REA Group Reviews

Updated 12 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
REA Group CEO  Owen Wilson
Owen Wilson
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "great culture and awesome people to work with(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great people and advanced technology(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "too many in middle management, slow moving with simple things,(in 11 reviews)

  • "The chief people officer dealt with the latest restructure horribly(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent culture , a company leading the way

      11 May 2021 - Customer Care Executive in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent culture making even the most mundane tasks more enjoyable.

      Cons

      Non really! I suppose pay can always be better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      People have best interests at heart always with positive challenges to solve

      5 Jan 2021 - Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - thoughtful ELT - so apparent during covid, how employees were treated during this time is phenomenal. They balanced business needs (which they obviously need to do, none of us would have a job if they didn't look after the business side of things!) with a caring human approach. I compare this to friends and family in other organisations who were not treated with as much care and support as we were. No salary cuts, fair approach to bringing down company wide leave balances. - every company has challenges, that is the point of working, we all want to have meaty things to solve and do! Some companies I have worked for have had challenges which are demeaning and things we should have moved past by now. Women treated as if it were 50 years ago and businesses run in general like the series Mad Men. I am proud to say that at REA we have very very little of this carry on going on. You only have to look at our ELT to see the gender balance and across the company as a whole gender balance is close to 50/50. There are pockets of course where this is not the case but it is something actively being worked on. - transparency - we have very transparent leaders - health, wellbeing and learning and development - sustainability - fun culture with positive people

      Cons

      - we work hard! But I find it invigorating :) autonomy, empowerment and trust comes with it's cons where responsibility is high and we work hard. - time to do all the amazing things on offer can be hard to juggle

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      24 Mar 2021 - Senior Product Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong business. Great culture, well known brand and products. Strong tech, product and design communities. The tech community at REA in particularly are particular strong I think. It's an international business with a lot of internal opportunities. The current CEO Owen Wilson (former CFO) has a done a great job shepherding the company through a difficult COVID period through savvy financial management.

      Cons

      The flip-side of REA's strength as business and there is not a ton of urgency to innovate. Revenue growth has been, and will continue to be driven for years by increase in sales of premiere listings and incremental price increases. Hence there is a lot of internal investment in systems re-platforming. . There are a lot of constraints on what REA can do from a product point of view given the established place it takes within the real estate eco- system. Efforts to diversify revenue with new product adjacencies have struggled. The culture needed to refine a decades old digital media machine are quite different from those that might shake up the mortage market for example.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Still an excellent place to work, despite some decline in past few years

      10 Apr 2021 - Lead Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Managers are effective and take an active interest in career growth - High-quality engineering practices (not perfect though!) - Excellent learning environment. Internal guilds and training are wonderful - Parental leave policy is very generous, although it has been eroded by current management

      Cons

      - Salaries increasingly uncompetitive for tech staff - Executive-level management has limited contact or engagement with the experiences and sentiments of tech staff. - Flexible working policy is an improvement compared to pre-covid, but still requires working in the office a day or two a week

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A special place

      28 Feb 2021 - Executive Manager in Richmond, Victoria, Victoria
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people who are also just really great people. Small that you can make a difference, large enough to have real impact. Takes product management and people leadership seriously. It's a fun and exciting place to work. I joined expecting to stay for a year or two. This will be my tenth year — it just never gets boring, it never fails to be challenging and I've learned and grown in all sorts of ways. I've made lifelong friends here and the sense of ambition remains huge.

      Cons

      It can be tiring, busy, and ambiguous at times. It's human-intensive and highly collaborative. If that's not your style you may not have fun. It can be complex to navigate and like anywhere, it has its frustrating moments. Other places are faster to "ship" or experiment if that's your thing, but the scale and position means it's possible to make real, lasting, large-scale impact.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good

      13 Apr 2021 - Senior Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture and work life balance

      Cons

      Hierarchical problems. A lot of favouritism.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Pretty good.

      27 Mar 2021 - Communications Team 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff benefits. Nice office. Purpose-led. Cashed-up. The darling of News Corp.

      Cons

      Massive business now. Very corporate (despite what they say about being a cool tech company).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Highly political

      12 May 2021 - Senior Software Developer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great offices and friendly vibe

      Cons

      ELT need a significant shake up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for with a solid leadership team

      26 Mar 2021 - Media Specialist in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great company structure fantastic benefits, including maternity/paternity leave thorough on boarding and training clear market leader in its space

      Cons

      overly entitled staff have had it good for so long that they expect the world

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      An awesome place to work

      22 Dec 2020 - Delivery Lead in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great culture. People are respectful and all the teams that I have worked in make you feel that you are a part of the family and welcomed 2. There is always interesting work to do. No matter your role, you will always find interesting and challenging work to do and a lot of support to do it. 3. I have always found that REA promotes career progression within the company well. Most managers are supportive of people who need a change to find that next challenging opportunity within the company and I have seen some go out of their way to support such a move. 4. The upper management has handled the impact of the COVID pandemic well and helped soften the blow on employees.

      Cons

      1. Some parts of the business always have unrealistic expectations of delivery timelines. But I don't think this problem is unique to REA

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 211 Reviews

    Popular Careers with REA Group Job Seekers

    Marketing Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at REA Group? Share Your Experiences

    REA Group logo
    or