold onto skilled staff.

    LateRooms.com2019-04-29
Found 90 reviews