Sydney Trains Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sydney Trains Reviews

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Brakes Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sydney Trains full-time

    Pros

    Great role and great team

    Cons

    None, it was great place for me to learn

    Sydney Trains2019-04-28
  2. "Easy job, easy money, can be fatiguing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guard in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good money, good crew, good workplace environment

    Cons

    Shift hours vary daily, tiring if you have dependants

    Sydney Trains2019-06-15
  3. "CSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers, Good pay, Flexibility

    Cons

    Inconsistency from management, Favoritism, Progression

    Sydney Trains2019-06-14
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people, laid back culture. Plenty of investment.

    Cons

    Red tape and poor procurement processes

    Advice to Management

    More transparency with employees

    Sydney Trains2019-06-12
  5. "Working at Sydney Trains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, was able to work from home.

    Cons

    Salary was too low for workload, very bureaucratic, lots of tax payers money is overspent on projects that don't happen in the end, and people that have been working in Government for too long and don't do much. Of course there are also hard working people but lots of lazy staff around, too.

    Sydney Trains2019-05-25
  6. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are what makes this place such a good place to work. I work with people from a couple dozen cultures with different working backgrounds and life experiences. This makes for an amazing collection of ideas and knowledge to draw on. Free travel is always a bonus. I personally like the new ABW offices but I know it’s not for everyone. If you are a hard, proactive worker and enjoy pushing yourself, there...

    Show More

    Cons

    On the flip side, if you are a hard worker, it is easy to take on way too much and get stuck doing everything because you are capable. Management is very inconsistent. Some managers are amazing and love their staff,. These managers do their best to support and grow the staff as well as give them recognition for their hard work. Others seem to despise the existence of the people that work for them. IT, HR and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Redesign our support divisions and get them to focus on their customers and supporting us, instead of being a headache we have to go through. Learn the value of your passionate staff and ensure they don’t burn out. Work on your organisational change management. You don’t need to surprise your staff like a reality to show, get them involved at the ground level so they feel involved and buy into the changes.

    Sydney Trains2019-05-09
  7. "Could do a lot worse, but could do a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, varied work and the people are really trying their best

    Cons

    Poor skills of senior management means lots of average/below par leadership

    Advice to Management

    Step up with the leadership!

    Sydney Trains2019-05-09
  8. "Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Business Process Analyst in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Paid on time every fortnight

      Cons

      Dread disorganised waste of time

      Sydney Trains2019-05-23
    • "Config Manager (Telco and Fibre)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Sydney Trains full-time

      Pros

      Wages were good at the time

      Cons

      Management wouldn't listen to their experts

      Advice to Management

      Take on the advice of their SME's

      Sydney Trains2019-05-11
    • "Poor Morale, Training & Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - TRAIN GUARD in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good pay & free rail travel

      Cons

      Some terrible shift work and certain coworkers always trying to undermine you and each other in an attempt to look good themselves and get promoted .

      Advice to Management

      Get some outside management training company to train the trainers and help manage the managers and upgrade them to modern standards of professionalism

      Sydney Trains2019-04-01
    Found 46 reviews