Hays Reviews

Updated 4 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,390 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are lots of incentives to work towards eg race days or office parties, very sociable and young working environment 'work hard play hard'(in 148 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and training also good career progression, great people(in 147 reviews)

Cons
  • "Developing a successful career as an agency Recruiter does require long hours at times(in 467 reviews)

  • "I would say just the working hours(in 132 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic Culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager in Sydney

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    High performance Culture with a passion for service delivery

    Cons

    None. This is a fantastic place to work

  2. "Good stepping stone company"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Recuriter in Canberra

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    there is Good people good training

    Cons

    Only care about the money, and you are very replaceable.

    Hays Response

    July 26, 2020HR Advisor ANZ

    Thank you for you feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our industry leading training and the culture here at Hays. We are disappointed that your feedback does not align with our philosophy that people sit at the heart of our business and our commitment to putting people first. We would like to explore your feedback further and invite you to participate in an exit interview if you have not already done so. Please contact our HR Advisor Danielle Marshall at Danielle.Marshall@hays.com.au if you would like to organise an interview.


  3. COVID-19

    "Over it - demoralising and degrading"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you carry the right handbag/have the right husband you will get invited out with the cool group and be protected by management. If you’re a cool girl, you can do no wrong. They handled covid well

    Cons

    Being a non-fee earner at Hays is the most demoralising and degrading job I have ever had. This business is built around the work of fee earners, we all understand that. But some credit must be given to the cogs that turn behind the scenes. Instead we are regularly spoken to like dirt. Eye rolls from consultants to management when we don’t do something quick enough or to a high enough standard. We’re given totally unreasonable deadlines and expectations. We’re asked to be professionals and experts but paid absolute pittance and given no opportunities for upskilling or career paths. Given the responsibility to CLEAN high traffic areas multiple times a day because of COVID but then SENIOR MANAGERS come in SICK.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good culture"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in Sydney

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and social side to the company. Very supportive in career growth

    Cons

    Sometimes quite restricted, not easy to be overly innovative

  5. "Great place to learn the art of recruitment"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Sydney

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Invest a lot in initial training and invest in the culture

    Cons

    Make more money else where! Sometimes very cloak and dagger

    Hays Response

    July 3, 2020HR Advisor ANZ

    We appreciate your review and are pleased to see that you have enjoyed our strong culture and industry leading training. Your feedback is not reflective of our transparent commission structure that allows employees unlimited earning potential based on performance or our inclusive culture and commitment to open communication. If you would like to provide further feedback, please contact Danielle, our HR Advisor at Danielle.Marshall@hays.com.au.

  6. "Review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - BDM in Sydney

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff and autonomous culture

    Cons

    No cons to leave here

    Hays Response

    July 3, 2020HR Advisor ANZ

    We are delighted to hear of your positive experience working at Hays and more specifically your appreciation of our friendly team and autonomous culture. Thank you for your feedback, and best of luck with your career at Hays!

  7. "Hays (Sydney)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM in Sydney

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are very professional and quick in converting opportunity.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow on emails and returning calls

    Hays Response

    July 3, 2020HR Advisor ANZ

    Thank you for your review - we are glad to hear that you are enjoying providing exceptional service to our clients and candidates. If you feel there are opportunities to improve this further, we encourage you to provide your feedback to your manager.

  8. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work. Strong, supportive and approachable management team. Great work life balance

    Cons

    Can be intense at times. Work hard Play hard environment

    Hays Response

    April 15, 2020HR Advisor ANZ

    We are delighted to hear about your experience with Hays, highlighting our supportive and meritocratic culture. Thank you for sharing your feedback and all the best for the future.

  9. "Good base salary and support"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training and big data base

    Cons

    threshold and 4 week periods are difficult as explanations are a bit blurred

    Continue reading

    Hays Response

    March 17, 2020HR Advisor ANZ

    We are pleased that you have had the opportunity to experience Hays’ industry leading training and resources first hand. At Hays, we are proud of our fair and transparent pay structure. We recommend speaking to your Manager or Regional Director to clarify the queries you have mentioned.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Recuriter"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any really except some but not all good colleagues.

    Cons

    Racist company and bad management, no trust. I don't recommend anyone to deal with this company.

    Hays Response

    April 15, 2020HR Advisor ANZ

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at Hays. Hays is committed to creating a diverse and inclusive culture - your feedback does not reflect Hays’ values or general practices and we invite you to an exit interview to provide your feedback. If you would like to participate, please contact Danielle Marshall, our HR Advisor at Danielle.Marshall@hays.com.au.

Found 2432 reviews
</>Embed