Thiess Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Thiess Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Thiess CEO Bruce Munro
Bruce Munro
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, high pressure, difficult workforce, difficult client(in 7 reviews)

  • "Nothing really comes to mind, they were a great company to gain work experience with(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities and options for development. Ability to move round geographically and throughout the business and greater Cimic Group. Work with you and your personal requirements. Great supportive culture and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Sites are quite focused on their own work and thus missing some opportunity to share learnings and greater team picture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up site visits and team interactions.

    Thiess2018-10-10
  2. "Good salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salaries at Thiess were very good. It was quite social in the city. On site, social life would depend on the project. Was very corporate at the end and they worked you pretty hard and you did a lot of overtime, even if the pay was good. A lot of dedicated people who has been there for a long time.

    Cons

    Long hours. Was very corporate at the end and they worked you pretty hard and you did a lot of overtime, even if the pay was good.

    Advice to Management

    Management were slow to move on issues of harassment or bullying.

    Thiess2019-03-04
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thiess full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits; Great work colleagues; Opportunity for career advancement - but you must wait.

    Cons

    Snr leadership is a revolving door resulting in constant directional shift. Internal bureaucracy and OTT processes has ground the business to a crawl.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on agility; Incredibly slow decision making is hurting the business.

    Thiess2018-08-29
  4. "Theiss Mining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thiess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company with great culture.

    Cons

    Take over of the company changed the culture, but still a great company to have been a part of.

    Thiess2018-03-29
  5. "Good company but bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are some really nice people

    Cons

    The managers are seagulls

    Thiess2017-10-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great to kick start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great friday drinking culture. Great xmas parties. You get to work with talented consultants. Great to kick start career.

    Cons

    Not good for career progression. Always have a side project / business to offset this. Never rely on any company to provide you with experience / projects.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to keep experienced staff, provide career progression at market rates, or you can expect them to work on side projects / businesses and not be fully invested in your business.

    Thiess2017-03-30
  7. "Site Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess for more than a year

    Pros

    Great project manager/ mentor, although I think I was lucky to have this

    Cons

    Very project specific - some bad teams out there in the company

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the Engineers

    Thiess2017-03-20
  8. "Poor med-long term career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Southbank
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thiess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally strong well-established brand, although prestige losing ground quickly among the industry. Need a massive clean out of deadwood to bring back the Thiess edge.

    Cons

    A lot of time-wasting mid-level busybodies. Way too many 'mangers' who do not have a team to manage. Away from the mines, off-site staff have a generally poor awareness of the realities of running a mine. Run very much like a Government agency - years of service matter much more than quality of service. Plenty of passengers.

    Advice to Management

    Stop accepting below average performance from below average personnel.

    Thiess2017-01-31
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Thiess

      Pros

      The work environment was great.

      Cons

      Could end up being very long days.

      Thiess2016-12-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Disappointing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administration in Blackwater
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Thiess full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Trying to think of some... unfortunately my experience was very disappointing.

      Cons

      I experienced unethical site management some unsafe work environments a general lack of enthusiasm to change or comply with mandatory requirements. Bullying and Harassment were rife on the site I worked at- which at times involved some of the senior leadership team. Really one of those workplaces where they tell the workforce what it wants to hear but do the opposite behind the scenes. After voicing my concerns about...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Site management is atrocious. Constant turn-over caused mainly by this. Some staff had developed severe depression due to constant bullying. Contractors (Labour Hire) were treated like numbers. Everything looks great when regionals come to visit but they need to look a little closer...

      Thiess2016-12-14
    Found 67 reviews