Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hays Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2586 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1302 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours but can be rewarding(in 418 reviews)

  • "Only con is that it can sometimes be long working hours however you find that you are so busy you need them(in 125 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Team of the year 2018/19 and getting better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Geelong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We have a fantastic team of 15 in Geelong and growing, with an office expansion set for late 2019. We have opened a brand new Ballarat office in Nov 18 with 3 people and are set to open Bendigo in Oct 19 with 2 people. Such a great culture, supportive, collaborative and high achieving.

    Cons

    I work five minutes from home and five minutes from the beach, no CONS from me!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Hays2019-08-01
  2. "Great opportunities for consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Brisbane
    Recommends

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hays have a fantastic career path for consultants and the best training in the industry. Systems are far better than any other agency and the time and money spent on continuously updating the systems is amazing. There are some great perks - wellness days, Hays rewards, the Entertainment Book. Generally there is a fantastic culture in each office, positive and inclusive.

    Cons

    Salaries are lower than most other agencies, there are limited opportunities for support staff outside of head office, very long working hours and working from home or flexibility with hours is limited / not encouraged.

    Hays2019-08-13
  3. "Hays is a large recuiment agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    time is flexible, good support

    Cons

    have to travle alot. have to wake up early answering phone calls

    Hays2019-07-30
  4. "Can’t fault it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Geelong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and systems for those new to recruitment. Career progression opportunities given scope and scale of organisation. Lots of perks and incentives for top performers at all levels. Meritocratic organisation. Industry leading tools to leverage.

    Cons

    Agency recruitment is a sales role, so those that don’t enjoy having targets (like most organisations) or those that arent willing to invest in their own training/put in effort early won’t last very long.

    Advice to Management

    Consider different options for People Leaders that are still high performers - leverage their people skills first and foremost.

    Hays2019-07-30
  5. "Great place to work I have learnt so much since being there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team spirt and so much support to grow and learn. I have loved me time there and will be sad to leave.

    Cons

    No flexibility to work from home.

    Hays2019-07-27
  6. "Looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shot Firer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    As a recruitment agency very well performing, the employee not the client is always in consideration

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Hays2019-07-22
  7. "A great introduction to recruitment life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent support and training to learn and succeed

    Cons

    Rigid rules and conditions

    Advice to Management

    Allow some flexibility and enter the 21st century

    Hays2019-08-05
  8. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good vibe, free drinks, easy going

    Cons

    brunch of uk working holiday workers

    Hays2019-07-20
  9. "Best start to my career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training, encouraging culture, motivating targets, rewarding position and career progression. Management is absolutely incredible .

    Cons

    Standard work hours are 47.5 .. most weeks you do 50+

    Advice to Management

    Allow more schedule flexibility

    Hays2019-07-19
  10. "Loved the people just expect too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team of people and excellent training

    Cons

    Very number driven and terrible salary for all the work that's expected

    Advice to Management

    There is a reason people constantly leave your business. Maybe invest some time to find out why and change it. You are losing many gems

    Hays2019-07-30
Found 2586 reviews