Monash University Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Monash University Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Monash University President and  Vice-Chancellor Margaret Gardner
Margaret Gardner
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you have the right skills then there are a lot of opportunities for career progression in mainly the academics field(in 10 reviews)

  • "No cons available, sometimes finding parking is difficult(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Monash University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary, friendly co-workers, good salary

    Cons

    there are no cons for working at Monash University

    Monash University2020-02-15
  2. "Great University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student in Monash

    I have been working at Monash University full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and learning experience

    Cons

    Parking rates and compulsory attendance at class

    Monash University2020-02-12
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monash University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work, at least I had an amazing time in Monash eSolutions. Teams work in SCRUM/Kanban and they are empowered to make technology stack decisions, architecture decisions to ensure operational excellence. Leadership team is very supportive and easy going and depending on the performance there is a fair chance of growth as well, depending on the available positions. A great place to work if you prefer work life balance above all. Monash keeps you and your family at top priority.

    Cons

    Compensation is bit lower than industry standards.

    Monash University2020-02-03
  4. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Melbourne

    I have been working at Monash University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard working and friendly people (mostly) Interesting projects

    Cons

    Some scientists/researchers have limited people skills

    Monash University2020-01-30
  5. "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Trial Coordinator in Clayton
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monash University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to be part of such a prestigious institution. Great access to free online courses. Employee Assistance Program. Great salary. Genuine flexibility and good work life balance

    Cons

    Working with a nightmare inefficient colleague who leaves everything to me but when ive tried to address (several times) with management I do not get supported or really even listened to, as manager is so busy that doesnt really have the time to care/address the issue. As a result I feel undervalued and disrespected. My colleague says she appreciates what I do, but that's because shes able to hide behind me and while I try to be assertive I'm not a petty person and dont want to pull her up on everything so I just shut up and get on with it most of the time. Its frustrating and making me consider moving on

    Continue reading
    Monash University2020-01-21
  6. "Opportunity and ambiguity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer and Graphics Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Monash University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Diverse opportunities available to learn cutting edge tech platforms and influence strategy

    Cons

    Role ambiguity and dealing with daily politics

    Monash University2020-01-20
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst Programmer in Clayton
    Recommends

    I worked at Monash University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked on a research project. Not a lot of pressure. Enjoyable job as there was opportunity to discover a lot of new things. Opportunity to learn new technologies. Nice campus.

    Cons

    Red tape in some processes

    Continue reading
    Monash University2020-01-15
  8. "Good and friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Undisclosed 

    I worked at Monash University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good and friendly place to work

    Cons

    None come to mind - supportive environment.

    Monash University2020-01-13
  9. "MIPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Monash University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great expertise and facilities.

    Cons

    Lack of grant funding

    Monash University2020-01-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment and meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Melbourne

    I worked at Monash University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being part of an inclusive work environment and being able to give back to the community

    Cons

    The work might seem inconsequential at the beginning but it becomes a large contribution to the bigger picture

    Monash University2020-01-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 345 reviews