UnitedHealth Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

UnitedHealth Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9251 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Dave Wichmann
608 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Work from home using the provided laptop

    Cons

    Sometimes lots of work, but i think it is normal in any company

    UnitedHealth Group2019-01-27
  2. "not so good culture fo devs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Developer 

      I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

      Pros

      few people are good. only few

      Cons

      not so good culture for dev

      Advice to Management

      find people with good attitude

      UnitedHealth Group2019-04-02
    • "Good benefits, no chance for progression"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at UnitedHealth Group

        Pros

        - work was very easy - it had some good benefits

        Cons

        - there was no room for progression - the pay was low for similar jobs

        Advice to Management

        Please ensure all employees get a fair chance.

        UnitedHealth Group2017-06-02
      • Helpful (2)

        "Too big to err fail? Optum in Australia"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Service in Melbourne
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Teamwork and solidarity among individual teams is good. Flexibility to make decisions a local level if you show aptitude or high skill level. Opportunities to have a global reach with colleagues in many parts of the world. Committed clinical care for clients.

        Cons

        Company is too big and decisions are made by people half a world away. Offshoring of processes doesn't deliver any efficiency gains. Tech support is awful and frequently useless for a "Health and Technology" company. Communication of a plan or driving force non-existent. Everything is done reactively to a process or technology that doesn't work. Forward planning bogged down in politics or poorly organized processes.

        Advice to Management

        Sever Optum in Australia from UHG. Spend the money or make decisions to get technology that actually works.

        UnitedHealth Group2017-02-27
      • "Very rewarding but there were opportunities for the company to improve."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Consultant in Brisbane
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        There was a lot of autonomy and a wide variety of clients to work with. The variety of workers meant that there were good opportunities to develop your skills through collaboration.

        Cons

        The direction set by the business was not that clear for employees it clients. There was a strong drive for profits (which are obviously important) but the business is a health provider so there needs to be a strong emphasis on a social bottom line.

        Advice to Management

        Connect with your staff better to drive change.

        UnitedHealth Group2017-03-02
      • "Optum"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Melbourne
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at UnitedHealth Group for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Space for creativity and innovation

        Cons

        Not organised, Internal departments not in Sync

        Advice to Management

        NA

        UnitedHealth Group2015-09-27
      • "Director late phase"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

        Pros

        Workplace flexibility benefits team environment training governance

        Cons

        Disorganised financial systems, reactive, focused on acquisitions

        Advice to Management

        Fix the finance systems and you will have less frustrated staff

        UnitedHealth Group2015-05-04
      • Helpful (3)

        "Dysfunctional upper management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Research Analyst 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

        Pros

        Most of the work is interesting

        Cons

        Although they pretend to be transparent and inclusive, upper management seems to be an exclusive club with little regard for staff satisfaction or retention. In their pursuit of short term profits, they make incompetent strategic decisions and have lost a lot of extremely talented staff to competitors.

        Advice to Management

        See above. Listen to your staff.

        UnitedHealth Group2013-05-07
      • Helpful (636)

        "Very heads-down"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at UnitedHealth Group for more than a year

        Pros

        I will preface this review with a statement you need to heed when reading this review as well as any reviews for this company -- "It depends on your area." This is a GIGANTIC company and YMMV depending on your group. Keep that in mind when reading. Anyway, I've been here only 6 months, but I think I have enough of a feel for Optum to write a review. The positives: Great work/life balance: I never have to stay...

        Show More

        Cons

        -Building seems empty because so many people WFH. It's almost kind of...sad. Such a nice building but no one is there. -Internet explorer is the browser of choice. Yuck. You have to have special permissions to download Google Chrome or Firefox on your computer. -If you like socializing with your coworkers, this is NOT a place for you! I can't stress that enough!! You will NOT meet your new BFF here. Everyone is...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Get some org charts!

        UnitedHealth Group2015-08-13

        UnitedHealth Group Response

        September 12, 2016Enterprise Talent Community Manager

        Thank you for your thorough review! Yes, UnitedHealth Group is a hard-working company, but we also strive for work-life flexibility by having telecommute positions and work from home options. I'm happy to hear you enjoy working at the company. Judy Cater, Talent Community Manager, ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (180)

        "A place where talented individuals thrive and are pushed for further growth and advancement"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Financial Underwriter in Minnetonka, MN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Professionalism amongst peers Beautiful work atmosphere and environment Feeling that the work you do is making a difference Driven people are rewarded and recognized Ample room for growth and career development Learning opportunities Huge company with tons of different business areas Unbelievable benefits High compensation

        Cons

        Long interview process—but makes sense as they are looking for certain people Lots of change—great for those who can handle it and like change

        UnitedHealth Group2017-12-03

        UnitedHealth Group Response

        December 4, 2017Enterprise Talent Community Manager

        Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad that you have found growth and development within your roles. Sincerely, Erika Cassidy, Sr. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

      Found 9251 reviews