Sydney Trains Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sydney Trains Reviews

Updated 30 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brakes Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sydney Trains full-time

    Pros

    Great role and great team

    Cons

    None, it was great place for me to learn

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-04-28
  2. "Good benefits, pockets of poor leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits - good salary, free public transport, 4 weeks annual leave plus 12 additional annual days off a year

    Cons

    Poor employee performance management, employees and leaders are not repremanded or provided with constructive feedback about poor behaviour. This has created areas of toxic culture in the organisation.

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-06-30
  3. "Good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Sydney
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay shift allowance and overtime can give good return

    Cons

    Shift work can be difficult

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-06-19
  4. "Easy job, easy money, can be fatiguing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guard in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good money, good crew, good workplace environment

    Cons

    Shift hours vary daily, tiring if you have dependants

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-06-15
  5. "CSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers, Good pay, Flexibility

    Cons

    Inconsistency from management, Favoritism, Progression

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-06-14
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people, laid back culture. Plenty of investment.

    Cons

    Red tape and poor procurement processes

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-06-12
  7. "Absolutey no respect shown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Trainee Train Planner 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time

    Pros

    Interview process was good up to this point

    Cons

    Applied for role. Completed online assessment. Completed supervised assessment. Told we would hear back at the end of the week. That was 24 days ago. Others I know got to the same point and have heard nothing. Are we successful? Unsuccessful? Is there a delay? Are the roles no longer happening? A simple email would be appreciated

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-06-20
  8. "Working at Sydney Trains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, was able to work from home.

    Cons

    Salary was too low for workload, very bureaucratic, lots of tax payers money is overspent on projects that don't happen in the end, and people that have been working in Government for too long and don't do much. Of course there are also hard working people but lots of lazy staff around, too.

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-05-25
  9. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are what makes this place such a good place to work. I work with people from a couple dozen cultures with different working backgrounds and life experiences. This makes for an amazing collection of ideas and knowledge to draw on. Free travel is always a bonus. I personally like the new ABW offices but I know it’s not for everyone. If you are a hard, proactive worker and enjoy pushing yourself, there is a lot of potential to take on and try new things. While I don’t think Sydney Trains is the most traditionally professional workplace, you can generally find some of the most passionate hard working people in every division across many levels of the organisation. I think the money is quite competitive (more so at the middle levels).

    Cons

    On the flip side, if you are a hard worker, it is easy to take on way too much and get stuck doing everything because you are capable. Management is very inconsistent. Some managers are amazing and love their staff,. These managers do their best to support and grow the staff as well as give them recognition for their hard work. Others seem to despise the existence of the people that work for them. IT, HR and finance barely function as a result of some weird organisational design. My team is understaffed, other teams are quite bloated (similar team to mine has 4 times our staff to produce basically the same outputs). I suggest there is a bit of jobs for mates going on with all the UK and Qantas expats that arrived in senior positions over the years. I would like to see professionals from other world class railway countries countries coming on bored to share their experience. Personally I think Sydney trains beats London Underground hands down (but biased though).

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-05-09
  10. "Could do a lot worse, but could do a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sydney Trains full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, varied work and the people are really trying their best

    Cons

    Poor skills of senior management means lots of average/below par leadership

    Continue reading
    Sydney Trains2019-05-09
Found 49 reviews