Morgan Stanley Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Morgan Stanley Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Morgan Stanley CEO James P. Gorman
James P. Gorman
2,934 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hard work pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan Stanley

    Pros

    The people are great but the hours are tough. It will set you for a great career in the industry. Requires a lot of commitment, but there's opportunities for those that work hard.

    Cons

    Can be beaurocratic as any investment bank. Processes are lengthy and very formalised. Timing can be a challenge as most decision makers sit off shore.

    Morgan Stanley2018-03-29
  2. "Operations Director in Asia Region - Trading Ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Global company means wide interactions across lots of teams and different matters.

    Cons

    Senior Management is stuck in the 'old wall street' days and do not evolve as our competitors do.

    Morgan Stanley2019-12-30
  3. "Review of Morgan Stanley Wealth Management, Sydney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great self directed learning opportunities and the opportunities to move to other positions in the company. Decent salary with bonus Good work life balance. Good opportunities to move to other divisions.

    Cons

    1.No professional development opportunities. 2. Not the best culture in wealth management (the financial advisers are quite negative and have a poor opinion of the management team). 3. Poor management of the wealth management business. 4. Technologically behind.

    Continue reading
    Morgan Stanley2019-12-30
  4. "Morgan stanley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time

    Pros

    Salary is good for admin job

    Cons

    corporate culture is not good for all employees

    Morgan Stanley2019-05-30
  5. "Great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time

    Pros

    opportunity for development, strong culture

    Cons

    logn hours, low pay

    Morgan Stanley2018-10-06
  6. "Happy employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time

    Pros

    positive team dynamic, supportive teams

    Cons

    long hours but these are expected

    Morgan Stanley2018-08-31
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work at.

    Cons

    The working hours can be quite long

    Morgan Stanley2018-08-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great name on your resume. Can’t think of any other reason apart from this. Recommended for junior candidates, it is a great place to build up your professional experience. Get a couple of years of experience, build network and LEAVE!

    Cons

    Toxic culture. Team leader and managers are lack of managerial skills. Dying to get out at the 6th month of employment. It makes me feel stupid being around. The team leader/team manager only hires the mediocre or submissive candidates because they were sick of being challenged by the smart people. The moment when I heard this, that’s when I decide to quit!

    Continue reading
    Morgan Stanley2018-04-13
  9. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Limited movement to move internally

    Morgan Stanley2017-10-30
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Don't feel like the work is meaningful

    Morgan Stanley2017-10-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6904 reviews