SAP Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

SAP Reviews

Updated 12 December 2018
8,497 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
SAP CEO Bill McDermott
Bill McDermott
5,231 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance but that goes along with any exciting growth oriented company" (in 304 reviews)

  • "There are literally no cons I can think of to working at SAP" (in 205 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Enterprise Client Development in Sydney
    Current Employee - Director Enterprise Client Development in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great leaders
    Flexibility and autonomy
    Many career path options
    rewarding compensation
    opportunity to have my voice heard
    not afraid of change or to challenge status quo
    vision to change the world by making peoples lives better

    Cons

    still a little siloed
    customer-centricity can fail at the hands of territory ownership

    SAP Response

    4 Oct 2018 – Life at SAP Team

    Thanks for your review and the 5-stars. We're so happy to hear you recommend SAP and are satisfied with our leaders, flexibility, vision of progress, and opportunities.


  2. "What a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SAP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Supportive environment, excellent leadership, strong development plans for staff.

    Cons

    Not many. Likely that the market is unaware of how strong SAP are in the cloud which therefore means the Marketing needs stronger investment

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Great new recent leadership announcements. Continue the customer first focus.

  3. "Best place to start a Career in Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Learning on the Job is phenomenal
    - Pay is above average for starting salary
    - Great International Travel Opportunities

    Cons

    - Sales Subsidiary means very quarterly driven
    - Every product is the newest innovation. Can get caught in its own web of technology and be a little too introspective when it comes to what is 'innovative'.

    SAP Response

    29 Oct 2018 – Life at SAP Team

    Thanks for your review. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your time at SAP when you worked here. We appreciate the feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavours.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "SAP Fieldglass, APJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    SAP Culture is great, lots of support, resources, opportunity to learn and grow. Flexible workplace with global reach and diversity.

    Cons

    SAP Fieldglass Specifically. Toxic culture within Fieldglass APJ. Poor deicions making skills, insecure leaderhsip team, unskilled leadership team, biased cliques within decisions, promotions and opportunities. ZERO opportunity for promotion or career advancement if you have integrity.

    Advice to Management

    SAP Fieldglass Specifically. Insecurity and fear is not a strong attribute of a leader, yet all of them in Brisbane exude both. Practise what you preach as leadership, and have some integrity. Too many of the leadership team are telling people what they want to hear without any substance or commitment. Recognise that overall organisational culture is more important than your sales team.

    SAP Response

    29 Oct 2018 – Life at SAP Team

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your experience at SAP Fieldglass has more cons than pros. We're happy you took the time to leave a review because it gives us the opportunity to... More


  5. "10 years’ + experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Sydney
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SAP full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Salary is higher than market rate on average

    Cons

    A lot of time pressure for some departments.

    SAP Response

    29 Oct 2018 – Life at SAP Team

    Thank you for your review!


  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Canberra
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAP full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Top Management is hand-son person.

    Cons

    Lack of framework, No work/life balance, No employee friendly culture

    SAP Response

    23 Aug 2018 – Life at SAP Team

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry your review has more pros than cons. We have made it a point to focus on a good work/life balance .


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Offers a lot, delivers less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Director in Melbourne
    Former Employee - Programmer Director in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SAP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Working with like-minded individuals
    Dealing with different industries
    A level of self-development with onus on you proving yourself
    Well known brand though starting to crumble as not seen as relevant in current markets.

    Cons

    Lack of direction
    Bloated with management
    Leadership style of 70s
    Lack of service management and active value-add engagement to customers
    Is a 'SALES ORGANISATION' - not an IT leader.
    Group think is alive and well.
    Career Succession is limited despite the 'hi-performance' club (in effect an emperor's new clothes syndrome'
    Could be a boiled frog already. Lacks transformation culture which it needs.
    Way too much Germanic in-fighting approach to delaing with issues.

    Advice to Management

    Live and action the standards you preach.
    Figure out what you want / need to be and work from there on.
    If want to run consultancy services then do it, don't under-cook and under deliver.
    Engage and buy an true Value Based consultancy not the BTS bloated thought crime approach.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic, dominated by aggressive , bullying male behaviour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SAP full-time

    Pros

    Some great team members especially in SAP consultancy team.
    Good salary
    large organization if you wished to move around

    Cons

    Targets are irrelevant to the market potential and needs.
     So many re-structuring due to company buyouts, so one day you have a sales bag and the next day it has changed so as your target. This breaths bullying mechanism within the organization so the middle management can achieve their targets. I was bullied by two managers as I stood my ground for bringing value to customers rather than just closing a deal, they bullied me to the point that I was forced to resign, even though I met the target numbers by 80%. Both of the manager's intentions were to cut cost so they can hire in another region as I had a healthy pipeline built and inside sales could close the deals. They even got promotion from Australia to APAC.
    This experience brought major depression to me and eventually I had my first Lupus attack. I will never forget how these managers behaved, HR and others knew about it and no one did anything. Terrible culture and I hope karma catch the guys on top, as this should never happen to any females at work.

    Advice to Management

    Respect females at work and create an equal culture encourage whistleblowing so managers can talk if they see employees are being mistreated by their direct reports.


  9. "Industry Value Engineer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industry Value Engineer Associate in Brisbane
    Current Employee - Industry Value Engineer Associate in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SAP full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Variety of work, good corporate social responsibility, excellent pay and benefits, opportunity to travel

    Cons

    Quarterly sales pressures, high performance, competitive

    Advice to Management

    Continue supporting female leadership. Making good moves at the moment.

    SAP Response

    15 Jun 2018 – Employer Brand Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your positive review and your feedback!


  10. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Sydney
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SAP full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    SAP is a world wide ERP company, that has global operation and global support. Great working environment and on-going learning challenges

    Cons

    Some of the silos are very hard to break, this is for some expert knowledge as well as for some groups

    Advice to Management

    To listen to the team members is not only one thing that needs to promise but also integrate the team opinions into the decisions and plan.

    SAP Response

    23 May 2018 – Employer Brand Marketing Coordinator

    We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with SAP. Best wishes for your new role!