Workday Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Workday Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1217 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
866 Ratings
Pros
  • "At Workday one of the core values are(in 218 reviews)

  • "Work life balance & employee well being is empahsised(in 129 reviews)

Cons
  • "Proprietary language might not carry over well into different career paths(in 34 reviews)

  • "This might be because it's based in Pleasanton(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and continued focus on it

    Cons

    career paths lacking for some divisions

    Workday2018-01-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor HR Governance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product, Customer Care, Location, Snacks,

    Cons

    Brand awareness, hr management and governance

    Advice to Management

    Improve sales coaching and hire sales managers with sales management experience

    Workday2019-08-23
  3. Helpful (24)

    "AVOID AT ALL COSTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some really nice people. HCM product set is great.

    Cons

    Seriously where to start. Easily the worst company I have ever worked for in my life. Workday has employed a management layer of people with Narcissistic Personality Disorder. You will be micromanaged to the nth degree, and even though you have been completely dis-empowered you will still be blamed when things don't work out based on decisions you didn't even make. Avoid this toxic company.

    Advice to Management

    My view is that you are aware of the problem, however are not moving fast enough to resolve this culture destroying issue. Good luck.

    Workday2018-06-19
  4. "Great Product. Great People."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product supported by a great team of people. Continuous innovation means that you are always at the cutting edge of technology. Everyone works as a team with a common objective of earning customer satisfaction and building the business.

    Cons

    Growing very quickly and very focussed on numbers, sometimes at the expense of core values. Operates in a hyper competitive environment. Frequent change of territories can be disruptive and unsettling.

    Workday2017-12-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Presales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best company I've ever worked for with a very humble, understated and intelligent CEO. Amazing autonomy and trust which is a great way to foster loyalty and hard work. Very capable, passionate and fun team members.

    Cons

    Employees don't always feel they can express their ideas. There can also be limited investment in, and limited scope for, growth. There are also some amazingly skilled team members that would love to be doing more, but are pigeon holed and/or not supported to grow.

    Advice to Management

    I'd like to see management be receptive to ideas from staff. Also, please support your team members growth in the organization so they can maximize both their potential, and their contribution to Workday.

    Workday2017-12-25
  6. "Great Global Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Workday is growing fast in the markets outside the US and providing good career opportunities in many new geographies markets. Good opportunities in sales, services and support in the field operation. Teams in new markets get to work across multiple functional areas.

    Cons

    Working in offices outside of the corporate headquarters can be a challenge, but the management team does make the effort to communicate to and visit remote offices.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the focus on employees and customers, as well as growth outside of North America.

    Workday2016-12-28
  7. "Still Having Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    Workday has been a great place to work for many years. Dave and Aneel have done a tremendous job creating a culture of high customer satisfaction, beating our competition, and making Workday a fun and rewarding place to work.

    Cons

    Workday does still seem to lag the market in compensation. I wouldn't go so far so as to say Workday has become "too bureaucratic" but it is experiencing the changes that come with rapid and successful growth that make it sometimes seem less nimble than it used to be.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up and don't slow down. Keep the innovation going as quickly as possible. Don't let the growth and success change the attitude and approach that got Workday where it is.

    Workday2016-06-15

    Workday Response

    June 21, 2016Workday Representative

    We really appreciate your feedback. Thanks for the review!

  8. "Amazing Culture and Workspace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    really unique culture that prioritizes employee happiness, fun and uplifting work environment, rapidly growing company, relatively high paychecks, a lot of training opportunities

    Cons

    big learning curve for proprietary language (Xpresso), Xpresso can be unintuitive for people used to coding in regular coding languages

    Workday2019-08-22
  9. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Munich, Bavaria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Core Value of the company are employees. That's not just written, it's real live. Great product, great strategy.

    Cons

    Not found any, yet. :-) Every day a great experience. Everybody is more than supportive.

    Workday2019-08-21
  10. "Software Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited pto, fully stocked kitchen, free beer, unlimited soda/snacks, 401K, company events, free gym membership, Great Place To Work #4

    Cons

    No catered lunch (regularly) which sucks! Benefits are above average for tech though

    Workday2019-08-22
Found 1217 reviews