Moma Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Moma Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Moma CEO Glenn D. Lowry (no image)
Glenn D. Lowry
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Tour different institutions in NYC to learn more about the behind-the-scenes in museums and to network with museum professionals around the city(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great people and working space, you could meet other interns who came from all over the world(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Little room for growth, no weekends off, no holiday time off(in 5 reviews)

  • "Not much avail to transition from temp to full time,(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Freelance art handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moma

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Little to no communications from mangement and its Unclear where you stand at any given time.

    Advice to Management

    Create a system that is easy to track and use for assignments. Similar to an outlook system

    Moma2019-10-11
  2. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Curatorial Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is at your finger tips: the library, the galleries, the collection database, lectures, movies, public programs, staff caf, an employee discount at the MoMA store! A great place for curious minds. Worked with a brilliant curator who let me work full time even though the internship was initially offered for 2 days/week.

    Cons

    Interviewed for a few full time positions after my internship ended that I did not get.

    Advice to Management

    Hire from within or former interns. We all want to come back!

    Moma2019-10-09
  3. "Not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Moma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, perks, fun place to work

    Cons

    Job can be repetitive, no room for growth

    Moma2019-08-06
  4. "pretty nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Moma full-time

    Pros

    good environment, great place to work at

    Cons

    heavy hours, didnt learn that much

    Moma2019-02-15
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Prestigous Title but Terrible Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visitor Services Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Moma full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The space is beautiful, no denying the magnificence of the museum's collection. Most of the coworkers are cool/art-minded. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Seemed almost punitive to young (under 40) people. Low pay, poor structure. No opportunity for promotion or raise. Higher management positions look down on the front-end workers. Frequently the members are vicious, nasty snobs. Erratic schedule that changes weekly. Impossible to get time off. Yes, they offer decent benefits but good luck ever actually being allowed to take time off. Weekends and holidays are... required, as are some late nights. Abusive use of temp workers. Any opportunities for advancement went to less-qualified outside applicants.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay front end staff a living wage. Offer promotions and raises commensurate with quality of work. Get off your high horse, we all work together and only a few of us are millionaires.

    Moma2019-02-10
  6. "Supportive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Moma

    Pros

    Collaborative colleagues, great benefits, community driven, inclusive

    Cons

    Bureaucratic issues that come along with any large institution, structure of teams/roles can limit availability of promotions

    Moma2018-11-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Exhibitions Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Moma full-time

    Pros

    Diversity of projects and learning

    Cons

    Long hours and minimal salary

    Moma2018-11-02
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Guest Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moma full-time

    Pros

    The only pros are the benefits and that there will eventually be paid time off.

    Cons

    Working at MoMA was one of the worst decisions I have ever made. The environment was terrible. Gossiping and petty feuds between guest assistants is rampant. It seems like they are trying to get each other fired. There is a strict seniority policy among them and new employees will get the brunt of it. The senior employees seem to hate the job at take it out on the newer employees. You are treated like a second-class... employee by all the other museum departments. The work is draining and the treatment by management is degrading.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie during the interviews about advancement opportunities.

    Moma2018-10-25
  9. "Bookstore Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY

    I worked at Moma part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Great benefits A beautiful, exciting place to work with discounts on good art books, interesting gifts

    Cons

    Christmas time got insanely busy

    Moma2018-09-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Front of House Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Moma full-time

    Pros

    great Museum, lots of perks with MoMA ID, amazing health benefits, company culture within departments is very supportive between non-management staff.

    Cons

    low pay by any standards, museum doesn't seem to understand how hard their employees work and can be abusive at times. Management can be manipulative; asks for you to do a project and takes credit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it professional. If you can't be transparent don't pretend you're everyone's best friend. Also, pay for what you want. If you want A+ service from staff, support raises and pay increases.

    Moma2018-08-04
Found 68 reviews
</>Embed