Reynolds American Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Reynolds American Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 877 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American CEO  Ricardo Oberlander
Ricardo Oberlander
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "At busy times work life/balance can become a pattern(in 40 reviews)

  • "My biggest qualms with RJRT is that without Territory managers the company would be sunk(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Retired after over 40 years with RJR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tm3 in Mount Pleasant, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training you receive is the best . Empowerment to make decisions using the tools provided . There are 2 types of decisions the right and the wrong , but the only bad decisions is to not make a decision. If you are looking for advancement the oppitunity is there for you. Benifits are good , vacation , car and health

    Cons

    More upside the down . Have lost good people in the past waiting to be promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and continue to look to the future

    Reynolds American2019-09-20
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mgr in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good people, good benefits, good location

    Cons

    tough industry that can be volatile

    Advice to Management

    be flexible, understand the US market

    Reynolds American2019-09-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "TM's do alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time

    Pros

    TM's and the teams

    Cons

    Upper management can be a little worried about job stability therefore creating extra work for the TMs who have enough going on

    Reynolds American2019-09-18
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Nurtured by Reynolds - Blossoming with JUUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Just like other reviews on here. Great hard working people. Company car (you have to pay for) and matching 401k 6%

    Cons

    • Car This has been mentioned several times here. Company charges $175 per month. My company over pays me to pick my own company car and stash the rest in case of something. But I don’t have to pay $175 of my net salary to the company. • Competitive salary. This is the most common compliant out of all the reviews. The salary is very substandard in today’s market. Salary in the 50k range in high cost of living... areas are not sustainable. Companies inside and outside the area are paying wages way beyond this company. This is also demoralizing the TMs witnessing this. • Tenured Turnover Companies as large as this already anticipate turnover and its to be assumed that they have a certain number of an acceptable percentage of turnover. But from my region you just see a plethora of TM3’s with a wide array of experience and best practices to share leave for JUUL. This is just the beginning as it will continue to be a chain reaction. When 1 TM leaves there are 5 other TMs waiting a few months more to hear the feedback of how much better it is. Then those 5 will leave and tell 5 more and so on. This has been happening for about 2 years at least. And the candidates coming in are people that have been fired, laid off, or desperately looking for any type of work because their savings ran out. Do you want to hire these people? Sure you can replace the team lead TM with someone else. But the combination of poor candidates coming in and exceptional, experienced TM leaders going out is not by any means a wash. Average starting salary in my area for a field sales position is 70k. At 50k no one is going to leave their positions for less pay unless it’s for the reasons listed above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make salary competitive enough for people to stay or else the exchange of TM3’s go out and desperate candidates that have been unemployed for 6-9 months will join which I have see a lot these last 18 months. Starting someone at 50k when the market pays 20-30k more is ridiculous. Also, giving your most experienced TMs nothing on the last pay adjustment really opened the door for JUUL. Give tenured TMs (the ones you... still have hanging by a thread) way more salary so they are not going to get recruited by JUUL like I was. I suggest 90k immediately for your highest performing TMs to stay. This will be competitive and your most talented will stay. The alternative is watch them trickle out one by one and take 2-3 TMs with them. Because of all the turnover, I know at least half the region I’m in have applied to JUUL because of the word of mouth others previously left. RJRT TMs are responsible for 120+ SKUs and JUUL only has a handful SKUs , for more salary and better compensation package. It has already been at least 2 years of seeing JUUL snatch TMs. I just read that another review on here that a high performing TM was making very low comp after 10 years. Can you blame them for walking out with all that experience if you won’t pay a decent wage for experience? It’s not just turnover either. Someone high performing to the region leaving is definitely a huge hit on morale for all the other TMs. Their “go to” person is gone and most managers don’t know the day to day answers. Like I’ve read in other reviews, I have to agree that I would still be in the company today if RJRT paid a tenured TM the proper pay to retain and protect that experience.

    Show More
    Reynolds American2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Getting worse day by day! Zero work life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    401k Match 6% Maternity Leave Vacation when you dare to take it.

    Cons

    Where to begin! An organization that continuously throws initiatives out to the field for TMs and AMs to quickly implement with zero direction or thorough thought through! There is never a time when you are caught up because there is so much for one employee to handle rather than split the workload. Currently field employees manage 4 operating companies with a portfolio of 135+ items. There is zero work life... balance and the expectation by home office is working 24/7 even on vacation. If they didn’t believe this they would not give more work than can physically be accomplished in a work week or month. The burn out among TM and AMs is insane to the point where most are leaving or just wanting to do enough not to get fired. The pay is a joke! A TM makes the same as an Account Manager but the account manager has 5x the workload. Account Managers make what our competitor Phillip Morris starts their entry level employees off! Now we will see a reduced bonus yearly for more work than ever! Is is clear the company wants to work you to death and to the edge of burnout. When you can take anymore they’ll just do the same to the next TM who steps in! The only company that charges you $175 a month and forced to use their company car.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There had been surveys and multiple posts here on Glassdoor with little to no improvements for workload and pay. Clearly the company doesn’t want to change with the rest of the world and would rather change the workforce than embrace positive values.

    Reynolds American2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Just my outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits such as vacation allocation and tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Everything else! Work load is unreasonable. Marketing strategies are questionable. They claim to be innovating but are always 2 to 3 years begins from the competition.

    Advice to Management

    YOU need more diversity within upper management. You have a sprinkle of women and race diversity just to meet the status quo.

    Reynolds American2019-08-20

    Reynolds American Response

    September 10, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our industry continues to evolve, and we're energized by the challenges that come with this evolution. Territory managers are the frontline of our business, and we appreciate and acknowledge your dedication. Diverse leadership ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "RJ Reynolds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and work/life balance

    Cons

    Direction changes very often. Often reactive.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote employees internally

    Reynolds American2019-08-03

    Reynolds American Response

    September 10, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and for choosing to be a part of the Reynolds American Inc family. Hopefully you were able to grow professionally as a result of your time with us.

  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great Career Opportunity, not!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are above average

    Cons

    Career development goes to young inexperienced attractive women. Nepotism and cronyism are the keys to advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on most qualified for job. Learn how to be managers and how to make decisions.

    Reynolds American2019-08-31
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great company, but improvement is needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reynolds American full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company offers good benefits from company vehicle to competitive medical insurance plans. In addition, there are other misc benefits that include EAP, gym, Thrive, 16 week parental leave, etc. RAI provides great training programs for Territory Managers and above (examples include workshops, trips to Corporate, week long training for managers, etc). Opportunities for growth are available, but like in any other... organization of similar size and similar structure, reasonable mobility is needed and as you approach higher level roles, promotions might not be as frequent. When an employee voices their desire to build their career with the organization, a plan is placed to help them achieve desired goal.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Mobility can be viewed as cons for the company. Like i mentioned above, reasonable mobility is needed when trying to get promoted, so it depends on the individual and their personal situation - there are many employees that are totally fine with this requirement and some that are not so much - Work Life balance . For some positions it is becoming more and more challenging to balance both. We used to talk a lot... about this topic, but it is slowing down and instead we talk about productivity. Productivity is important and needs to be discussed especially in the company that is constatntly evolving, however, we shouldnt ignore work life balance. - Inconsistent workload. There are many same level positions that have absolutely different level of workload while pay is the same.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are a lot of constructive comments on this website that should not be ignored, but instead carefully reviewed and discussed. While our portfolio, our programs and contracts are evolving, there is true need to reevaluate current workload and responsibilities for various field roles. Every company experiences turnover every year, but it seems that we have been experiencing this more now than in the past... (resignations, vacancies, etc). Solicit open and candid feedback from all levels, dont try to justify the current situation, just take it all in, review and work on putting together a plan that can create positive change for your employees that will lead to better distribution of workload and work life balance.

    Show More
    Reynolds American2019-07-08
  10. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reynolds American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work environment gud work culture

    Cons

    no as such very good company

    Reynolds American2019-07-26
Found 877 reviews