British Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

British Red Cross Reviews

Updated 7 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Michael Adamson
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice Friendly Colleagues, easy to commute, good work life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "Worked with some lovely well meaning people who want to make a difference to people's lives(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "They are after all a charity organisation(in 14 reviews)

  • "Support from senior management was weak at times(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "sores operative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    brilliant people who do good work to help sick people

    Cons

    I have gained a degree in a field I want to move on to

    Advice to Management

    help people climb the corporate ladder always encourage staff to train and improve within the company

    British Red Cross2019-05-07
  2. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at British Red Cross part-time

      Pros

      Great staff, gives you customer service and retail experience

      Cons

      Often there's nothing to do, can be quite slow

      British Red Cross2019-05-01
    • "Doing good work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Refugee Support 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      You are genuinely helping people and you're working with incredibly smart, talented, kind people from various backgrounds.

      Cons

      Pay is terrible, and jobs can be very stressful.

      Advice to Management

      Pay better!

      British Red Cross2019-04-11
    • "Could Engage More"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Red Cross part-time

      Pros

      They do great research; be part of your community.

      Cons

      No overall structure, so possibility of poor management by middle managers.

      British Red Cross2019-04-21
    • "Retail assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at British Red Cross part-time

      Pros

      Get to work with others as a team along with getting to know the customers

      Cons

      Not always having enough volunteers on

      British Red Cross2019-03-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly Staff but unorganised"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at British Red Cross full-time

      Pros

      Friendly staff and decent pay

      Cons

      unorganised training process and lack of connection with management

      British Red Cross2019-03-07
    • "Nice place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at British Red Cross part-time

        Pros

        Nice atmosphere and manager. Always something to do

        Cons

        None I can think of

        British Red Cross2019-03-01
      • Helpful (1)

        "Dated organisation with massive lack of diversity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at British Red Cross full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great international and local work. Lots of emergency fundraising appeals. Great volunteers in the services.

        Cons

        No opportunity for progression or development. No diversity within the organisation. Terrible management

        Advice to Management

        Better organisation and support for staff. Make efforts to improve diversity of staff, many rooms are full of only white faces, is unacceptable and not helpful in moving forward and updating the organisation.

        British Red Cross2019-03-08
      • "Great project"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Administrator 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at British Red Cross part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working for an organisation that supports people in difficult situations. e.g. elderly people, refugees, children, etc

        Cons

        Hierarchical old-fashioned structure, difficult to progress within the organisation

        Advice to Management

        Be more open to suggestions from staff

        British Red Cross2019-02-18
      • "BRC"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at British Red Cross full-time

          Pros

          Great Values, principles and people

          Cons

          Corporate centre dominates the organisation

          Advice to Management

          Decentralise

          British Red Cross2019-02-13
        Found 151 reviews