Macy's Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Macy's Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17011 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1557 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Macy's Credit Cards & Bronze Enrollment requirements(in 906 reviews)

  • "Impossible sales goals that’s bad(in 557 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Trade Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Great work life balance - Great culture

    Cons

    No cons, I love the company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, the service manager is exceptional well organised

    Macy's2017-09-08
  2. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Fun Easy Teamwork Experience overall the experience was good

    Cons

    Not Flexible staff hours Tiring overall the experience was good

    Advice to Management

    give senior staff more hours

    Macy's2018-04-08
  3. "Sals coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Port Stephens
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Great location to work at

    Cons

    Bad management tom work with

    Advice to Management

    Share more interest in development

    Macy's2017-11-14
  4. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    I was paid on time and the work was relatively easy going. I had to deal with people a lot, but that was ok because I like dealing with people.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons really from when I worked at Macy's. The people were nice and the job was fine most of the time.

    Advice to Management

    They were good at what they did and were relatively involved with the employees so I don't have any advice for management.

    Macy's2016-05-19
  5. "ABC Accounts an OK place to begin your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good pay and nice environment.

    Cons

    Long hours and inflexible attitudes.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in more accountants!

    Macy's2015-02-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fun culture and great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager, Executive Recruitment 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Genuine passion of co-workers to try and provide a "magical" experience for customers. Most employees have the right balance of being focused on driving profitability while knowing they are ultimately not 'saving lives'. Good discount.

    Cons

    Pay is low in the retail industry, period. In the salaried executive roles, there seems to be constant change and restructures.

    Macy's2014-11-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Macy's isn't the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Deptford
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had lots of hours Was paid more because I worked in the designer department Co-workers were friendly and taught you everything you needed to know, management not so much though. Gets you out of your shell

    Cons

    Only allowed one day off for classes Managers didn't care if it was a slow night, if you didn't meet your sales goal you were in trouble. They didn't care about connecting with people. They only cared about the sale so they could beat another macys. Dress code was different depending on who you spoke to Orientation was awful and just sat in front of a computer

    Advice to Management

    Be more organized and don't just look at the numbers. Look at every factor that contributes

    Macy's2014-10-28
  8. "Fast pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations and Asset Protection Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Fast pace. Meet a lot of great people.

    Cons

    Work life balance is challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Helps to be relocatable.

    Macy's2019-05-22
  9. "Really depends on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Woodbridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Macys tries really hard to make their employees feel like family. There's always some fun events going on every month for us. They are also very good and helping with job growth. They're more likely to give a higher job to an employee rather than an outsider

    Cons

    The job can be tiring and bad on the feet and knees. But that is normal for most retail environments.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pick favorites but also recognize those who work hard

    Macy's2019-05-22
  10. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Portland, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and decent pay

    Cons

    Very busy and sometimes overwhelming

    Advice to Management

    Understand that employees have things happen in life they can’t control

    Macy's2019-05-20
Found 17011 reviews