Lockheed Martin Software Engineer Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Associate Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 24 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
14 Ratings
  1. "Great place to get started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This has been an awesome company to get started, as they really give you plenty of time to get spun up and learn a lot about the products you're using.

    Cons

    That pro has a major con, its kinda slow. Not super slow, but you probably won't hop around a whole lot and it's hard to get new tech ideas in the project team you're on unless you really know who to push.

    Lockheed Martin2019-07-25
  2. "Great company for beginners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance 9/80 work schedule is great Teach as you grow

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-26
  3. "Monotonous Work, Slow, Old Sofware, Awful Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Associate in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Starting pay out of college was good, at first Can have cool opportunities if in the right place at right time

    Cons

    Extremely difficult to differentiate yourself from being "just another number". Strict minimums for promotions, even if doing great work. Changed managers so many times I lost count. IFG is a mess. When you hire in they stick you on some "meaningful" work until you get fully cleared, 16 months is typical. Culture is atrocious, many creepy old men, absolutely no fun can be had. No swag given out to employees EVER.... If you have a good idea and bring it to your manager, you simply are told "Great! Stick to your work" and it dies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It seems as if many employees of all age and pay bands are upset and angry with compensation, benefits, culture etc. Listen to your people! Clearly keeping people here is not something they care about one bit.

    Lockheed Martin2019-06-27
  4. "Good compensation and benefits, bureaucracy slow as molasses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Littleton, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were many great people in my program, and the office was lovely.

    Cons

    It took well over a year after graduating from University to get my security clearance in the first place (DoD's fault I suppose, not LM's) but during that waiting period I was holding off on looking for other work because LM wasn't very communicative about how long it might take. So I spent over a year twiddling my thumbs. Not worth it at all in retrospect. Then, after starting and dealing with all the typical... HR stuff you find at most large corporations, my program still couldn't really find meaningful work for me to do. So I twiddled my thumbs in the office for just under a month before finally realizing that the company didn't match my goals in life anyway, and I left on good terms. It's worth noting that there seemed to be a pretty ingrained atmosphere of subtle sexism. That's what happens when you get a bunch of awkward male engineers to work together, I think. I frequently heard male employees making jokes about their girlfriends/wives, and women in general. As far as I could tell, the women in my program were treated fairly and kindly, but it was hard to get past the sense that it's a boys club (I'm male, but I still felt uncomfortable in the office). Finally, get ready not to see much sunlight if you're working for a classified program. Large rooms with fluorescent lighting and all the windows shuttered. Pretty standard rows and rows of cubicles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve your onboarding process for new hires and college graduate hires. Make it clear that even "harmless", pedestrian sexism isn't okay. Communicate the preposterous amount of time it takes to get a clearance more clearly to prospective hires. This is not a job people should apply for if they don't have something to be doing in the meantime while waiting.

    Lockheed Martin2019-03-10
  5. "Pretty good starting position."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low stress atmosphere Friendly coworkers Good experience

    Cons

    Poor program management Lack of modern development tools

    Advice to Management

    Start prioritizing developers time over tool costs.

    Lockheed Martin2018-11-17
  6. "Associate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Okay work A lot of things to do.

    Cons

    Some disconnect from management Little focus on quality

    Advice to Management

    It is good to try different things to improve productivity but sometimes, focusing on just a few is even better.

    Lockheed Martin2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lockheed Martin has many great training programs

    Cons

    Lockheed Martin is a Government Contractor so there is a lot of red tape

    Lockheed Martin2018-03-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Run of the mill defense contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Associate in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, good work life balance, decent benefits, and great colleagues. All in all, Lockheed is a good place to work and have a stable job.

    Cons

    Very mismanaged, locked into old technologies, the nature of government contracts prevent any real innovation. It's very hard to keep up to date with the latest technologies at Lockheed.

    Lockheed Martin2018-02-27
  9. "Software Engineer Associate Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Associate Software Engineer in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at Lockheed Martin for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everybody is very nice to work with. The management cares about you and is willing to listen to ideas

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Lockheed Martin2018-01-09
  10. "Software Engineer Asc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Owego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very great company to work for, great pay and benefits, and a very well known defense and space compnay

    Cons

    Very political, some projects are managed poorly

    Lockheed Martin2017-09-20
Found 44 reviews