Medibank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Medibank Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Medibank CEO Craig Drummond
Craig Drummond
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The focus on work-life balance appears to be verbal only(in 5 reviews)

  • "Melbourne office are quite behind in this respect(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medibank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - genuine flexibility - engaged CEO - absolute customer focus - passion for health - internal development and quality of training is very good

    Cons

    - parts of the business are bit disconnected - career pathways could be clearer

    Advice to Management

    - clear career development - shared goals/ KPIs across the business

    Medibank2019-08-17
  2. "Pretty great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Coordinator in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Medibank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent place to work. Great culture. They’re really into taking care of their employees in a non-token way.

    Cons

    Lots of people working there who are totally personality-free. Blank, smiley fakes at all levels of management, but they’re all competent and treat people well.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more money on systems. Much more. Build one piece of software for the entire business, and stop silo-ing information. Pretty much every in-house or custom tech platform is infuriating. Yes, even the new ones. And abandon jargon. Make it a strategy. Talk like humans. Make an effort to change this part of the culture.

    Medibank2019-10-08
  3. "Not a good organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Medibank full-time

    Pros

    Good PHI subsidy, gender equality, retail

    Cons

    Too many tasks to do in the retail. trying to save costs

    Medibank2019-10-10
  4. "Test lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Lead in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work with

    Cons

    New starters process / trappings are not very helpful

    Medibank2019-09-25
  5. "Overall pretty good after a big period of instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of in Melbourne
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Genuine commitment to wellbeing and work life balance, and customer focus of current CEO. Amazing Head office building. Seems to have settled down a bit with the current CEO after a period of crazy management restructuring and 180 degree strategy U turns shortly after its IPO

    Cons

    Tough industry to be in with cost pressure on Health insurance. Frequent restructures. Some Execs can be difficult to deal with

    Medibank2019-09-12
  6. "Flexible work time and place, long phone hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Medibank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible work time, work from home

    Cons

    Long hours on the phone, non stop calls

    Medibank2019-09-09
  7. "No wonder have such high turnover of staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Medibank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time work uniform provided

    Cons

    Tell you lies till they can recruit more staff

    Advice to Management

    Be pro active not reactive - stop changing tact

    Medibank2019-09-10

    Medibank Response

    September 23, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thank you for leaving some feedback about your current experience with Medibank. At Medibank, we pride ourselves on both our people and culture so we’re sorry to hear that your experience with us hasn't been all positive. Please know that we’d be happy to talk with you in more detail about your individual experience. Please contact us on P&C_Communications@medibank.com.au Warm regards

    Show Less
  8. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CCC CareComplete in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand name, location viz George Street Sydney very central.

    Cons

    Extremely poor management as far as subsidiary projects are concerned. Very biased, unfair, no body cares on concerns raised or feedbacks given during employment or at the time of separation . Bullying to a certain extent.

    Advice to Management

    The senior management needs to take a closer look as to what is happening especially with the CareComplete suite. Why has some of good performers left. Need to take a look at the metrics and performance of the people who have been unfairly promoted against who left disheartened.

    Medibank2019-09-09

    Medibank Response

    September 23, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thank you for leaving some feedback about your experience with Medibank. At Medibank, we pride ourselves on both our people and culture so we’re sorry to hear that your experience with us hasn't been all positive. Please know that we’d be happy to talk with you in more detail about your individual experience. Please contact us on P&C_Communications@medibank.com.au Warm regards

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Lead in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits and opportunities for development. I worked there for 12 years and held 6 different roles. An organisation that genuinely is trying to be better.

    Cons

    Long hours but worthwhile and the place can burn you out if you let it. I always felt like I was contributing to the greater good and there was purpose. I was fortunate to have awesome managers mostly in my time there.

    Medibank2019-07-25
  10. "Why did I waste my time here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Medibank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some great colleagues, discounted health insurance, good incentives if you achieve targets which are unreasonabaly high...

    Cons

    No career progression at all.

    Medibank2019-07-28

    Medibank Response

    September 23, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Hi there, thank you for leaving some feedback about your experience with Medibank. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn't all positive. Please know that we’d be happy to talk with you in more detail about your individual experience. Please contact us on P&C_Communications@medibank.com.au Warm regards

    Show Less
Found 128 reviews