Merlin Entertainments Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Merlin Entertainments Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 367 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
172 Ratings
Pros
  • "20 free tickets to attractions globally(in 25 reviews)

  • "Convenient location, good benefits, always helpful when unsure what to do(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often attractions are deemed too expensive by the guests(in 27 reviews)

  • "Long hours on your feet & a little cliquey(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage in Melbourne
    Recommends

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a company that offers you: Flexibility Good salary Good environment

    Cons

    Some of the shifts are late shifts Pression Location Opportunities

    Merlin Entertainments2019-08-11

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    August 13, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, your feedback is really useful and I'll pass it on.

  2. "Great to place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rapidly expanding globally , huge change to grow in company

    Cons

    Not much growth opportunity in Australia

    Merlin Entertainments2019-06-20
  3. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Experience Host in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a great starting team, but was slowly removed as upper management disliked them.

    Cons

    Absolutely horrendous at trying to create a good team morale. Always worrying about budget. Does not take input from staff. Does not make staff feel desired. Will not accept advice from Staff who have differing points of view. Very up and down on safety, sometimes it matters, sometimes it doesn't - probably based on their Budget and what's important and what isn't.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. We know what we're doing. Don't treat us like children.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-06-25
  4. "Operatoins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, fun, culture, people, guests

    Cons

    poor management, lack of budget

    Merlin Entertainments2019-04-04

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    April 10, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    We pride ourselves on our employee packages (including so many free tickets to our attractions woop!) so it's great to hear that you are enjoying them as well as the atmosphere and culture in the Merlin family. Thanks for playing such an important role in the functioning of our attractions!

  5. "Coordinator role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

    Pros

    Free pass to attractions Good mix of employees Lots of socials

    Cons

    No xmas party Work life balance could be improved

    Merlin Entertainments2019-02-06
  6. "Amazing Post-University - Poor Long Term Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues from other areas of business, Real "yes" mentality to any ideas you have to progress the company. Lots of social parties and "treats". Relaxed working atmosphere

    Cons

    Incidents of racism and sexual harassment very poorly managed Little to no anonymity for those who went to HR with issues Very poor upper management and lack of support Grossly underpaid (internship wage as working professional)

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee feedback and set standards of professionalism. Do not approach staff with the mentality they should be glad to have a job at all

    Merlin Entertainments2019-02-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Attraction passes not a benefit when you visit them everyday for your job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with make the place

    Cons

    Long hours, impossible to achieve bonus due to unrealistic budgets, below market salary, little to no perks

    Merlin Entertainments2018-09-25
  8. "Listen and trust your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Experience Officer in Chadstone
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very well structured company, good benefits, I work at LDC Melbourne, very enjoyable and fulfilling work as work place is surrounded by happy children

    Cons

    Management can do a better job at listening and taking care of their employees, can be repetitive, but bearable

    Advice to Management

    Angering your employees will not help you, you will end up spending more money on new employees as old ones quit from frustration.

    Merlin Entertainments2018-09-24
  9. "F&B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time

    Pros

    The people were great fun which made the job fun everyday.

    Cons

    There was no any benefit.

    Advice to Management

    All I can say is 'keep it up!'

    Merlin Entertainments2017-11-22
  10. "Great Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments

    Pros

    Lots of work benefits. Great team to work with.

    Cons

    Communication was not that great

    Merlin Entertainments2017-06-19
Found 367 reviews