TAL Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
TAL Group CEO and  Managing Director Brett Clark (no image)
Brett Clark
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "QA officer"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Officers in Melbourne

    I worked at TAL full-time

    Pros

    The culture is greAt at tal

    Cons

    Deadlines Are really short and unrealistic

    TAL Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment and acknowledge the great culture we have at TAL! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

  2. "Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Sydney

    I have been working at TAL full-time

    Pros

    Good culture and pay. Management is good a strategy and visions.

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes. Culture is intense.

    TAL Response

    January 10, 2021Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences of working with us. We believe that it is important to foster a culture where everyone can grow and feel supported to do their best work. Should you wish to provide further feedback please contact us at PeopleandCulture@tal.com.au.


  3. "Poor Insurance Company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employer paid life, TPD and IP Insurance

    Cons

    TAL treats employees poorly yet markets their claims paying ability.

    Continue reading

    TAL Response

    November 30, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We take our culture and commitment to our people seriously. We’re disappointed to hear that you didn't have a consistent experience and will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant people within TAL. Should you wish to provide further feedback, please contact us via email @: PeopleandCulture@tal.com.au .

  4. "Some great people but the performance mgmt culture is shocking"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager In Finance in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lovely people, enjoyable and diverse work, excellent facilities and rem & ben

    Cons

    The performance mgmt bell curve needs to be reviewed

    Continue reading

    TAL Response

    November 15, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value feedback and are disappointed to hear that you feel this way. To discuss your individual situation, we encourage you to contact our people services teams at: TALpeopleandculture@tal.com.au .

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Other 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Sydney office. Always enjoyed working with my team. additional superannuation. insurance paid for employees.

    Cons

    Toxic culture in management. The CEO was so old school and not progressive at all. Wont fairly pay staff for the work they do. Political. Poor behaviours rewarded with promotion for mates.

    TAL Response

    November 15, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value feedback and are disappointed to hear that you feel this way. To discuss your individual situation, we encourage you to contact our people services teams at: TALpeopleandculture@tal.com.au .

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Heartless"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've made some amazing friends

    Cons

    No transparency, Executives pay themselves huge wages and 6 figure bonuses while cutting annual $1500 bonuses for staff. They refuse to pay over time unless you can prove that you were on the phone to a customer. I average about 13 hours OT a week and can't claim it because I'm not on the phone, but I'm EXPECTED to work the extra hours or lose my job. Women in leadership positions are paid less than me and often given twice the work

    Continue reading

    TAL Response

    November 15, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We take our culture and commitment to our people seriously and we’re disappointed to hear that you didn't have a consistent experience. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant people within TAL and should you wish to provide further feedback please contact us at PeopleandCulture@tal.com.au.

  7. "Not the best"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TAL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office space And Good location

    Cons

    Poor training Lack of support Poor management

    TAL Response

    August 25, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We take our culture and commitment to our people seriously. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant people within TAL. Should you wish to provide further feedback please contact us at peopleandculture@tal.com.au.

  8. "Innovation contract"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Innovation Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you know the right people it's possible to create opportunities

    Cons

    Transparency and communication within the company is poor

    TAL Response

    June 24, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. We will ensure your feedback is incorporated into our ongoing monitoring of our people experience but should you wish to supply further feedback please contact us via: peopleandculture@tal.com.au.

  9. "Treading water"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TAL full-time

    Pros

    Free insurance and most people are great!

    Cons

    No pay rise in 5 years, more remit and expected to work yourself with the “offer” dangling that next year you will be rewarded. Made to feel guilty for asking for a raise and a bonus and told you are lucky to have a job. Work life balance mantra is a joke as long hours are expected and if don’t get it done then performance management is thrown at you. Biding time as hoping job market will open up soon.

    TAL Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Sourcing & Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value feedback and are disappointed to hear that you feel this way. To discuss your individual situation, we encourage you to contact us via our people services teams: TALpeopleandculture@tal.com.au .

  10. "-"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Senior Actuarial Analyst in Sydney

    I worked at TAL full-time

    Pros

    People are friendly and willing to teach

    Cons

    Long hours and no downtime

Viewing 1 - 10 of 88 English Reviews
</>Embed