Robert Walters Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice environment

      22 Apr 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team with great bonuses

      Cons

      There were no cons when i was there

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, help you to grow, great culture!

      5 May 2021 - Senior Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Made some friends for life here, the culture was great and managers are supportive. They help you progress and grow as long as you put work in too.

      Cons

      Management could be more transparent and a supportive of the more junior members of staff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      great place to work

      6 Mar 2021 - Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      brilliant colleagues, fantastic culture, good bonus scheme and success channels

      Cons

      can be difficult depending on what desk you're working - eg whether it is warm, or a desk you have to build up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent benefits

      12 Mar 2021 - Managing Director in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong management team, great client portfolio, excellent training and benefits

      Cons

      bonus structure not as attractive as some smaller boutiques

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Nice

      14 Mar 2021 - Recruiter in Chatswood
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It has a great culture

      Cons

      Haven't worked enough to know yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Business to start your Career With

      8 Jun 2020 - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was a Senior Consultant in the Melbourne Office. Overall excellent culture, people and team. The friends you make there will be friends for life. Structure and best practice habit development, legacy accounts, brand name. Ability to build a genuine career for yourself and earn a 6 figure salary within 1-2 years. Excellent Director in charge (Melbourne) that genuinely cares for his staff.

      Cons

      Similar to big 4 in terms of progression timing which is discretionary, bonus are discretionary (but fair). When you start billing higher numbers the bonuses start becoming less and less competitive, however for 90% of consultants the bonus structure will actually benefit you in comparison to peers. Can be smoke and mirrors for progression opportunities, often it is down to timing and 'waiting' for the right progression slot to open up.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good training - however pressuring environment

      25 Feb 2021 - Recruiter in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training for a sales role

      Cons

      High pressure sales environment and can be quite demanding with targets

      1 person found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed our training — it’s something that we’re very proud of and are regularly recognised for in the industry. Regarding your comments about the working environment, it’s true that we class ourselves as a high-performing business, but while we expect the best from our people, we’re committed to offering them a supportive environment that looks after their wellbeing, too. If you have any further details about how we can better support our people, we’d invite you to email us at australiahumanresources@robertwalters.com.au so that we can set up a confidential chat with you and an appropriate member of the team.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for new starters in recruitment

      25 Nov 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good training - Good PSAs

      Cons

      - Does not pay the best in market

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to learn

      22 Dec 2020 - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -leading agency -reputable brand -clear progression plans -great PSA accounts -fun culture

      Cons

      -discretionary bonus structure is unclear -long hours expected -you will be micro managed through your kpi’s -can be a bit of a high school environment with politics

      3 people found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I agree with your points about our fun culture and clear progression opportunities and I think we’ve made a lot of great investments to address work/life balance. Indeed, I want all our people to have the flexibility and autonomy they need to do their jobs well, without being held back by micromanagement or office politics. I’d be really keen to get some more details from you so that we can make any necessary improvements, so please feel free to email me at at james.dalrymple@robertwalters.com.au and we can set up a confidential conversation. James Dalrymple Director – Robert Walters Melbourne

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I wish I never left!

      29 May 2020 - Candidate Manager in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company truly does things right! They don't receive commission like most agencies. Instead the have a salary and team/individual bonus, a structure which makes much more sense in this industry and leads to better culture/teamwork and MUCH better candidate/client care! They care about their employees and show it immensely with an annual incentive trip to a new place around the globe. They send a few lucky employees to Africa for a mission trip every year, charity day, happy hours, great benefits, opportunity to transfer globally or work from other offices temporarily. They sponsor incredible causes. Everyone there looks like a supermodel. It was amazing. Great money, enjoyable work!

      Cons

      I wish my progression was discussed more

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 499 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Graduate Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or