David Jones Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

David Jones Reviews

Updated 8 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 295 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
David Jones CEO Iain Nairn
Iain Nairn
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Shortage of staff, too much pressure to sell AMEX cards(in 26 reviews)

  • "Having to "sell" the David Jones American Express Card(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Expert in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and boss to work with Work with beautiful people and goods flexibility in work place

    Cons

    Old computer system makes the job difficult

    Advice to Management

    Should Upgrade the computer system to save time

    David Jones2019-04-29
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture of colleagues, and product and services we offer quite different to other retailers

    Cons

    Management pressures tend to get in way of employees and that's not good

    Advice to Management

    Take care of people and they will in turn take care of your business

    David Jones2019-05-28
  3. "Great discount and brands to work with...But awful, awful management and training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, great pay, workplace always clean and safe, lovely to work with nice brands, most of the staff is lovely too.

    Cons

    Awful management, too many inexperienced assistant managers on power trips who bully and micro manage hard working staff into leaving. Also doesn't matter how many KPIs you achieve on sales targets and customer capture, and how good your customer service is, if you can't sell an AMEX card say goodbye to your job.

    David Jones2019-06-08
  4. "Needs to get organised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount High profile brand

    Cons

    People are always leaving, making it difficult to retain business knowledge

    David Jones2019-06-05
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with.

    Cons

    Often understaffed, rostered staff often had to work past finish time.

    David Jones2019-05-14
  6. "Decent place to work in to earn extra money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Sydney
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Double staff discount days

    Cons

    Pressure to sell AMEX cards versus the hours allocated as a casual

    David Jones2019-05-09
  7. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at David Jones part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      it is good company for part time,Great culture, good work life balance

      Cons

      you need work weekends.Great culture, great flexibility,if you want work weekends, and good work life balance

      Advice to Management

      counter manager is really good but big boss is good

      David Jones2019-05-08
    • "Sales consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at David Jones part-time

        Pros

        Good but not good enough shifts for me to work

        Cons

        Not enough shifts for me to work

        David Jones2019-04-15
      • "long hours for little reward"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Food Court Assistant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at David Jones full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        co-workers make the day easier

        Cons

        having too many responsibilities dumped onto you with little to show for it. will only treat you well if you give your entire life to them.

        Advice to Management

        treat your staff with a little more respect

        David Jones2019-04-29
      • "SALES PROFESSIONAL"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Expert in Adelaide
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at David Jones part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Very good employee discount benefits.

        Cons

        Long store trading hours, especially during christmass

        David Jones2019-04-07
      Found 295 reviews