Target Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Target Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32374 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Brian Cornell
7670 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are willing to give you 40 hours and you can trade with other team members if you are not willing to work some days(in 2019 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule and good hours(in 1175 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communication through leaders to team members(in 1812 reviews)

  • "The time demanded to be successful did not allow for work/life balance(in 1706 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    so friendly learn a lot of skills POS system managers are very nice

    Cons

    the rate of pay we were given

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Target2019-08-14
  2. "Great first time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Staff in Blacktown
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *easy going staff and a relaxed environment *simple and easy work *decent pay compared to work *builds confidence and communication skills as you interact with customers

    Cons

    *no career opportunities *lack of meaningful work - just a job

    Advice to Management

    Create more opportunity for independence of staff, show pathways for career advancement if you want to retain workers

    Target2019-08-17
  3. "I don't really know anymore lol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Grenfell
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Target full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, alright pay. The customers are usually alright apart from the occasional stuck up person that walks through and looks down at you until you remind them that they are shopping at target and at least you have a job.

    Cons

    Sometimes the staff don't understand that you can actually get sick and need sick days. The benefits aren't that great either.

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer to your employees. If we're sick can we actually get a day off?

    Target2019-08-07
  4. "no title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Melbourne

    I have been working at Target full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good culture friendly and focused

    Cons

    Head office is far from Melbourne City

    Advice to Management

    no advice

    Target2019-08-06
  5. "great team and good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Retail Assistant 

    I worked at Target part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work was not challenging, great team and store

    Cons

    management needed improvement, more training

    Target2019-08-01
  6. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Target full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of hours but not always family friendly hours

    Cons

    Too many hours and can be inflexible hours

    Target2019-08-15
  7. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at Target part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good introduction to the customer service experience in the retail industry

    Cons

    Hard to move up in the rankings

    Target2019-07-31
  8. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Target part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with, got along well with the managers for the most part.

    Cons

    use you when they need you

    Target2019-07-24
  9. "Team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Cessnock
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Target part-time

    Pros

    Experience in retail and customers

    Cons

    Dealing with unhappy customers

    Target2019-07-21
  10. "?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Melbourne

    I worked at Target part-time

    Pros

    Was easy, Meet nice customers, workload wasnt too bad

    Cons

    Could get boring, management was a bit messy

    Target2019-07-18
Found 32374 reviews