Cotton On Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Cotton On Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 824 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Cotton On CEO Peter Johnson
Peter Johnson
202 Ratings
Pros
  • "50% discount across all brands, flexibility with shifts (especially helpful for university students)(in 123 reviews)

  • "Great staff discount that can be used(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management can push unreachable expectations(in 54 reviews)

  • "Few hours for casuals if working in small store(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 

    I have been working at Cotton On full-time

    Pros

    flexible, great opportunities moving upward

    Cons

    lots of competition, high expectations

    Cotton On2019-08-18
  2. "Varies from store to store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great first sales job Good training programs and incentives Employee discount Internal confidential hotline

    Cons

    Some stores are great, some are VERY cliquey- rude to other employees and customers Upper management and head office are completely hit or miss- keep in mind there are people within the company whose job it is to protect the company at the expense of the employees

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate your suspension/termination policies and make the process of evaluating staff transparent- HR and loss prevention should not be able to arbitrarily interpret policy especially when it affects other people's jobs.

    Cotton On2019-08-24
  3. "Cotton on is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Cotton On part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff, 50% discount on all products from 7 brands plus regular ‘uniform deals’ at a further discount think full outfit (3 items) for $20.

    Cons

    Management can be very cliquey, promotions and hours are dolled out based on nepotism

    Advice to Management

    More transparency with fostering and expectations being applied fairly to all staff.

    Cotton On2019-08-13
  4. "Cost cutting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun enviroment working with some great people

    Cons

    Cost cutting techniques, very reactive company that implements change at the drop of a hat, poor communication from top to bottom

    Cotton On2019-08-21
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Employee 

    I worked at Cotton On part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount Nice co workers Lots of shifts to pick up at other stores

    Cons

    High management turn over Have to upsell everything

    Cotton On2019-08-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Casual in Riverton
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you meet within the company are amazing, I've made friends that i know I'll keep even after my time with the company is over. 50% off all 7 brands in the cotton on group. Management are kind and understanding when you explain why KPI's might not be met. They give you useful advice on how to rectify issues and meet targets. Relaxed, and fun working environment that encourages hard work and customer...

    Show More

    Cons

    Hard to move up within the company and as a casual my hours are not guaranteed.

    Cotton On2019-08-02
  7. "great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great working environment, everyone is nice and friendly

    Cons

    sometimes intensive multitasking when busy

    Cotton On2019-08-06
  8. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Cotton On for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going, great staff, good pay

    Cons

    New managers coming through pushing KPIs constantly

    Cotton On2019-08-03
  9. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual/Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Cotton On

    Pros

    - Good experience - Good surrounding - Good training

    Cons

    - The store would change layout every week so frustrating coming into work and having everything completely different - Minimal hours

    Cotton On2019-07-28
  10. "Gonna miss my job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator in Wacol
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cotton On full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ethnically diverse, welcoming, fun, family environment, catering

    Cons

    Some managers can be difficult to communicate with

    Advice to Management

    Be educated in every role that operates within the warehouse. They're all different in their own way and have their own sets of challenges and it would be nice to have the manager's understanding on how to address these issues individually

    Cotton On2019-07-17
Found 824 reviews