Macy's Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
2,050 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pushing credit cards that few have(in 952 reviews)

  • "long hours, especially during holidays(in 558 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Trade Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great work life balance - Great culture

    Cons

    No cons, I love the company

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-09-08
  2. "Good place"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Good staff and training provided

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Macy's2020-04-22
  3. "Customer Service"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Fun Easy Teamwork Experience overall the experience was good

    Cons

    Not Flexible staff hours Tiring overall the experience was good

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-04-08
  4. "Sals coordinator"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Port Stephens
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Great location to work at

    Cons

    Bad management tom work with

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-11-14
  5. "Ok place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    I was paid on time and the work was relatively easy going. I had to deal with people a lot, but that was ok because I like dealing with people.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons really from when I worked at Macy's. The people were nice and the job was fine most of the time.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2016-05-19
  6. "ABC Accounts an OK place to begin your career."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and nice environment.

    Cons

    Long hours and inflexible attitudes.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-02-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fun culture and great co-workers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager, Executive Recruitment 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine passion of co-workers to try and provide a "magical" experience for customers. Most employees have the right balance of being focused on driving profitability while knowing they are ultimately not 'saving lives'. Good discount.

    Cons

    Pay is low in the retail industry, period. In the salaried executive roles, there seems to be constant change and restructures.

    Macy's2014-11-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Macy's isn't the same"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Deptford
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had lots of hours Was paid more because I worked in the designer department Co-workers were friendly and taught you everything you needed to know, management not so much though. Gets you out of your shell

    Cons

    Only allowed one day off for classes Managers didn't care if it was a slow night, if you didn't meet your sales goal you were in trouble. They didn't care about connecting with people. They only cared about the sale so they could beat another macys. Dress code was different depending on who you spoke to Orientation was awful and just sat in front of a computer

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-10-28
  9. "Good First Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work life balance for most teams - Safe learning environment - Fast paced industry

    Cons

    - Little creative freedom - Slow moving company/large chain of command to get things done - Consistently (yearly) adapting the structure of the organization resulting in people getting laid off or moved jobs

    Macy's2020-06-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Women's Department Manager in Appleton, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling that allows you to work to live, not live to work. And have a life outside of work

    Cons

    It takes forever to accrue vacation time

    Macy's2020-05-29
Found 18955 reviews