Kool Smiles Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Kool Smiles Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 268 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Dale Mayfield & Dr. David Vieth
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "We stand behind our core values and make decisions through our priority pledge and work to give the best service while providing quality dental care(in 18 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership understand clinical issues and concerns because they are dentists themselves(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset(in 13 reviews)

  • "Scheduling from the call center would become a problem due to not scheduling considerately(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Challenging and supportive work environment

    Cons

    Can’t really think of any

    Kool Smiles2019-06-11
  2. "Get ready to work for a year of two then find a new job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Christiansburg, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with. They were young, fun, and overall tried to make the office a nice place to be.

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid would basically sum up my qualms with this position. High volume offices regularly missed lunch and worked late. The dentists were struggling to keep up with the patient load making the wait times ridiculous and patients upset. It all came down to poor scheduling. It was not uncommon to have 10 patients scheduled an hour in hygiene and only 6 chairs with the next hour having no patients. If they...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix your scheduling!! It will help you keep your staff!

    Kool Smiles2019-05-03
  3. "A good place to start out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kool Smiles full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Contrary to popular belief, the care about their patient and push for quality care

    Cons

    Untrained assistants. And Workplace drama.

    Advice to Management

    Train assistants well. Investigate work place issues properly before taking sides.

    Kool Smiles2019-04-27
  4. "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Patient Coordinator 

      I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good employees, flexible schedule, easy going

      Cons

      Same work every day, very little pay, work can get boring

      Kool Smiles2019-04-04
    • "Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Gentilly, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Place you can grow

      Cons

      Everything they said they would do they didn’t No team work

      Kool Smiles2019-04-05
    • "Good pay and benefits but poor employee moral"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Dental Hygienist 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Kool Smiles part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits for full time employees; at least 32 hrs/wk is considered full time. Good pay and yearly reviews are conducted to seek the chance to increase pay.

      Cons

      Poor employee moral because everyone is over worked. Poor employee retention. Quantity is emphasized over quality care. Always understaffed.

      Advice to Management

      Increase staff to lessen work load. Amount of patients expected to be seen should reflect amount of staff accordingly. Train OM and Area Business Leaders to be better leaders/supervisors.

      Kool Smiles2019-03-05
    • "RDA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Kool Smiles full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        made life long friends i still stay in contact with

        Cons

        managment changed often, so did rules

        Kool Smiles2019-03-01
      • "Dental Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Dental Assistant in Evansville, IN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Kool Smiles full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        To provide dentistry to less fortunate children.

        Cons

        I didn't feel a team work environment.

        Kool Smiles2019-03-27
      • "Expanded Duties DA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Kool Smiles full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good company for students out of school and will send you for expanded duties.

          Cons

          Pay and poor management

          Kool Smiles2019-02-15
        • "Horrible"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Patient Coordinator in Shreveport, LA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at Kool Smiles part-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          Working with the patients, and doing the job itself is awesome. It's just the evil low down people working there.

          Cons

          The staff and horrible reports on the company

          Advice to Management

          Stop being evil & showing favoritism, because those are the ones that talks about you badly. Also, you should stop trying to treat people differently, because of their special needs or just simply because they are being themselves.

          Kool Smiles2019-02-20
        Found 268 reviews