Merlin Entertainments Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Merlin Entertainments Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 341 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
160 Ratings
Pros
  • "20 free tickets to attractions globally(in 25 reviews)

  • "Convenient location, good benefits, always helpful when unsure what to do(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often attractions are deemed too expensive by the guests(in 27 reviews)

  • "Long hours on your feet & a little cliquey(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great to place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rapidly expanding globally , huge change to grow in company

    Cons

    Not much growth opportunity in Australia

    Merlin Entertainments2019-06-20
  2. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Experience Host in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a great starting team, but was slowly removed as upper management disliked them.

    Cons

    Absolutely horrendous at trying to create a good team morale. Always worrying about budget. Does not take input from staff. Does not make staff feel desired. Will not accept advice from Staff who have differing points of view. Very up and down on safety, sometimes it matters, sometimes it doesn't - probably based on their Budget and what's important and what isn't.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. We know what we're doing. Don't treat us like children.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-06-25
  3. "Operatoins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits, fun, culture, people, guests

      Cons

      poor management, lack of budget

      Merlin Entertainments2019-04-04

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      April 10, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      We pride ourselves on our employee packages (including so many free tickets to our attractions woop!) so it's great to hear that you are enjoying them as well as the atmosphere and culture in the Merlin family. Thanks for playing such an important role in the functioning of our attractions!

    • "Coordinator role"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Free pass to attractions Good mix of employees Lots of socials

      Cons

      No xmas party Work life balance could be improved

      Merlin Entertainments2019-02-06
    • "Amazing Post-University - Poor Long Term Progression"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Wonderful colleagues from other areas of business, Real "yes" mentality to any ideas you have to progress the company. Lots of social parties and "treats". Relaxed working atmosphere

      Cons

      Incidents of racism and sexual harassment very poorly managed Little to no anonymity for those who went to HR with issues Very poor upper management and lack of support Grossly underpaid (internship wage as working professional)

      Advice to Management

      Listen to employee feedback and set standards of professionalism. Do not approach staff with the mentality they should be glad to have a job at all

      Merlin Entertainments2019-02-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Attraction passes not a benefit when you visit them everyday for your job!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      The people you work with make the place

      Cons

      Long hours, impossible to achieve bonus due to unrealistic budgets, below market salary, little to no perks

      Merlin Entertainments2018-09-25
    • "Listen and trust your employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Guest Experience Officer in Chadstone
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very well structured company, good benefits, I work at LDC Melbourne, very enjoyable and fulfilling work as work place is surrounded by happy children

      Cons

      Management can do a better job at listening and taking care of their employees, can be repetitive, but bearable

      Advice to Management

      Angering your employees will not help you, you will end up spending more money on new employees as old ones quit from frustration.

      Merlin Entertainments2018-09-24
    • "F&B"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time

      Pros

      The people were great fun which made the job fun everyday.

      Cons

      There was no any benefit.

      Advice to Management

      All I can say is 'keep it up!'

      Merlin Entertainments2017-11-22
    • "Great Fun"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments

      Pros

      Lots of work benefits. Great team to work with.

      Cons

      Communication was not that great

      Merlin Entertainments2017-06-19
    • "Contact Centre Team Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments

      Pros

      Great atmosphere , good perks and free passes

      Cons

      long hours , minimum pay rate

      Merlin Entertainments2017-04-19
    Found 341 reviews