The Home Depot Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21064 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6322 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Full time opportunities are limited(in 952 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours as part-time employee(in 881 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    excellent place to work friendly staff

    Cons

    some pressures to take on roles not trained for

    Advice to Management

    excellent place to work friendly staff

    The Home Depot2017-08-17
  2. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Orange
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable Company, can move up if you work hard and ignore the politics. Pay in long run can be good if you move up.

    Cons

    Politics, different messages from different managers. If not part of inner circle will not move up.

    Advice to Management

    Do not be afraid to listen to an hourly associate who might know more than you.

    The Home Depot2014-05-22

    The Home Depot Response

    June 3, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. Our associates are key to our success. We strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected, their contributions are valued and they have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Garden Sales Associate 

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, easy to pick up hours if you want more

    Cons

    Dealing with rude customers sometimes

    The Home Depot2019-08-21
  4. "Good company decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Middleburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company overall cares for their employees and it shows. My boss went above and beyond way more than most would. I loved my experience all 3 times I worked at Home Depot. I had different positions each time as well, they always hire me back so I guess the feeling is mutual.

    Cons

    Being on your feet all day takes some getting used to simply because of the type of floor you’re standing on.

    The Home Depot2019-08-24
  5. "It was aight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Generalist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You got to see them tools

    Cons

    You can’t even play with them tools

    The Home Depot2019-08-22
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for full time employees They give back to veterans Paid vacation time Holiday pay

    Cons

    Not so good management Poor communication skills

    The Home Depot2019-08-22
  7. "still have appreciation days and holiday parties. Other companies don't care. I regret leaving everyday!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Department Supervisor in Port Coquitlam, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Managers are approachable Company has appreciation programs

    Cons

    It's retail so shift work

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking care of your staff don't be like these other guys!

    The Home Depot2019-08-22
  8. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Order Picker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Kept Busy with picking orders and assisting departments

    Cons

    - Only a few within the same position so can be worked longer than scheduled

    The Home Depot2019-08-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Part Time Home Depot Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working with this company! They're very understanding and will always look out for you.

    Cons

    Your experience is based around your store's location.

    The Home Depot2019-08-16
  10. "Many years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Many 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, co-workers, overall outlook for company growth

    Cons

    Not enough hours given to staff stores properly

    The Home Depot2019-08-23
Found 21064 reviews