CDW Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,468 of over 2,664 reviews

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
CDW CEO Christine Leahy
Christine Leahy
410 Ratings
Pros
  • "a Healthy Work/Life balance is stressed(in 199 reviews)

  • "Great place to learn and start a sales career(in 103 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Base salary for certain positions is less than average(in 103 reviews)

  • "not enough exposure to different Account Managers unless you go looking for it(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      CDW Has Heart and Drive

      Apr 29, 2021 - Principal Field Solution Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CDW is Genuine - CDW may have 10k employees but when you get sincere, thoughtful emails from the CEO Chris Leahy, about solidarity standing against AAPI hate, standing up for LGBT rights, acknowledging coworker hardships and effects of COVID. Whether it's standing up for employee rights, recognizing employee contributions, or providing financial rewards, I see that CDW truly cares. CDW Strives to do and be better - CDW is constantly innovating, acquiring companies to broaden and improve their offerings, being introspective about new capabilities, and encouraging employees to achieve goals that further the company's mission.

      Cons

      Hard-working culture - Work/life balance can suffer at the expense of serving its customers Territorial sales reps - Some reps want so badly to provide a customer a solution, due dilligence and measured approach sometimes fall by the wayside

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I am blessed to work at CDW

      Jun 2, 2021 - Project Management Office Lead in Albany, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CDW treats everyone with respect. The company clearly values the employees who maintain the business and they show this in a variety of ways. This is reflected in a regular bonus structure and occasionally surprise fiscal incentives, but it goes so far beyond that. As a CDW employee I was proactively sent face-masks and hand sanitizer at the beginning of the pandemic, as was every other CDW employee. I am often alerted of dangerous situations in the city I reside due to our Global Security Operations Center. These are but a few examples, but the company clearly cares for my success, as well as the safety of me and my family. It is very easy to feel appreciated and to take great pride in working for such a company.

      Cons

      While this may sound cliché, I do not really have any cons. You could say “we work hard at CDW” which is true, but I do not view this as a con. My one and only con was quickly dismissed and shows the caliber of our character as a company. We do NOT get a lot of holidays in any given calendar year. I believed this to be a con until I learned that we do not have many holidays because our warehouses do not have many holidays. Since our warehouses are such an instrumental part of our founding/offerings, it’s only right that the company as a whole show their solidarity by maintaining the same holiday schedule.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Room for improvement

      Jul 21, 2021 - ServiceNow Developer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -CDW ServiceNow Solutions (formerly Aptris) has some great people working there. -Management for Dev team encourages professional development -Team overall tries to be very supportive and do what they can to make this a good place to work -Remote work and no travel for Developers

      Cons

      -Cheap on Salary, PTO, Holidays (day after Thanksgiving is a work day). In my initial interview I was asked what pay I expected, and they said my range was okay. When it came time for the offer, they offered 20k less and it was non-negotiable and completely under market rate. PTO was also non-negotiable, and is so low its illegal in some civilized countries. -It's a Professional Services job no matter what way you slice it, and I was sold on minimal customer interaction, which ended up being false. -Many of my coworkers were working 60+hr weeks, not very attractive for climbing the ladder if you value your life outside of work

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Culture, Great Company

      Jul 26, 2021 - Account Executive in St. George, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CDW sells everything, so you can approach customers with a consultative approach, instead of a pure sales approach. It's about the customer needs on their timeline. Not some Mfg's product and their sales goals

      Cons

      Conservative East coast company that can be slow to adapt and feels union'ish. 15-20+ year veterans have zero incentive to do more than the absolute min.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Jul 29, 2021 - Account Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally nice people that work here, always supportive. This is the biggest pro for myself. Great training Supportive of coworkers during WFH most of the time Leadership at different levels and verticals feel assessable

      Cons

      Low pay to start Book you get to start is hit or miss Lots of meetings

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Find your team, and don't drink the Kool-Aid (note: this used to be Aptris, now acquired by CDW)

      Jul 23, 2021 - ServiceNow Consultant in Rockford, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fully remote, with great developers and consultants. Some teams are amazing.

      Cons

      Corporate culture is aspirational, not actualized. Some project leads and managers will not communicate directly, so listen closely and trust your gut. Find the team you fit in with and stick with them. The culture of "early confrontation" leads to bullying by toxic high performers who cover their mistakes by blaming junior employees. When the company was Aptris, the office was filled with religious propaganda. Not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CDW Response

      Manager, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We assure you it does not reflect CDW’s values or corporate culture and take any claims not in line with The CDW Way very seriously. We would like to know more details about your situation, so we can look into this further. I encourage you to contact us via one of the following options: a. CDW Ethics and Compliance Office directly by calling (847) 419-6160 b. Ethics Helpline at (877) 723-9929 or c. Coworker Relations, Sr. Manager Keith Arnold at (312) 547-3028

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jul 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaged C-Suite all the way down to senior leadership that care about their coworkers

      Cons

      Lots of disparate and legacy systems that can make it difficult to get things done quickly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      PreEmptive Strikes Hostile Culture

      Jul 28, 2021 - Field Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From outside looking in, it’s a successful company. Leadership seemed to be doing a good job with stock holders on ROI

      Cons

      A culture of long term employees resent new employees and bullying is the trend. They would play preemptive strikes, Monday morning quarterback to intimidate . This is how they hold the company hostage for job security

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Telemarketing Firm, Avoid at all Costs

      May 30, 2021 - Account Manager in Etobicoke, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food from vendors during lunch and learns

      Cons

      As a salesperson expect to be asked to make minimum 60 cold calls a day like a telemarketing firm. In Canada you will be working for 32.5k base, unlimited commission. However you will have little to no support from your managers in making sales. 50% of the 18 sales reps hired at the same time as me ended up quitting within 6 months and 90% leaving within 2 years. The academy or training managers would tap your desk to encourage you to make cold calls and even force the headset onto your head or shake your chair. They often take you into 1:1s during training where they tell new employees they "will not make it" unless they work overtime for no pay. The hours are 8am to 5pm but you will be asked why you are leaving at 5pm during training. In Canada you must swipe in everyday at 8am and ensure you are not late, there is no honor system. Your lunch hour is taken by vendor lunch and learns, where you listen to endless sales pitches from vendors who pay CDW to be there and take up your lunch hour. I highly recommend you avoid this company unless you need 1 to 1.5 years of experience before moving on.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      CDW Response

      Manager, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We assure you it does not reflect CDW’s values or corporate culture and take any claims not in line with The CDW Way very seriously. We would like to know more details about your situation, so we can look into this further. I encourage you to contact us via one of the following options: a. CDW Ethics and Compliance Office directly by calling (847) 419-6160 b. Ethics Helpline at (877) 723-9929 or c. Coworker Relations, Sr. Manager Keith Arnold at (312) 547-3028

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing culture!

      Jul 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      interview process was seamless, joined a month ago and was welcomed with open arms! great leadership, immersive culture work environment

      Cons

      none to mention at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,468 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Work at CDW? Share Your Experiences

    CDW logo
    or