CDW Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

CDW Reviews

Updated 29 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
CDW CEO Christine Leahy
Christine Leahy
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "I loved my time at this great company not many companies can compete with work life balance(in 178 reviews)

  • "The family-like culture makes CDW a great place to work(in 94 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only con is the base salary for AM's(in 91 reviews)

  • "not enough exposure to different Account Managers unless you go looking for it(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CDW Canada - Account Manager 

    I have been working at CDW full-time

    Pros

    The compnay is good I like it

    Cons

    Lots of cold calling to do

    CDW2019-11-21
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Let you work like it's your own business

    Cons

    It can be quite clicky

    CDW2019-11-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large multi-national company that is growing and outpacing their competitor's growth, many geographical locations allow for movement, excellent leadership and focus on coworkers, excellent reputation with customers.

    Cons

    As a sales-first company, most of the non-sales focused roles are limited to the offices in and around the HQ in Chicago, IL. This limits the opportunities for non-sales roles in regional offices.

    CDW2019-11-11
  4. "Great foot in the door in Tech industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Corporate Account Executive 

    I worked at CDW full-time

    Pros

    Great culture Very good training program

    Cons

    Pay is very minimal Tough first few months

    CDW2019-11-11
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible, good leadership and vast resources to help you succeed

    Cons

    With any large company, you'll need to really work hard at the beginning to set yourself up for the best career path

    CDW2019-11-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Stop Telling People to “Drink the Kool-Aid”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very social environment and a lot of opportunities to get in front of parters and network. There are always events and happy hours to go to and there are select groups of good people here! Account Representatives go through an awesome training program and are given books of business.

    Cons

    Bro culture. You can only build your book so much based on government contracts among other limitations. The common saying is “just give it two years, drink the Kool-Aid and you’ll be happy”. Obviously instantaneous gratification is not realistic in most jobs that are worth it, but seeing is believing and some people just don’t see the same results even if they do all of the same things. Horrible time off... and package benefits, compared to other “leading” companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you have to tell people to “Drink the Kool-Aid” there’s probably a reason why they don’t want to in the first place. Time is what is most valuable to a lot of people. People are not robots, they have families and friends that they would also like to spend time with!

    CDW2019-11-17
  7. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CDW Canada - Account Manager 

    I have been working at CDW full-time

    Pros

    Good training at the start Commission is alright

    Cons

    Have to find your own leads Not a great team environment Management not great

    CDW2019-11-21
  8. "Fantastic Place to Work! Too Many Contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Lincolnshire, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I started working at CDW I noticed how long many people at CDW has been here for. Everyone said to me CDW is not a place you just stay at for a couple years, it is a place you grow your career. After being at CDW for a year I now completely understand. The leaders here are open to any and all ideas no matter what level of the company you are. I feel respected and encouraged everyday by my coworkers. I never saw... myself as someone who left work and continuously wanted to talk about it, but that is me now. I tell my family, my friends etc constantly about the incredible support I have had since beginning at CDW. CDW truly is one of the best places you could work.

    Show More

    Cons

    There needs to be a quicker transition from contractor to full-time. I have never heard if any company of this size hiring so many people on a contractor basis. I know CDW is losing valuable talent because of it.

    CDW2019-10-31
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Contracts 

    I worked at CDW full-time

    Pros

    okay place to work flexible schedule

    Cons

    promoting people who have no experience

    CDW2019-11-12
  10. "Great Entry Level Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    many opportunities for advancement great training many networking opportunities

    Cons

    strong party culture, especially for new sales agents

    CDW2019-10-28
Found 1937 reviews
</>Embed