Cargill Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cargill Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2725 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Cargill CEO David W. MacLennan
David W. MacLennan
633 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance and free food(in 125 reviews)

  • "Competitive pay, good benefits, always opportunity for growth within the company(in 114 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance and no overtime for salaried employees who work through the weekend(in 89 reviews)

  • "Falta de desenvolvimento de gestores e plano de carreira para todos(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cargill full-time

    Pros

    One of the best customer

    Cons

    Nothing I can remember off

    Cargill2019-02-11
  2. "Nice people but senior management need to be more progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great and nice people to work around and very easy going. Melbourne office was also located in a good spot in the city in SouthBank.

    Cons

    Senior management and the Melbourne leadership team need to less reactive and more proactive to the market. There was also plenty of staff leaving and rarely any new staff coming into replace lost labour and resource.

    Advice to Management

    Inorder for Cargill to continue gaining in Australia you cannot simply keep cutting costs and being reactive to the market. Loss of internal resources time to time do need to be replaced to ensure that internally the business is staying competitive with IP and not losing ground.

    Cargill2019-08-10
  3. "Not a great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    high salary nice office and late night calls all the time

    Cons

    staff are poor long hours

    Cargill2019-08-28
  4. "Internal Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Recruiter in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay / good team

    Cons

    Complex processes across Australia and Asia

    Cargill2018-08-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Inventory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inventory Coordinator in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill

    Pros

    No pros really worst place I have ever worked out

    Cons

    long hours, underpaid, no management support

    Advice to Management

    New management would help

    Cargill2017-05-08
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cargill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very focussed on development of staff

    Cons

    Large company so mixed capability

    Advice to Management

    Improve compensation benefits

    Cargill2016-10-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, fustrating policies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cargill

    Pros

    The people were great and I had a fantastic manager. Company is dedicated to safety and has a good leadership team.

    Cons

    Many layers of beauracracy which can make it difficult to get approvals for new projects.

    Cargill2015-09-23
  8. "commercial execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cargill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work environment is good and colleague are good

    Cons

    can not learn much, boring

    Advice to Management

    to be more high level vision

    Cargill2015-08-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Tumoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Manager in Newcastle

    I worked at Cargill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Systems very tight and very well deployed. HR especially.

    Cons

    cut throat wages and will employ low paid workers to do higher payed jobs with promises of better things in the future.

    Advice to Management

    Say what you are going to do and do what you say you are going to do. The values are great, but not adhered to at the local level.

    Cargill2013-08-23
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cargill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Structured Great Training Program Benefits

    Cons

    A long time to make desicions.

    Cargill2019-09-12
Found 2725 reviews