Zillow Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Zillow Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 743 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "We also get a lot of vacation time which is nice, as Zillow really cares about it's employee's Work/Life balance(in 92 reviews)

  • "You can't deny that Zillow has pretty great benefits(in 56 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pac 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, culture and location

    Cons

    The hours for my role were not consistent with little autonomy

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-08-15
  2. "Great company and culture for all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to move up.

    Cons

    Not many that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-08-06

    Zillow Response

    August 8, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoyed the Company and Culture. Because taking care of associates is one of our core values, we’re always looking for ways to ensure our associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities. We strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly and respected. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  3. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow

    Pros

    Motivated teams, excellent culture, great company outlook

    Cons

    Lots changing quickly and can lead to various outcomes for both company and its employees... not for everyone but certainly for those looking for a closer to startup experience vs mature tech company experience

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-08-04

    Zillow Response

    August 5, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review - we appreciate your candid assessment. I am excited that you are confident in the outlook of the company, we are working hard to build new businesses and grow the company. If you have ideas on how we can do better please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work that has a promising outlook."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits - The benefits Zillow offers are numerous. Free snacks/drinks, gym reimbursement, time-off (vacation, parental leave), etc. Culture - Zillow really cares about its employees. There are various networks to foster a sense of belonging for marginalized groups, career development opportunities, emphasis on well-being and work-life balance, etc. I also love that despite being a mid sized company, it's still got a tech startup feel to it. Internal Mobility - Plenty of opportunities for career development. Zillow really invests in the growth of their employees. Innovation - Zillow is constantly iterating and never stagnating. I love that things are constantly changing, it really keeps you on your feet. I also really believe in the vision the company has. I see a lot of potential and Zillow definitely is not missing the opportunity to execute on it.

    Cons

    Contact-to-Hire - I started at Zillow as a contract-to-hire employee. The contract-to-hire process was the worst. Despite being identical in function to every other Zillow employee, I felt like I was treated as a 2nd class citizen while a contractor. Contractors get terrible benefits, are excluded from certain events/activities, and when you are finally converted you lose your hire date - so all the time you spent as a contractor doesn't count. One thing that really made me feel excluded as a contractor was the fact I didn't get a z-Pal, which is a program they have for new hires that pairs them with someone from outside their team to bond with and introduce them to the company in a more informal way. The only reason people have to go through this unfortunate process is because management wants to make easier to let employees go if they don't live up to their expectations (my manager admitted this), which is a pretty bleak way of looking at it. Growing Pains - As things scale up, Zillow has experienced growing pains in a few areas. I feel like leadership really needs to step it up on transparency and communication. As an individual contributor I feel like I'm in the dark on what's going on. Sometimes changes happen and I find out weeks later that something had changed. So not only do I not have the chance to provide feedback and be involved in the process, I don't even get looped in on the change. Lower and middle-management could work on communicating out the direction and vision for our org.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-30

    Zillow Response

    August 1, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review. People join Zillow as contractors for a variety of reasons - and since contractors are not Zillow employees we can't include them in certain events and programs. We do not utilize contract to hire as a practice, each contractor is brought in for a set body of work over a defined period. If at the conclusion of that work we have a permanent opportunity than we look their skills with available positions. Your feedback is helpful so we can continue to evolve our communication approach with anyone that touches ZG.

    Continue reading
  5. "Life-changing career move! I never want to leave."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Parker, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This list is long: benefits, office perks, work hours, travel, uncapped income potential, forward-thinking and evolving company, incredible culture, open-door leadership culture, etc.. Working for Zillow has, in no small way, changed my life. My contributions are recognized financially and through corporate recognition, and I take great pride in my work and career trajectory. I have requested multiple 1:1 meetings with executive-level leadership and always land on their calendars. You absolutely have to be proactive and eager here, but the rewards are the best in the business!

    Cons

    If you do not have a thick skin and don’t like hard, hard work, this is not for you. I do feel there is room for significant improvement with our sales leaders. I don’t have faith that many sales executive or BC managers have any idea what their teams face on a daily basis, their follow-up and through is lacking, overall support and individual empowerment could use a lot of work, etc.. Fortunately, this has not affected me too severely, as I perform without needing much supervision, but I do see many of my colleagues struggle, unaided by management.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-27

    Zillow Response

    July 29, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for your very thoughtful review! Thank you for recognizing the opportunities you’ve had with access to executives and how Zillow Group has enhanced your life! I appreciate your feedback and ideas on work needed and how we can improve, ensuring all of our managers have relevant understanding, in the day to day of all of our sales professionals. Thanks again, Ann Sobil, Senior Director

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Zillow Offers 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    This company walks the talk. The environment is amazing. I’m happy to come to work, therefore I’m WAY more productive and creative.

    Cons

    Haven’t found one yet.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-24

    Zillow Response

    July 25, 2019President, Homes Division

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback. Culture is very important to me and we strive every day to make Zillow a special place to work where each person feels empowered to do great things in a collaborative and fun environment. - Arik Prawer

    Continue reading
  7. "Smart and caring leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Client Engagement Specialist 

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Growing really fast and changing rapidly.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-22

    Zillow Response

    July 23, 2019Senior Director, Connections Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear you had a very positive experience. We are indeed growing fast and changing quickly, but we view this as a positive. Our business is constantly evolving and we are never standing still. This is a unique environment and best suited for those who are willing to change and evolve with the business. Thanks for your contributions during your time with us and best of luck in your new endeavors. Greg Davis Senior Director Connections Experience gdavis@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  8. "Challenging, but very rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow

    Pros

    Benefits are solid. A ton of opportunity to own your career development. Fast-moving, so there’s always a new challenge or opportunity to take on. Leadership is very transparent about decision making and planning. Everybody that you work with is super friendly and very mission-driven.

    Cons

    Has gone through a few re-orgs and some shuffling, but I hope that once the dust settles, then everything will get back to normal. ZG is experience an interesting shift in product development and direction, so sometimes it feels like I’m a bit late to find out about an update, but that’s just the business of a fast moving tech company. I wish there was a cash bonus structure.

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-19

    Zillow Response

    July 23, 2019CPO

    Thanks for your review and contributions to ZG! Challenging but very rewarding is exactly the type of development culture we strive for, and I am glad you felt you got development opportunities. Thanks for your advice and perspective as we look for opportunities to improve. If you have any further ideas please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, improvements needed on comp side of things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in Centennial, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Benefits and perks were second to none - Travel regularly - ZG Week

    Cons

    -The majority of teammates did not understand how comp worked or how much $ they were going to make in a given quarter. In the time I worked there, the comp structure changed once per quarter - Little career growth opportunity - Unrealistic quotas set by individuals with very little to no experience setting a quota or participating in an IC sales role

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-15

    Zillow Response

    July 16, 2019Senior Director, Premier Agent Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It’s great to read you had a very positive experience and appreciated your benefits and travel. Regarding career growth opportunity, we now have in place a new performance management tool, which involves a dialogue between the IC and their Manager. We’ve seen terrific results from utilization, inclusive of individuals moving into other business units, as well as promotions to team leads and Managers. Our compensation plan is developed, not only by a group of individuals, including myself, who were IC’s in previous sales roles, but also very thoughtfully, to be one that is financially compelling and rewards great performance. Is it challenging? Absolutely. I’d love to hear more about your experiences, as there is always room for improvement, so please feel free to call me on my cell at 206-348-1794. Thank you, Ann Sobil, Senior Director Premier Agent Sales

    Continue reading
  10. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Database Engineer 

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Freedom not much micro managing new technolgies

    Cons

    not great pay and compensation

    Continue reading
    Zillow2019-07-31

    Zillow Response

    August 1, 2019CTO

    Thank you for highlighting some of the many benefits from working at Zillow. We are working on some exciting products for our consumers and utilizing new technologies in our empowered, small team model. I encourage you to talk with your manager and HRBP with any concerns about your compensation. We work hard to ensure we are competitive in the market based on the role and experience of each of our employees, especially in tech. Salary, stock, work environment and other company benefits are all factors with short and long term considerations. We'd be happy to discuss this with your further.

    Continue reading
Found 743 reviews