Salmat Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Salmat Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Salmat Chief Executive Officer Rebecca Lowde (no image)
Rebecca Lowde
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Confusing senior management direction(in 6 reviews)

  • "Pay is minimum wage, with terrible commission structure, does not promote ambitious selling or performance(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved working with my direct team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Account Coordinator in Dandenong South
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salmat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, great team that I directly worked with. Company culture is good but there are definitely some changes happening there

    Cons

    Other teams are siloed off which doesn't create an overall team environment with a shared goal but rather competing interests.

    Salmat2019-07-23
  2. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salmat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very active at growing talent from within

    Cons

    Salaries on the lower end

    Salmat2019-10-25
  3. "Great for short term employment, long term not so much."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salmat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Semi relaxed clothing requirements, nice office in the city, hire a range of types of people- quirky sense of humour and alternative style isn't punished.

    Cons

    Often report to a team leader that has no understanding of your role, and are treated like a recalcitrant child for the slightest infraction (too long between calls when making detailed notes, too long in the bathroom while sick, inflexibility when outside life needs to be accommodated. One afternoon off removes all per hour bonuses for that fortnight, as does being sick or late.) Understaffing as a temporary issue... becomes permanent, and promises of support are not followed through on. A year and a half doing afternoon shift alone, which school have been 2 people and possibly a changeover shift person overlapping. KPIs and metrics matter more than the mental health of employees, processes randomly change, no proper implementation of processes and supporting systems- often systems are shoved through last minute, without enough testing. Once every fortnight at least some of the major systems required would crash, or the firewall reset and made all online apps (so all programs used) unable to be accessed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    KPIs are easier to achieve and maintain when there's an inclusive environment, not a constant reassertion that everyone is replaceable and consistently isolated.

    Salmat2019-10-01
  4. "Stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salmat full-time

    Pros

    There is nothing good about working at this company. Just don't go there!

    Cons

    Salmat is a very unstable Company. The turnover is very high. They hire people in permanent positions and in a few months even after they have past their probation period they make their positions redundant!

    Advice to Management

    You are playing with people's lives here! people make decisions based on their permanent jobs, like buying properties ... You can't ust make their positions redundant a few months after hiring them in a permanent position! It is just not right! Very unprofessional!

    Salmat2019-09-17
  5. "Finding its Feet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Operations Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salmat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pockets of shelter. Hopefully more stable now.

    Cons

    Went through some serious change.

    Salmat2019-08-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salmat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can find opportunity if you push

    Cons

    Old business model and needs to change

    Salmat2019-07-25
  7. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent 

    I have been working at Salmat part-time

    Pros

    Convenient location and clean workplace

    Cons

    salary is a bit low

    Salmat2019-07-19
  8. "Best of the minimum wage jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Salmat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compared to hospitality, retail, fast food etc, working in a contact centre is a good place to start. Salmat's Melbourne office is modern loking and feels professional but down to earth at the same time, which is a good combo. Their contact centres were bought by Probe in 2018, so not sure how it is now. I really appreciated the diversity of colleagues - all walks and stages of life, so many unique... stories, but all working for the same purpose. Because it's a large scale employer, there is more room for flexible working arrangements, and the organisation doesn't fall apart if you actually stay home when you are sick. While individual team leaders and managers have their own styles, the organisation is committed to equity, fair treatment and following the law when it comes to workers rights, which is not something to take for granted in minimum wage "unskilled" roles. There is room for movement - if you do your time as a phone agent, you can move onto a huge variety of roles, from HR, IT, management, Finance, you name it! Even chances to head Interstate or Overseas. Also, they provide free PT sessions in a nearby park, and occasional visits from exercise physiologists and ergonomics professionals which is a nice touch.

    Show More

    Cons

    An open plan office of a few hundred people means there is a chronic exposure to high ambient noise. This, in combination with the noise from the customers on the headsets, can become a hearing risk. There are also "auditory incidents" on occasion, where there is an unusually loud noise on the headset that is a risk of all call centre technology. I'm not sure if they do it anymore, but when I was there we used... shared headsets, which is a huge health and safety risk. I suffered multiple ear infections during my time there. Another issue with this, and hotdesking, is the risk of higher exposure to viruses such as the flu and gastro. When we did have a gastro outbreak on our floor, management were quick to try and solve the problem by providing us all with antibacterial wipes for our desks, keyboards, mouses, computer screens and headsets. I think every person needs their own headset. The constant onslaught of calls gets very tiresome after around 6 months, which last time I checked is the standard rate of attrition for many call centre agents. There's no real diversity of tasks at all and it can get very monotonous. Sitting at a desk for 8+ hours a day is not great either.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Study the WHS risks of phone agents and do everything you can to minimise these risks. Attrition is the biggest problem contact centres face, and most people don't quit jobs, they quit bosses. A supportive work environment and nurturing and fair management is crucial in making sure talent grows (and sticks around). Maybe a more structured career mentoring program outside of supervision could keep morale up for... potential future leaders.

    Show More
    Salmat2019-07-04
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Salmat full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance with good money People are approachable and willing to help

    Cons

    Lots of instability within business

    Salmat2019-06-26
  10. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I worked at Salmat part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good part time, flexible hours

    Cons

    Bad hourly rate but the best you can get as a teenager

    Salmat2019-06-17
Found 162 reviews