Lockheed Martin Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Lockheed Martin Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5992 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson
Marillyn Hewson
2,191 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadeship. by smart capable people Interesting company

    Cons

    I had to travel to another city. No locations in Sydney or I would still work there!

    Advice to Management

    Please set up an office in Sydney!

    Lockheed Martin2018-01-27
  2. "Good employer to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Avionics Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits for you and your family

    Cons

    Progression can be slow if not actively perusing progression

    Advice to Management

    Open up more internal transfers

    Lockheed Martin2019-08-01
  3. "Horrible & no opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clayton
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top 50 companies in the world

    Cons

    No real presence In Australia No growth unless management level

    Advice to Management

    Help your employees grow rather than focusing on your selves making the profits.

    Lockheed Martin2019-02-06
  4. "Disappointed, when it’s all done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lockheed Martin for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lockheed Martin Australia started in Australia via the JORN project, which they have since lost, but continue with a number of interesting other projects.

    Cons

    They give the impression of being arrogant and, despite “claiming” to be (unconditionally) ethical, in my experience only actively demonstrate this when it is convenient. I raised an issue against middle-management and my “HR Business Partner” challenged me by asking “what do I really want to get out of this?”. In short I was fobbed off. Upon being made redundant I realised that I de-skilled during my time with... the company and reslised how detrimental the toxic environment actually is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at yourself (and your middle managers) and look after your employees so no one is left unemployable and (forced to) consider a career change like I am.

    Lockheed Martin2018-12-27
  5. "New review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job awesome learning experience. You get to test system from ground floor and really see how system works

    Cons

    Intense trying and great time spent test and training

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing great job

    Lockheed Martin2016-11-12
  6. "really bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin

    Pros

    fantastic company in the USA

    Cons

    staff turnover is horrendous in Canberra Australia, plus management and staff are predominantly military individuals with no social etiquette... just a military boys club...

    Advice to Management

    you need to get new blood filtering into the company from all industries to get rid of the boring military culture

    Lockheed Martin2016-11-29
  7. "Sydney site is underwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Aircraft Mechanic in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good location. good guys on the floor.

    Cons

    Employer promises never fulfilled. Lack of competent management this year. very low employee engagement. fixed term contract with no career progression possible.

    Advice to Management

    listen to your staff and change the management team

    Lockheed Martin2016-07-19
  8. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lockheed Martin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good water flask provided. Tea and coffee provided. Not bad socials functions. Good training videos. Quality furniture and workspace assessments

    Cons

    Hire unqualified people to lead teams, toxic and unethical work environment. Lack of organisation, failure to recognise quality staff. Poor management skills.

    Advice to Management

    Reward the people who actually do the work, not the ones that take credit for other people's work.

    Lockheed Martin2016-03-03
  9. "Lockheed Martin Shiftworker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Laverton, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time

    Pros

    Full time job, medium job security, Defence related unlikely to be axed.

    Cons

    Very low Base pay with long hours and constant shift work. Salary seems good at first but is really quite low at about $24/Hr or less. Pay rises are lower than CPI most years. Salary of about $90000 seems ok but is in actual fact well earned by mandatory and considerable overtime and long 12 Hr shifts. Highly skilled and experienced Emplyees are earning little more than minimum Award wages for longer hours worked... plus National Employment Standard (NES) mandatory allowances.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to look after existing and new employees better. Cease cutting staff numbers and real wages. Stop increasing hours employees have to work, especially unpaid hours work.

    Lockheed Martin2015-12-29
  10. "Mixed bag - Choose your program wisely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Canberra
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lockheed Martin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a bigger company they have the financial resources to offer decent training. They have an exciting group of projects to work on and movement within the programs is possible for the right skill sets.

    Cons

    There seems to be a lot of political games and management make decisions behind closed doors which doesn't instill confidence in teams. Team Leaders and Senior staff often don't have the support they need to manage both people and work. HR is based in US which means any negotiations take longer than they should.

    Advice to Management

    While there is a great deal of communication about the programs, much of it is reactive and the thinking behind strategic directions is secretive. Trust would go a long way to building loyalty.

    Lockheed Martin2015-11-26
Found 5992 reviews