Myer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Myer Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 467 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Myer CEO John King
John King
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Expecting you to work more than roster(in 21 reviews)

  • "Competition between other Christmas casuals who want to be kept on so they are unwilling to help you(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Christmas Casual 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very fun and friendly atmosphere. Good hours and great pay.

    Cons

    Day to day work. Other than that, none.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Myer2019-08-19
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Fairfield

    I have been working at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good opportunity, experience, fun work

    Cons

    need to travel every week

    Myer2019-08-13
  3. "Great fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team, good staff discount

    Cons

    No job security as they tend to over hire staff

    Myer2019-08-12
  4. "Myer review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Christmas Casual/Sales Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer for less than a year

    Pros

    nice working environment .. friendly colleague

    Cons

    nothing actually. its all good

    Myer2019-08-23
  5. "Luggage Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Castle Hill
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good clear view of objective.

    Cons

    No shifts available due to budget shortages.

    Myer2019-08-23
  6. "Good Culture and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working and innovative culture

    Cons

    Cost cutting focus and silo'd mentality.

    Myer2019-08-08
  7. "Clean public image hides toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Penrith
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having steady work - depending on your role. Staff discount is generous

    Cons

    Toxic workplace culture Poor team work in some cases Very poor management Stressed floor staff Harassment

    Advice to Management

    The Penrith store has a toxic culture, poor management. Only advice I can give is refresh management or profits will suffer from unhappy staff

    Myer2019-08-20
  8. "A good uni job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Penrith
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Myer staff are generally friendly. The culture is reasonably positive

    Cons

    The shifts/hours we get are inconsistent.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees!!! Ask us questions - beyond sales, we in the best position to know which brands are best, how many people should be rostered on, what should be restocked, etc.

    Myer2019-08-05
  9. "Enjoyable work but company does not value their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Gold Coast
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great deal of autonomy, great coworkers, good discounts on home brands

    Cons

    Terrible upper management, understaffing causes stress and poor service, average pay, not rostered long enough to allow preparation for opening and closing

    Advice to Management

    Roster extra 15 minutes for opening and closing, roster more staff, value staff with recognition and rewards

    Myer2019-08-18
  10. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good to have experience for a first job

    Cons

    Managers treat you like high school kids

    Advice to Management

    Put more trust into employee and be more professional

    Myer2019-07-30
Found 467 reviews