GenMark Diagnostics Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
50%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
GenMark Diagnostics President and CEO Scott Mendel
Scott Mendel
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bagel Wednesday/Free soda/Free food at quarterly meeting(in 9 reviews)

  • "Free Soda, Lot of nice friendly people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover rate as well so it's hard to get long-term goals accomplished when the people you coordinate with leave every 6-18 months(in 9 reviews)

  • "Small company and has its growing pains(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and investing in the future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GenMark builds solid products that solve the most critical diagnostic needs in the market today and is continually investing in the future. The company was one of the first in the world that delivered a diagnostic test for COVID-19 during the pandemic, proving that even as a small company, they can pivot quickly and meet the changing needs of the market. There’s a strong start-up feel and very collaborative working environment and culture at GenMark.

    Cons

    Still around 500 employees so does not have some of the benefits of a larger company

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    January 12, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback and positive words. It is our mission to become the market leader in providing high value, simple to perform, clinically relevant multiplexed molecular tests to aid in the diagnosis of disease and the selection of dosing therapies. We strive everyday to enhance patient care and reduce the total cost of care while focusing on a culture that allows our employees to deliver such amazing results.

  2. "Easy to learn"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The machines Are easy to run

    Cons

    Unnecessary drama, favoritism. If you're part of the circle you advance further

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    January 13, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for all that you do and for your insights. As we continue to grow we will remain focused our our core values and beliefs fostering an environment of collaboration, innovation and maturation. We appreciate all that you do and your continued feedback to help become the employer of choice here in San Diego.


  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "No concern for the employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with some really great people that care about what they are doing and work really hard.

    Cons

    Absolutely no perks for the employees in manufacturing. Upper management refuses to even buy lunch. No Covid screening and regardless of what they say, if you choose to work from home to be safe your job is in jeopardy. SLT who doesn't actually need to be in the building puts other employees at risk by coming into work everyday. Promotions and increase are based on personal feelings, quite a few people have been promoted way beyond their capabilities as people managers which has resulted in low moral. Most of the Directors and above do not trust the people they have hired and micro manage them and question everything they do. Chain of command is not respected, directors go around their managers directly to the team which undermines the managers authority.

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    January 7, 2021Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At GenMark, we value all feedback, including ways we can improve. GenMark is an essential business providing critical diagnostic tests that are helping fight the global COVID-19 pandemic. We care about the well-being of our employees and strive to make GenMark a safe and rewarding place to work. Since the beginning of the pandemic, we implemented screening guidelines, including temperature checks for everyone who is required to enter any of our facilities, screening questions, decontamination technicians who work around the clock sterilizing all high touch areas, and we have a committee ensuring all protocols are enforced and updated as required. GenMark has allowed those functions that can work remotely to do so, nevertheless many of our responsibilities require working onsite to complete our critical functions. Our senior leadership works side-by-side with their teams giving them every opportunity to grow and succeed, so some of the leadership team is also on site. During the pandemic, we have had to suspend some of the perks mentioned for the safety of our employees, especially providing food which would pose an extremely high risk for spreading COVID-19. We are eagerly anticipating a return to more normal times where we can resume some of our favorite employee activities. Our culture of performance and accountability focuses on career development and we employ a bi-annual promotional review process for all eligible employees. Staff member promotions are an important cross functional process that ensures we are aligned on top performers and future leaders. On behalf of your former colleagues here at GenMark, we wish you good luck in your new role.

  4. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Have to travel long distance

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    November 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you for feedback and more importantly your commitment to GenMark. "Great people" are who drive our culture and continuously pushes up forward. We are so grateful for you and everyone who contributes to our continued success.

  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (3)

    "No trust in employees & not taking pandemic seriously"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time

    Pros

    Smart people and good product

    Cons

    We are in the middle of a pandemic and, yes we are an essential company, but does not mean that every department should need to work in the office every single day. Upper management should trust their employees to be able to be flexible and work from home some day, especially after they have shown goo work for so long.

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    October 7, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. The health and safety of our employees is our top priority during these unique and difficult times. Most employees, not directly related to the production of our product, have been given the opportunity to work from home. Please review your specific situation with your Manager or HR Business Partner. Your dedication to our product and customers is greatly appreciated. Thank you for all you are doing!!

  6. "alright place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    always room to grow, lots of overtime

    Cons

    repetitive and boring, favoritism in workplace

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    July 31, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your opinion matters to the leadership team. Favoritism isn't condoned in our workplace, please reach out to your Supervisor or HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. It is important to us that everyone has a fair place to work.

  7. "Hit a Wall"

    2.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Team Lead 

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time

    Pros

    Company is growing every year

    Cons

    to much favoritism in upper management

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    June 11, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review our company. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. We are interested in your perspective because favoritism is not an acceptable practice. We'd like to understand what you are perceiving. We appreciate your work and are glad to have you on our team.

  8. COVID-19

    "Exciting times-helping w Covid tests"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meaningful work-cool product-really improve lives of patient

    Cons

    Busy but for good reason

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    April 22, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your kind words. We greatly appreciate it and we appreciate your efforts. We couldn't do what we do without you. Keep up the good work.

  9. "Great Upside"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The current culture is great

    Cons

    Growing pains during the transition period.

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    February 28, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you are enjoying the new culture. We have more fantastic changes coming this year. Thank you for your partnership and support!! We are glad to have you on the team.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Delayed pay check"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics

    Pros

    Good rate...free food most of the time.

    Cons

    No annual bonus,no christmas party this year and nothing for employees this Christmas..

    Continue reading

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    December 4, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry you feel this way, please feel free to contact HR if you would like to discuss further.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 91 English Reviews