Red Hat Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Red Hat CEO Paul Cormier
Paul Cormier
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes work-life balance affects as needs overlapping hours with US(in 35 reviews)

  • "Rapid growth means growing pains with some internal processes(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time

    Pros

    culture, great products, CEO is great

    Cons

    Pay is ok in terms of market rate

    Continue reading
    Red Hat2019-11-28
  2. "Has it's pros and cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Canberra

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of Red Hat training provided, Christmas Stand down

    Cons

    Can be exhausting at times.

    Red Hat2020-04-17
  3. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Actually walks the talk and follows its stated ethos

    Cons

    Can be a bit naive sometimes

    Red Hat2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No review headline guidelines provided"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Principal Technical Editor in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Freedom, flexibility, opportunities to expand

    Cons

    Suffers from taking the easy way

    Red Hat2019-12-04
  5. "Good place for growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time

    Pros

    Really good place for growth.

    Cons

    Keeping up with astronomical growth

    Red Hat2019-10-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great company at top and bottom (but hilarious middle management)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Hat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great mission and a significant impact on the planet. - Flexible working conditions and really set up for people to do their best work as long as that intention aligns with the company mission. - For those who can make opportunities for themselves the freedom is fantastic. Equally fantastic CEO. - A fantastic place to work, make a visible impact, and leapfrog into more competitively paid roles at a significantly higher level. - Also just great to see how products and services can be made outside of the traditional model.

    Cons

    - Laughable middle management and very poor pay as a result of the ability to attract dogmatic and mission-focused staff. - High churn of the more modern (aka less dogmatic) talent. - Pretty terrible design, UX, product management, etc teams given the state of open source overall. Even more depressingly the existing talent in those roles are largely unaware they're not cutting it (the Dunning–Kruger effect). Most products just sigh and accept it.

    Continue reading
    Red Hat2019-07-28
  7. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great friendly culture - values and respect employees - Amazing people - Opportunities to grow career in any fields sales, tech, management - Work from Home opportunities - Lots of food party

    Cons

    Nothing! Nothing! Nothing! Nothing! Nothing!

    Red Hat2019-07-19
  8. "What they say is true"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in North Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best company i have worked for. The open culture that everybody was talking about is real. Great colleagues, great products, transparency, good training opportunities, clearly defined career path with many different variations tailored to you, stock options, travel, you can transfer to any other office anywhere in the world. + Red Hat Rewards program + Free breakfasts + Red Hat Week + The best CEO in the world

    Cons

    I cannot say anything bad about Red Hat, except for maybe middle management seems disorganised sometimes and our office is too "sales" for my liking.

    Continue reading
    Red Hat2019-07-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Architect"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Architect in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Hat full-time

    Pros

    Culture and Colleagues are an absolute pleasure to work with

    Cons

    There aren’t any cons worth worrying about

    Continue reading
    Red Hat2019-05-02
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good coworkers, interesting projects to work on."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Hat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Upper management preaches open source values, but doesn't commit to them. Pretends to have a unique culture, but is really just another large multinational.

    Red Hat2018-12-21
Found 1479 reviews