Tableau Software Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Tableau Software Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 640 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Tableau Software CEO Adam Selipsky
Adam Selipsky
211 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software

    Pros

    Fired up by Tableau's mission to help people see and understand data

    Cons

    Teething issues from exponential growth

    Advice to Management

    Invest in star employees

    Tableau Software2016-02-03
  2. Helpful (5)

    "The tech and the people are amazing. Management is the problem."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible on the working hours. Great people. Very smart colleagues. Sales are up and shares are up as well.

    Cons

    They are hiring managers that don't have a clue about how complex the product is. Thus, they think the job in supporting our customers is easy and we can close the cases as fast as possible. Stress level in support is very high. Managers only follow what their director tells them. No heart for the employees working on the tickets.

    Advice to Management

    If volume of cases and workload is high, please outsource and don't drag people to the ground.

    Tableau Software2019-03-30
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Vibrant people and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The local management is positive, open to change and feedback. True passion for the product is echoed in every employee. There is a considerable amount invested in employee engagement.

    Cons

    Growth is somewhat limited in the smaller regions (200 employees or less), employee retention is not as high as it could be.

    Advice to Management

    Get Executive buy-in to execute more transparency in communication, and a clear career path for each role.

    Tableau Software2018-10-24
  4. Helpful (17)

    "ANZ management punishes reps for bad reviews!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People used to be good, till they all left

    Cons

    No pay increases to compensate performance and inflation Clients are leaving and the retention rate is no longer advertised Stagnent product development, Microsoft and Qlik have now surpassed Tableau on Gartner magic quadrant.

    Advice to Management

    Why have so many left in 2018? What has been done to address the problem? Stop pointing fingers and use your own tool to fix the problem.

    Tableau Software2018-10-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    Good product, good culture, good future

    Cons

    tech support is rubbish, favoritism from mgmt.

    Tableau Software2018-07-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Product, Better People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    A Gartner leader who've paved the way for the Modern BI revolution we're now experiencing, and a driving force in the ubiquity of analytics in business. Market opportunity in front of us is massive, and those who are along for this ride stand to benefit greatly in their careers.

    Cons

    With any rapid growth company, you're bound to experience challenges in communication or other growing pains. In an environment of constant change, little things can get overlooked and can cause some discomfort.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employee morale and engagement, open communication, and reward your company builders. This is an opportunity most people will never get in their careers, and it never hurts to be reminded of that from time to time.

    Tableau Software2018-04-27
  7. Helpful (18)

    "Where has the tableau passion gone ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Area Manager "commercial" in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative company with the best tech in the BI space, you will work with many smart people

    Cons

    No carreer progression and tableau is loosing its passion due to middle managers who are not passionate about the products

    Advice to Management

    Invest in good people and they will stay if you pay them well

    Tableau Software2017-06-14
  8. "Great place to work - sometimes hard to get things done."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    Great culture of respecting and valuing people Compensation very competitive

    Cons

    People aren't willing to push others, which sometimes causes delays in deliverables.

    Tableau Software2019-10-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "GREAT place to work, just pay us more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome, smart people Great physical offices FOOD. Fully stocked kitchen to cook, snacks galore, catered food all over Great healthcare Ability to speak up and ask for projects I want to work on Great product Big time customers

    Cons

    Pay. For reals, pay us more. It's so simple. I want to stay at Tableau forever, but it is hard to convince myself to do that when I could go to Amazon 10 mins away and make double. As costs in Seattle rise, eventually the financial need for more pay will outweigh my desire to work for a really cool company. Hoping that Salesforce will come in and raise our pay to something similar to their own high levels.

    Tableau Software2019-09-19
  10. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I feel like I hit the recruiting jackpot with this company. Great product, culture and recruiting environment.

    Cons

    Since the company grew so fast so quickly, we experienced many growing pains along the way.

    Tableau Software2019-09-27
Found 640 reviews