Lockheed Martin Software Engineer Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Associate Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 10 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
13 Ratings
  1. "Good compensation and benefits, bureaucracy slow as molasses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Littleton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There were many great people in my program, and the office was lovely.

    Cons

    It took well over a year after graduating from University to get my security clearance in the first place (DoD's fault I suppose, not LM's) but during that waiting period I was holding off on looking for other work because LM wasn't very communicative about how long it might take. So I spent over a year twiddling my thumbs. Not worth it at all in retrospect. Then, after starting and dealing with all the typical HR...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve your onboarding process for new hires and college graduate hires. Make it clear that even "harmless", pedestrian sexism isn't okay. Communicate the preposterous amount of time it takes to get a clearance more clearly to prospective hires. This is not a job people should apply for if they don't have something to be doing in the meantime while waiting.

    Lockheed Martin2019-03-10
  2. "Pretty good starting position."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low stress atmosphere Friendly coworkers Good experience

    Cons

    Poor program management Lack of modern development tools

    Advice to Management

    Start prioritizing developers time over tool costs.

    Lockheed Martin2018-11-17
  3. "Associate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Okay work A lot of things to do.

    Cons

    Some disconnect from management Little focus on quality

    Advice to Management

    It is good to try different things to improve productivity but sometimes, focusing on just a few is even better.

    Lockheed Martin2018-08-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lockheed Martin has many great training programs

    Cons

    Lockheed Martin is a Government Contractor so there is a lot of red tape

    Lockheed Martin2018-03-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Run of the mill defense contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Associate in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, good work life balance, decent benefits, and great colleagues. All in all, Lockheed is a good place to work and have a stable job.

    Cons

    Very mismanaged, locked into old technologies, the nature of government contracts prevent any real innovation. It's very hard to keep up to date with the latest technologies at Lockheed.

    Lockheed Martin2018-02-27
  6. "Software Engineer Associate Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at Lockheed Martin for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everybody is very nice to work with. The management cares about you and is willing to listen to ideas

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Lockheed Martin2018-01-09
  7. "Software Engineer Asc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Owego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very great company to work for, great pay and benefits, and a very well known defense and space compnay

    Cons

    Very political, some projects are managed poorly

    Lockheed Martin2017-09-20
  8. "One year at Lockheed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Associate in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, excellent mentorship from managers, a lot of very intelligent coworkers to learn from and make contacts with.

    Cons

    Government regulations with computers, phones, etc. Not really a con on Lockheed's part, but a con none the less.

    Lockheed Martin2017-07-11
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits package, flex schedule, other Fridays off, supportive managers

    Cons

    No extra pay for 40-45hrs

    Lockheed Martin2017-06-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, but the pay could be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Associate in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work is fun and fairly interesting. The managers at the office I am at are friendly and care about the employees. The product that I am working on is interesting and definitely enjoyable.

    Cons

    The pay could be better and there is little documentation of the code base. They also take a lot of ideas from smaller companies such as "flex time" and manage to turn them into very corporate policies that don't work all that well. The amount of paperwork required can hinder an employees productivity, but also is a necessary evil in the defense industry.

    Advice to Management

    Have some form of training for the new hires that involves the job they are doing. Also, pay a competitive wage. It helps to be more flexible regarding vacation policies and flex time as well.

    Lockheed Martin2017-05-07
Found 42 reviews