Macy's Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Macy's Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17859 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1774 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Macy's Credit Cards & Bronze Enrollment requirements(in 910 reviews)

  • "It is very challenging to meet sales goals(in 560 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Trade Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great work life balance - Great culture

    Cons

    No cons, I love the company

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-09-08
  2. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Fun Easy Teamwork Experience overall the experience was good

    Cons

    Not Flexible staff hours Tiring overall the experience was good

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-04-08
  3. "Sals coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Port Stephens
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Great location to work at

    Cons

    Bad management tom work with

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-11-14
  4. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    I was paid on time and the work was relatively easy going. I had to deal with people a lot, but that was ok because I like dealing with people.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons really from when I worked at Macy's. The people were nice and the job was fine most of the time.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2016-05-19
  5. "ABC Accounts an OK place to begin your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and nice environment.

    Cons

    Long hours and inflexible attitudes.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-02-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fun culture and great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager, Executive Recruitment 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine passion of co-workers to try and provide a "magical" experience for customers. Most employees have the right balance of being focused on driving profitability while knowing they are ultimately not 'saving lives'. Good discount.

    Cons

    Pay is low in the retail industry, period. In the salaried executive roles, there seems to be constant change and restructures.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-11-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Macy's isn't the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Deptford
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had lots of hours Was paid more because I worked in the designer department Co-workers were friendly and taught you everything you needed to know, management not so much though. Gets you out of your shell

    Cons

    Only allowed one day off for classes Managers didn't care if it was a slow night, if you didn't meet your sales goal you were in trouble. They didn't care about connecting with people. They only cared about the sale so they could beat another macys. Dress code was different depending on who you spoke to Orientation was awful and just sat in front of a computer

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-10-28
  8. "Fun Atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great retail hours if you are looking for part-time evening and weekends! Discount is very nice as well as the people you work with. The break room provides a great place to decompress.

    Cons

    You must wear shoes with insoles as you will be constantly busy.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-08-22
  9. "MACYS LAST YEAR EMPLOYMENT THERE IS NO OPTION FOR THE YEAR 2013 WHICH I WORKED THERE."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security in Secaucus, NJ

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PAYMENT, AND ALSO THE WORK ENVIROMENT.

    Cons

    for me it was the distance from my home at that time.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-08-22
  10. "Amazing!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tigard, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, awesome management, fun place to work!

    Cons

    I really having nothing bad to say!

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-08-22
Found 17859 reviews