Bancroft Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Bancroft President Toni Pergolin (no image)
Toni Pergolin
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Making a difference in the individual life(in 15 reviews)

  • "Bancroft is committed to furthering your education & career development - tuition reimbursement & loan repayment programs(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "understaffed, low pay, not appreciated and stressful(in 8 reviews)

  • "Higher ups will not step in when you ask for help, they wait until something terrible happens to assist(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Clinical Associate 

    I have been working at Bancroft full-time

    Pros

    You are well taken care of

    Cons

    Getting hurt by the kids

    Bancroft2020-05-28
  2. "The aftermath of how I was treated wasn't worth it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Paraprofessional in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bancroft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very diverse... always challenging ..you learn alot about yourself and what truly matters to you worked with many caring people

    Cons

    You are a pawn and the upper adminstration in education campus residential all work together so they keep their positions and are never the fallout

    Continue reading
    Bancroft2020-05-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Beware of false promises, unethical and dangerous place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Swedesboro, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bancroft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the students , learned what NOT to do by watching how unethical this corporation is .

    Cons

    unethical, group home facilities are unsanitary, false promises. No training at all, no support from management. beware of false promises you see on their website regarding "tuition reimbursement"

    Continue reading
    Bancroft2020-05-04
  4. "It’s okay"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Program Associate in Cherry Hill, NJ

    I have been working at Bancroft full-time

    Pros

    Good People, nice environment, room for Improvement

    Cons

    Pay, long hours, workload, lack of teamwork

    Bancroft2020-04-09
  5. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bancroft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Room for advancement, Paid training

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say

    Bancroft2020-03-14
  6. "Best Overral Care for PS, Staff are Forgotten"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Associate in Voorhees, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bancroft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well Known, Great Facilities, Policy Enforcer

    Cons

    Management do not care about staff

    Continue reading
    Bancroft2020-01-12
  7. "Not worth it"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Program Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bancroft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great clients, self-fulfilling, decent pay

    Cons

    Management don’t care, not very accommodating to employees

    Bancroft2020-01-18
  8. "Positive Culture for Helping Change Happen"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ABA Specialist- P& A Transitional Campus- Mt Laurel in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bancroft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being part of helping others succeed. If you are unsure if your current job makes you feel good about your role in the world, or if you have ever believed in someone whom others doubted , this job is for you. I go home every day knowing that I did something right, and it honestly feels good no matter what I had dealt with. The culture- employees really care and support one another. More importantly, everyone checks in on each others units to see how those living in them are succeeding. The clients ( individuals supported) are able to live with a HUGE support system. Someone joked that everyone that lives on campus has 20 cousins, and they are right. Leadership- It is very fair, but you need to do your job. If you want to help others, you WILL grow in this company. If you do not, you WILL stick out like a sore thumb. Behavioral data needs to be filled out ( it is used in many many ways), you need to get to work ON TIME, and most importantly, you need to interact with those you work with. Leadership has done a great job of not only creating a culture of openness, but also creating high standards over the past 3.5 years. This has helped the individuals living on campus achieve success sooner, and has helped everyone live and work in safety. Our director fights everyday (including weekends) for those that live on campus, and leadership helps staff out in ways I have never heard of before, especially coming from a more corporate background. Driving staff to work, bringing food just because, working the time clock, shooting emails to let them know they noticed a behavior plan being ran perfectly, giftcards, you name it. If you want to work and do what you say, you will gain not only great co workers, but friends. When I first started nearly five years ago, the management team then was competent at best. I will say that the leadership team on Campus currently is amazing, and I know for a fact other programs envy the teamwork and relationships Campus has built. And it is all centered on putting those everyone serves ( the clients) first. Education- Bancroft offers so many things to help students or those looking to join the field of behavior analysis. I started as a direct support professional four years ago, and now I have my masters in applied psychology and am studying to take my boards to be a BCBA. All because of Bancroft and the support services they have. Tuition reimbursement? Yes please. Plus school is held on the same campus I work on, so no commute. Health benefits- Probably the best dental insurance I will ever know. Health care options are varied, but all options are decent at worst. Bancroft takes care of their own. Take advantage of it. Being data driven. Most if not all decisions are based on the behavioral data taken by direct support professionals. This also makes direct support professionals involvement in plan creation extremely important. You will have a voice in how plans are ran, but you need to take the data. Bancroft only uses interventions that are evidence based, typically involving the natural science of behavior analysis. I came to Bancroft completely unaware of what this was, except for maybe hearing about Pavlov and Skinner on an episode of Big Bang Theory. I am now fully invested in the science because it works. I have seen guys with hardly any communication skills begin to use pictures to ask for things they want, to form sentences about where they can get those things, to requesting staff to ask for things no one would ever assume they would like. I have seen extremely aggressive individuals smiling while following schedules full of things that parents and loved ones would have never suggested. I have seen very picky eaters eat broccoli. By choice. What I have learned is that as long as there is consistency in a behavior plan, success will follow. When there is consistency, it enables the team to rule things in as well as rule things out. Many of Bancroft's head clinicians are published authors in highly esteemed scientific journals, which makes your job exciting in knowing you are potentially contributing to a study that might help others elsewhere.

    Cons

    First, let me be very clear. This career and population is not for everyone. Behaviors are wide ranging in form, function, and intensity. I have been hit, kicked, punched, gotten feces on me, bit, been involved in numerous physical restraints ( sometimes consecutively), cursed at, and chased. I have witnessed someone put their head through a glass van window, and some one else who bite their arm until they were bleeding. The individuals who live on campus are there for many reasons. All of those reasons are serious. If you lack patience, take things personally, are lazy, or cannot put yourself in another's shoes, THIS CAREER IS NOT FOR YOU. And that is okay. Just be honest with yourself. I am being honest, because I only want those who like to challenge themselves to step forward. But if you feel like you might be able to handle it, DO IT. You will not regret it. What I will add though, is even with all of the behaviors above that I have dealt with, I am still in love with Bancroft and the P& A Campus. Sometimes knowing you have support or having someone check in with you makes all the difference. You will need to be decisive. Sometimes the reason why someone is doing something is not clear AT ALL. It is during these times that you need to be consistent and only do things that are approved via the behavior plans. You are working to fix problems, not to encourage them or turn a blind eye to them. You can not hide behind a cubicle or desk. Your work entails working with those with disabilities and deficits in communication., and everything is on video for the clients safety. Your job is to create ways for that person to succeed. That means you cannot be listening to music via earbuds, watching the game on your phone, or catching up with your long lost uncle via facetime on shift. Management has little leeway with these things, as you are essentially not doing your job description. There is a uniform, if that matters. You need to KNOW what to do. You will be trained on function based plans, and will be expected to run behavioral interventions all the time Not every other day, not when you feel like it, not when it is convenient. All the time. Which is why Bancroft is so good at what it does. But leadership, specifically my position of ABA (Applied Behavior Analysis) Specialist, checks to make sure interventions are being ran consistently. The behavior plans are like a treatment using medication....it will not work if it is not consistent. In short, you will be held accountable. Weekend shifts- They are long. I know, I worked them. But they also permit multiple days off, so to some of you it might not be a con. Behavior Analytic language. It is very specific, very precise, but it also can sound like mumbo jumbo to the everyday ear. It is only is used due to the clinical aspect of Bancroft's work, but it could be off putting to some in a "are they talking down to me?" sort of way. Ask what someone means if you don't understand, no one will blame you for not knowing Parents. It needs to be said that some of those living on campus ( and likely everywhere else in Bancroft and beyond) exhibit problem behaviors due to parents not understanding cause and effect relationships. Again, I said "some", not all. These relationships are then uncovered at Bancroft, and plans are created to treat them. It can be VERY frustrating to stick to a plan, see success, and then have a parent come visit and essentially mess everything up that day. It can get to you if you let it. Parents do not see ( or necessarily want to see) all of the frustrating sessions and instances of difficulty staff go through when working with their sons or daughters. Parents are parents first, therapists last. Parents sometimes treat with love, and as the phrase goes, love is usually blind. They may also have been victim to very serious aggression or emotional trauma by their own son or daughter, as well as an infinite number of other reasons, so be mindful. Be respectful and empathetic. This is sometimes a point of contention due to the often emotional extremes found in the conversations, which is why I mark it as a "Con". You may as a staff have to have polite, professional discussions that are very uncomfortable. Differ to a member of leadership if you are not confident.

    Continue reading
    Bancroft2019-12-09
  9. "Great Place to work and grow!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bancroft full-time

    Pros

    People are very caring, working at school is the best. You get to learn constantly and get sense of accomplishment. New principal is very detail-oriented and very kind. He will show you that he cares about you. We are hiring high quality teachers right now! Come and see for yourself how you can build your career here. Our environment i also a leader in Applied Behavior Analysis. If you have plans to grow in this area, we prepare best BCBAs/teachers.

    Cons

    challenging, stressful, high turnover - but typical in this field

    Continue reading
    Bancroft2019-12-07

    Bancroft Response

    December 10, 2019Director, Employee Services

    Thank you for your feedback!

  10. "Unique setting with an outstanding clinical team to learn from"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist @ NeuroRehab in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bancroft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Several routes for personal and professional development. Program development opportunities. Collaborative team approach. Unique population with residential, day, and outpatient programs.

    Cons

    Many meetings due to increased interdisciplinary involvement.

    Bancroft2019-12-06
Found 168 reviews