TAL Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

TAL Reviews

Updated 24 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Brett Clark
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A bit of hierarchy at the senior management(in 4 reviews)

  • "Losing lots of good people especially in IT due to lack of investment and poor understanding of what is actually required(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, opportunities and great people. Truly care about what they do.

    Cons

    The usual bits and bobs when working at a large organisation

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-05-17

    TAL Response

    May 29, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of working with TAL, we appreciate you sharing your feedback and so pleased to hear you find it a great place to work!

    Continue reading
  2. "Lots of positive things about working at TAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, flexible work arrangements available, growth and opportunities due to recent acquisitions and new partnerships. Outlook for the business is really positive and there are good opportunities available for people to move into new roles.

    Cons

    Change is constant - if you don't like change it's not the place for you. Some projects take a long time to get off the ground as priorities often change.

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-06-25
  3. "Hierarchical environment - otherwise good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible workplace, decent salary, great benefits (gym in Sydney)

    Cons

    It’s a bit of a game of thrones and execs and GMs pay a lot of lip service with little action

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-06-13
  4. "A can do company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Head of 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Purpose, Great Opportunities, Great Team

    Cons

    One of two of the Executive Team are not good managers

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-06-11
  5. "If it works for you, it's good, but you can find better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It has all the right mix that staff want for flexible working.

    Cons

    Managers run the business and depending who you are, is how you get treated. TAL doesn't look at complete pictures and is very fractured as an organisation. People are leaving as they have had enough of the lack of direction.

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The new Macquarie Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - large budgets - Good office location

    Cons

    - Too many people who used to work at Macquarie Bank have joined TAL and are decimating the corporate culture. Mac Bank's culture is oil to TAL's water. Oh, and the Mac people think they're hot, but they're very far out of their depth.

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-05-29

    TAL Response

    May 30, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. We feel that any reference to our culture gives us insight into how our people experience working with us. We take this seriously and we’re disappointed to hear that you feel this way. We will ensure your feedback is incorporated into our ongoing monitoring of our people experience but should you wish to provide further feedback please contact us at TALPeopleandCulture@tal.com.au

    Continue reading
  7. "Senior Insurance consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time

    Pros

    fantastic team, good vibe, and if you have the right structure upwards you can be sure to be recognised and included fantastic pay structure, as well as amazing trainers

    Cons

    certain Managers are very disrespectful and have archaic beliefs in how a sales floor should be run. this unfortunately is held in higher levels of management up to c-suite execs who are the reason the Royal commission was formed

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-05-13

    TAL Response

    May 29, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and comments, we strive to ensure we're recognising and rewarding our employees well, and we also think our trainers are amazing! We're disappointed to hear that your experience with leaders hasn't been consistent - If you would like to provide further feedback we would encourage you to contact us via TALPeopleandCulture@tal.com.au

    Continue reading
  8. "Overall alright experience - Some good, some bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time

    Pros

    Overall, one of the better workplaces that I've been in the industry.

    Cons

    Nothing too different from a large corporate.

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-04-22

    TAL Response

    May 13, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of working with TAL, we appreciate the comments!

    Continue reading
  9. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Equality, flex work, great people

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets, departments don’t talk to each other, too much red tape for small changes

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-03-12

    TAL Response

    May 13, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and comments about your experience working with TAL, we are dedicated to providing an inclusive workplace and flexibility for our employees. We strive to provide a collaborative environment and will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant people at TAL. If you would like to provide further feedback you are welcome to reach out to us at TALPeopleandCulture@tal.com.au.

    Continue reading
  10. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time

    Pros

    Ethics, Customer centricity, Move within company

    Cons

    Red tape, silo mentality, offshoring core processes, non competitive salaries

    Continue reading
    TAL2019-03-26

    TAL Response

    May 13, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to comment and to acknowledge the strong customer focus we are proud of here at TAL. We are committed to providing a positive and collaborative work environment. If you would like to provide further feedback we would encourage you to contact us via TALPeopleandCulture@tal.com.au

    Continue reading
Found 67 reviews