Ellucian Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Ellucian Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 576 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ellucian CEO Laura Ipsen
Laura Ipsen
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Perks of the job include flexibility in being able to work from home(in 47 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is largely a personal challenge(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Moving to cloud was a very confusing rhing, did not have proper organisation(in 22 reviews)

  • "The volume of work can make keeping a healthy work-life balance in place(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Application Security Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Security Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Awesome place to work and learn about DevSecOps. - Highly skilled/technical co-workers in Dev and QA streams. - Clear road map for all product development - Strong leadership and management team - Great work life balance with work from home options available.

    Cons

    - Annual company hikes can be improved

    Ellucian2019-06-01
  2. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - No micromanaging - Decent benefits for beginners

    Cons

    - Management talks a lot about cloud being the future. But employees supporting traditional solutions are not given enough information.

    Ellucian2019-05-31
  3. "Solid Company in a Highly Volatile Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Chief Information Officer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good management and very talented colleagues Everyone seems to really care about the higher education industry

      Cons

      Somewhat disconnected from HQ in these roles Higher education going through a lot of turmoil right now

      Advice to Management

      Focus on executing the company's cloud strategy Make sure benefits snafus get fixed immediately by vendors

      Ellucian2019-05-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Wish it was still sct"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Principal DevOps Engineer 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      i loved it when it was sct

      Cons

      i hated it after the merger and it was no longer sct

      Advice to Management

      i wish it could just go back to being sct again

      Ellucian2019-06-05
    • "Senior Technical Writer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time

      Pros

      The best environment to work, excellent team support, and unbelievable management.

      Cons

      I really felt there are no cons

      Ellucian2019-05-17
    • "Very good company to work with and benefits are awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ellucian full-time

      Pros

      Good salary good management good people

      Cons

      No cons as i remember

      Ellucian2019-05-15
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - QA Analyst in Cholula, Puebla
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A lot of benefits, perks and flexibility.

      Cons

      You don't usually work with the latest technologies.

      Ellucian2019-05-15
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Director in Remote, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Collaborative Team! Great insight into customers needs.

      Cons

      No real room for advancement.

      Ellucian2019-05-15
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Use of latest Technologies, Flexibility, Exposure to Client facing engagements

      Cons

      Lack of emphasis on Quality at times

      Ellucian2019-05-15
    • "Right Direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Software Developer in Reston, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The company is heading in the right direction. The CEO is the best the company has had in the last 13 years. There is significant investment in improving the software and services. The talent pool is good with a many years of experience in higher education as the company's sole focus. There is also a strong community of end users. The schedule is very flexible, at least for developers. You can work from home...

      Show More

      Cons

      Carrying around legacy software of a 30+ year old company. Supporting many different deployment configurations for on-premises clients. Higher Ed, in general, is slow to adopt new technology.

      Advice to Management

      Keep investing in product improvements. The SaaS offerings are the future of the company.

      Ellucian2019-05-12
    Found 576 reviews