Kool Smiles Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Kool Smiles Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 269 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "We stand behind our core values and make decisions through our priority pledge and work to give the best service while providing quality dental care(in 18 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership understand clinical issues and concerns because they are dentists themselves(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset(in 13 reviews)

  • "Scheduling from the call center would become a problem due to not scheduling considerately(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Race issues and favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time

    Pros

    Learn to work at fast pace and meet different doctors.

    Cons

    Low salary, different rules weekly, management lies to employees and the allow the patients to do whatever in order to get the money for treatment. Blatent racism/favoritism at the final location i worked at. They only want to pay the minimum, but expect us to run around the office like crazy. Wants us to see late and rude patients and cram patients into the schedule.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-07-14
  2. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging and supportive work environment

    Cons

    Can’t really think of any

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-06-11
  3. "Get ready to work for a year of two then find a new job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Christiansburg, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with. They were young, fun, and overall tried to make the office a nice place to be.

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid would basically sum up my qualms with this position. High volume offices regularly missed lunch and worked late. The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset. It all came down to poor scheduling. It was not uncommon to have 10 patients scheduled an hour in hygiene and only 6 chairs with the next hour having no patients. If they just shortened the columns then patients would be more equally distributed throughout the day.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-05-03
  4. "A good place to start out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Contrary to popular belief, the care about their patient and push for quality care

    Cons

    Untrained assistants. And Workplace drama.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-04-27
  5. "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Patient Coordinator 

    I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employees, flexible schedule, easy going

    Cons

    Same work every day, very little pay, work can get boring

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-04-04
  6. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Gentilly, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Place you can grow

    Cons

    Everything they said they would do they didn’t No team work

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-04-05
  7. "Good pay and benefits but poor employee moral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Hygienist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits for full time employees; at least 32 hrs/wk is considered full time. Good pay and yearly reviews are conducted to seek the chance to increase pay.

    Cons

    Poor employee moral because everyone is over worked. Poor employee retention. Quantity is emphasized over quality care. Always understaffed.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-03-05
  8. "RDA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    made life long friends i still stay in contact with

    Cons

    managment changed often, so did rules

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-03-01
  9. "Dental Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    To provide dentistry to less fortunate children.

    Cons

    I didn't feel a team work environment.

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-03-27
  10. "Expanded Duties DA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company for students out of school and will send you for expanded duties.

    Cons

    Pay and poor management

    Continue reading
    Kool Smiles2019-02-15
Found 269 reviews