Shell Energy Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Shell Energy Retail Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Colin Crooks
Colin Crooks
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A pension contribution of 1% is not acceptable for a company of this size(in 18 reviews)

  • "You don't get sick pay for the first few days which is a shame(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great ambition and direction from the very top, through the business All the tools to get the job done are at the companies grasp, we just need to improve and deliver the results in the right manner. Shells master plan is transitioning and pulling in to place bit by bit.

    Cons

    The free recycle cup has a rubber lid and sometimes it leaks on my shirt.....

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, the ambition and vision is great.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-06-13
  2. "Great atmosphere with good focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Modern technology stacks - Work from home at least 2 days a week with flexibility to do more/less or switch which days - Flexible hours allowing a better work/life balance (as a software engineer I do 8-4:30 for example) - Full canteen with hot/cold food at competitive rates with a reward scheme (Points that allow you to get free cake (amongst healthier options) and free hot drinks) - Nice offices (There is some...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Driving around the school and Coventry roads can be a little nightmare-ish at certain times of the day - But that could apply to almost any office in the country!

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-30
  3. "My first month in role......positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ER & Policy Specialist in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    Great recruitment process, the recruitment pack was invaluable when preparing for my interview. Communication from my line manager and recruitment was maintained up to the point of commencing in my role. Great welcome given by Security on my first day. The free coffee and cup was a great touch. Regular one to one/review meetings with line manager have been invaluable. Manager is approachable and happy to share...

    Show More

    Cons

    I am pleased to say I do not have any to report If there is to be one it would be to have the company values more prominent and visible throughout our place of work.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-30
  4. "Super people and a great place to work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolutions Advisor in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues, forward-thinking organization and an inspiring mission. A very exciting place to work. The company is making great strides and has hired really great people who are developing well. Really enjoying working @ shell energy

    Cons

    No downside views in shell energy.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-29
  5. "Great people, amazing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Business Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with and for, great changes taking place. Shell are really trying to make a change in the world regarding energy production and consumption

    Cons

    None for me at present

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Rainham, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly customers, nice environment TO WORK IN

    Cons

    minimum wage and the managers are horrible make you work 16 hours straight and force you to work overtime

    Advice to Management

    hire more staff and increase wages

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-28
  7. "QSGTL package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good remuneration & salary package

    Cons

    Working at live plant - no work life balance

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-11
  8. "Gas & oil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome and very interesting

    Cons

    The ability to learn more and to do more.

    Advice to Management

    Give more opportunities to welcome more workers

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Support and Sympathy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During the training process the intake of information was a lot to handle compared to previous jobs. Both my trainer Sam Morris and the floorwalkers support during training and the academy process has been outstanding! Support and help is always an arms length away, both professionally and with personal issues as well.

    Cons

    I feel the training process was quite short in regards to how much new information someone like myself, having not worked in energy before, has to absorb.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote the well being and comfort of your employees in the workplace

    Shell Energy Retail2019-04-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "AdHoc Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Specialist Advisor in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee wellbeing programs Living wage employer Diverse staffing Annual performance based pay rise

    Cons

    AdHoc work environment Agile work spacing Shift rotation with very reluctant to provide a set shifts Managers are often informal and over step personal boundaries

    Advice to Management

    Take all employees feelings, comfort levels and skill set into consideration when making operational decisions. Not just those of the people you favour.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-04-17
Found 187 reviews