Medibank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Medibank Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 138 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Medibank CEO Craig Drummond
Craig Drummond
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The focus on work-life balance appears to be verbal only(in 5 reviews)

  • "Melbourne office are quite behind in this respect(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medibank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - genuine flexibility - engaged CEO - absolute customer focus - passion for health - internal development and quality of training is very good

    Cons

    - parts of the business are bit disconnected - career pathways could be clearer

    Advice to Management

    - clear career development - shared goals/ KPIs across the business

    Medibank2019-08-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Lead in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits and opportunities for development. I worked there for 12 years and held 6 different roles. An organisation that genuinely is trying to be better.

    Cons

    Long hours but worthwhile and the place can burn you out if you let it. I always felt like I was contributing to the greater good and there was purpose. I was fortunate to have awesome managers mostly in my time there.

    Medibank2019-07-25
  3. "Why did I waste my time here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some great colleagues, discounted health insurance, good incentives if you achieve targets which are unreasonabaly high...

    Cons

    No career progression at all.

    Medibank2019-07-28
  4. "Fantastic team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medibank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, perfect work life balance

    Cons

    Management, no work from home option.

    Medibank2019-07-16
  5. "Doesn't put Australians first as an employer but wants Australians as customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Medibank for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Work from home culture is okay with usual ..

    Cons

    prefers work and other visa workers for low rates or favour or relationships management not transparent but flashy

    Medibank2019-07-16
  6. "Good but could have been a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great building to work in

    Cons

    Stifling career path way in total

    Medibank2019-06-26
  7. "Too much change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location and building

    Cons

    Business lost focus after IPO

    Advice to Management

    Make the most of your people

    Medibank2019-06-11
  8. "Billing Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Medibank full-time

    Pros

    Great flexibility and working environment

    Cons

    Hard to sometimes implement change as it's a big company

    Medibank2019-05-13
  9. "Poor Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Medibank

    Pros

    - Good coffee machine and free fruit daily - Close to Southern Cross Station

    Cons

    -Below average salaries for the industry - Constantly losing government contracts to other private health insurers. This results in less income for the business and less job security for employees - The company is so tight on money that it’s pretty much impossible to get a promotion or remunerated at a fair level - The frontline staff that do all the work aren’t appreciated and managers take credit for their work

    Advice to Management

    - Reward staff based on their abilities, not your budget. - Adopt a more strategic approach with your team structures - Do more to keep good staff

    Medibank2019-05-27

    Medibank Response

    June 10, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thank you for leaving some feedback about your current experience with Medibank. At Medibank, we pride ourselves on both our people and culture so we’re sorry to hear that your experience with us hasn't been all positive. Please know that we’d be happy to talk with you in ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work in melbourne"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAP Basis in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medibank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work close to southern cross station, work from home and parental leave

    Cons

    Career growth in IT is not defined very well inside

    Medibank2019-03-22
Found 138 reviews