Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Hays Reviews

Updated 19 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,238 Ratings
Pros
  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 139 reviews)

  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 137 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours but can be rewarding(in 431 reviews)

  • "Only con is that it can sometimes be long working hours however you find that you are so busy you need them(in 128 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Team of the year 2018/19 and getting better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Geelong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We have a fantastic team of 15 in Geelong and growing, with an office expansion set for late 2019. We have opened a brand new Ballarat office in Nov 18 with 3 people and are set to open Bendigo in Oct 19 with 2 people. Such a great culture, supportive, collaborative and high achieving.

    Cons

    I work five minutes from home and five minutes from the beach, no CONS from me!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Hays2019-08-01

    Hays Response

    September 10, 2019HR Coordinator

    We are thrilled to hear about your 5 star experience with Hays and highlighting our continued growth and our supportive, meritocratic culture! Thank you for your review and for sharing a snapshot of your Hays Story so far.

  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, team and company culture, support and guidance to succeed. As long as you do what your managers say and ask questions and help you will get the results

    Cons

    Base salary low, although there is commission it can take a few months to get there so its keeping that in mind.

    Hays2019-10-14
  3. "A good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonus incentive, relaxed work environment

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Hays2019-10-12
  4. "Long term career opportunities and great at celebrating success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long term career progression opportunities and great at celebrating success. Very supportive Senior Management.

    Cons

    Luckily my team has a fantastic culture, but I know the culture isn't necessarily consistent throughout the entire business as a whole.

    Advice to Management

    I happen to have one of the best managers within the business, who also happens to be the best manager I've had throughout my entire career. I've learnt so much from my manager and he has enabled me to create my own management style, which without his help I wouldn't have been capable of doing.

    Hays2019-10-09
  5. "Great place to start your corporate sales career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training, development opportunities, culture, people.

    Cons

    As with any business, there are those who sit within management positions that are very out of touch and deluded. Have seen many good consultant leave the business due to poor management styles.

    Advice to Management

    Don't stop investing in management. Give managers open and honest feedback via exit interviews & etc instead of "protecting them" but telling them only what they want to hear.

    Hays2019-09-23
  6. "Hit and miss depending on the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the teams have a great culture and it’s a very success driven company. Most managers are flexible and supportive as well. It’s a great place to work for a backpacker as the work doesn’t follow you home and you’re surrounded by other backpackers so you make friends easily. You can move around easily as well.

    Cons

    The pay is well below other agencies and work from home is not an option for the full time staff. For consultants, the commission is quite hard to build up so they don’t earn too much. It can be quite hard to fit in sometimes as it’s mostly people from the UK and understandably there are cultural differences but after time, it gets better.

    Advice to Management

    Take more time to look after your admin/support staff as they are the backbone of the company. Whether it be better pay or more rewards/incentives, we feel left out a lot of the time.

    Hays2019-10-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team culture- people Hays recruit are always same type, funny,outgoing and sociable

    Cons

    Base pay is not great, takes a long time to build commission. Dont get to pick what you recruit for, training is not what its cracked up to be. Long hours and no flexibility

    Hays2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing team culture operationally, and there is a lot of support when you're successful

    Cons

    Cabal of leadership hasn't changed in many years and is stagnant. You won't see much of the money you earn for Hays.

    Advice to Management

    Innovation requires risk and trying new things.

    Hays2019-09-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Celebrating Success is never a downfall; Adaptablity to employees and local market needs improving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, make a lot of good friends, good starting point for a sales career, celebrate success really well - name is up in lights if you are a high performer and it is motivating.

    Cons

    No flexibility what so ever, no working from home, very rigid hours and days (if your in 15 min later; being asked to stay back 30 mins; giving up lunch breaks for meetings because your boss says you have to), clock-watching, micromanagement even to high performers sometimes, majority of managers don't have the required skillset to be a manager, if you are not from the UK; when you speak about flexibility or asking... them not to micro-manage when unnecessary, they just say 'this is how we do it in the UK but' - not very adaptable to the Australian market.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Pro's at Hays are huge and really needs to be reinforced, however the Cons at this stage heavily outweigh the pros. Take people seriously when they have concerns, don't make people managers because they are high billers, genuinely get a professional in to analyse or discuss certain questions with them to allow them to be deemed a competent manager (maybe more training), adapt to your market - you are NOT in the... UK. You are in Australia, therefore; invest in understanding this market and be more adaptable.

    Show More
    Hays2019-09-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great while on WHV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lovely bunch of people to work with for 6 months.

    Cons

    For me, too target driven.

    Hays2019-09-08

    Hays Response

    September 10, 2019HR Coordinator

    We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying our team environment. Thank you for sharing your feedback and all the best with your future career.

Found 2373 reviews
</>Embed