Thiess Reviews

Updated 12 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Thiess Managing Director Bruce Munro
Bruce Munro
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be long hours dependent on culture(in 7 reviews)

  • "Excessive working hours, roster, poor work - life balance(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I had some of the best years of my career with Thiess. I was given some amazing opportunities"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Thiess

    Pros

    Opportunity for personal growth and development The chance to diversify your skill set and develop a broad scope of knowledge

    Cons

    The usual " purple circle" mentality, though less than some places as at least you get the chance to speak your mind

    Continue reading
    Thiess2019-12-11
  2. "Good but can improve"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Mechanical Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People were amazing Job variety was also good with varying experiences.

    Cons

    Not always accommodating for personal situations Opportunities for flexible work arrangements is stunted.

    Thiess2020-05-12
  3. "Opportunity at a cost"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Mining Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to multiple commodities and mining methods

    Cons

    Disconnection between sites and headoffice Comparatively low salary

    Thiess2020-03-11
  4. "Civil Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Work less then in construction

    Cons

    Work Away, Don't know how to undertake construction activities

    Thiess2020-03-02
  5. "Nice Company civil work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Administrator in Rockingham
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A yearly bonus is great

    Cons

    work ended at project and no more work

    Thiess2020-02-25
  6. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst 

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They look after you, good benefits

    Cons

    Structured and beaucratic work place

    Thiess2019-09-06
  7. "Thiess Industrial Projects Upstream"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Surat
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that looks after its staff and workforce alike.

    Cons

    Unfortunately taken over by CIMIC

    Thiess2019-04-25
  8. "Good salaries"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salaries at Thiess were very good. It was quite social in the city. On site, social life would depend on the project. Was very corporate at the end and they worked you pretty hard and you did a lot of overtime, even if the pay was good. A lot of dedicated people who has been there for a long time.

    Cons

    Long hours. Was very corporate at the end and they worked you pretty hard and you did a lot of overtime, even if the pay was good.

    Continue reading
    Thiess2019-03-04
  9. "Engineering"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities and options for development. Ability to move round geographically and throughout the business and greater Cimic Group. Work with you and your personal requirements. Great supportive culture and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Sites are quite focused on their own work and thus missing some opportunity to share learnings and greater team picture.

    Continue reading
    Thiess2018-10-10
  10. "Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thiess full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits; Great work colleagues; Opportunity for career advancement - but you must wait.

    Cons

    Snr leadership is a revolving door resulting in constant directional shift. Internal bureaucracy and OTT processes has ground the business to a crawl.

    Continue reading
    Thiess2018-08-29
Found 77 reviews