Myer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Myer Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Myer CEO John King
John King
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Expecting you to work more than roster(in 23 reviews)

  • "Dismissed based on availability when in reality they didn't give out shifts to casuals(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not bad but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Amazing team and good skills learnt

    Cons

    Not that many shifts and can get quite busy

    Myer2019-09-10
  2. "Friendly ,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Nice environment For work,

    Cons

    Standing long hours , no improvement

    Myer2019-10-14
  3. "Great place for a casual job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Met some amazing people who I'm still friends with 3 years later - I was in the Miss Shop department, so I was working with a lot of other uni students which was a great work environment - Casual role gives you a lot of flexibility, especially if you have other commitment - Good pay compared to other Casual retail roles, especially with weekend and public holiday loading, and over Xmas period - really good... discounts, with some SuperWeekends+Myer staff discount, we got more off some of the concession brands than the actual staff employed by that brand lol (concession brands are the 3rd party sections with their own staff e.g. Nike, Mecca etc etc ) - you get to leave work on the dot, or get paid to stay later

    Show More

    Cons

    - i don't think you get paid well or have good work-life balance as a full-time member - not a lot of room for career development, once you hit department manager, it seems your stuck there for a really long time - your experience can be really affected by whoever happens to be the manager on duty e.g. the good organised manager keeps the team working well together and actually helps when we're overwhelmed, but if... the person in charge that day is the angry one who's absent, then it'll be an awful day and there's likely to be a massive mess on the sales floor at closing time - customers can be rude sometimes, but that's to be expected in retail - theft is common - some of the stores are very dated/dirty e g. Old fitting rooms, broken AC, disorganized/dusty store rooms

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - you have some really talented and over-qualified people working in your stores, they should be acknowledged otherwise they end up leaving for DJs (have seen it happen many times)

    Myer2019-10-02
  4. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myer part-time

    Pros

    Best management Best experience

    Cons

    less working hours more pressure

    Myer2019-10-14
  5. "Myer isn’t just Black & White"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends

    I worked at Myer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great discount on all products in store; often a fun work environment & could feel like a big family; enjoyable work, good colleagues & loyal customers; long standing company which has tried to keep up with the times & update its ethos & tech as was relevant & viable; for the most part upper & ops management did their best with what they were given; once given a permanent contract, it’s a... very stable job, but with the ability to take on flex & overtime hours if so desired.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not enough communication between Floor/Service Managers to the rest of the team; poor effort on making budgets known after having repeatedly asked for them. Expected to know everything via psychic ability; not being given delivery schedules for product arrival; team members who were contracted to specific depts were often taken out & put in other depts, leaving my dept grossly understaffed (just 1 person on!!!),... & then unfair expectations of being able to operate an entire dept on ones own, & still get everything done efficiently without the rest of the team!; No room for growth or development even if you’ve the qualifications & experience (particularly in non-flagship stores).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t let bigotry & “small town” mentality limit opportunities for growth & career development for motivated, dedicated, loyal, & hardworking employees. Eventually they’ll have to move on, & you’ll find yourself starting from scratch all over again.

    Myer2019-09-30
  6. "Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Maribyrnong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount for staffs Friendly staffs Good environment

    Cons

    I really enjoy working here

    Myer2019-09-26
  7. "Great team environment but understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Set roster with same days and hours Good work life balance Great team environment Long lasting friendships

    Cons

    Not enough staff on floor resulting in lost sales and frustrated customers

    Myer2019-10-07
  8. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hornsby
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working hours, pay rates, personnel

    Cons

    Dealing with certain customers who complain

    Advice to Management

    Go you good thing

    Myer2019-09-16
  9. "staff discounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good staff discounts and great staff members

    Cons

    not enough staff and hours

    Myer2019-09-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "myer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myer part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good discounts and great people to work with but that's about it.

    Cons

    Always understaffed Customers can review your service through a survey and most of them will leave negative reviews because of how understaffed myer is. not worth the pay you will get. some of the managers can create a negative environment to work in.

    Myer2019-09-25
Found 329 reviews
</>Embed