Microsoft Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Microsoft Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20218 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella
Satya Nadella
8753 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Specialist 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career growth, flexibility & rewards. Would highly recommend.

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Microsoft2019-07-15
  2. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great career progression and learning experience.

    Cons

    Tough interview process and selection criteria

    Microsoft2019-08-15
  3. "Finally humble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and future vision and potential

    Cons

    Small cog in a big machine

    Microsoft2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunities for Females, not so much for ambitious Middle Aged Men"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focus on personal development, mindset and purpose Business momentum is strong Flexible working Great job mobility opportunities Benefits are more than competitive Commitment to Diversity, Equality and Inclusion

    Cons

    D&I gone mad: Before I start, I 100% believe in workplace equality - equal opportunities for men and women of any race. That said, even though 20% of Computer Science Grads are Female, Microsoft's push for 50% of senior staff being female and will "positively discriminate" for roles. In talking to managers you are often given the heads-up not to apply for a role as this needs to be a female hire. This has gone so...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to get simpler internally and focus more on customers Focus on true equality (equal opportunities for men and women of all ages and races) not achieving false diversity quotas through 'positive discrimination'

    Microsoft2019-07-26
  5. "Account manager in inside sales division for medium enterprise market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make your experience for sales from PC(Surface) to cloud

    Cons

    Too much internal orchestrations and products

    Advice to Management

    Better to reduce middle management(no need them)

    Microsoft2019-07-18
  6. "TSP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Solutions Professional 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance achivable easily

    Cons

    U need to do sales

    Microsoft2019-07-01
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Technology Strategist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, nurturing culture and people

    Cons

    Extremely sales focussed, high pressure

    Microsoft2019-07-01
  8. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Sales Specialist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Vision and solution direction of the company

    Cons

    Local Company Culture, very aggressive and not always in best interest of customers

    Advice to Management

    Employees are working for the Vision of the company in-spite of local culture in country

    Microsoft2019-07-15
  9. "Overall good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Technology Strategist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Depending on area/patch work life balance pretty good, decent remuneration, company is reinventing itself

    Cons

    Still some legacy blocking progress

    Microsoft2019-07-12
  10. "Amazing but challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Great customers and partners Amazing products

    Cons

    Horrible systems and Tools Scorecard driven organisation not customer focused

    Advice to Management

    Stop the middle management politics and hiring people into roles that use manager roles for personal career development.

    Microsoft2019-06-23
Found 20218 reviews