Oil Search Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Oil Search Managing Director Peter Botten
Peter Botten
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Petroleum Production Forecasting"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Petroleum Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Work from Home, Salary, Beautiful City, Harbourside lifestyle

    Cons

    No other oil company in Sydney, no competition, high cost of living in Sydney

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2018-07-30
  2. "Positive experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Geoscientist in Sydney

    I worked at Oil Search full-time

    Pros

    A lot of technical expertise

    Cons

    New CEO has a very aggressive strategy that does not match with the company values (previous)

    Oil Search2020-05-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Top PNG operator with small minded attitude"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Analyst in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oil Search full-time

    Pros

    The company really support work balance, embracing equality and investing on PNG people where they operate. Generous paid compare to others and five stars office environment with some great people to work with.

    Cons

    There are many incompetent leaders that can’t make decision yet clinging to their history or senior management connection. It’s ‘who’ you know than ‘what’ you can offer in this company that matters. Silo mentality because of some senior leaders afraid of sharing information and prefer hearing external consultant recommendation than their own staff.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2020-04-21
  4. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Drilling Technical Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oil Search full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place to work

    Cons

    unfortunately the oil and gas industry is an unstable industry in unstable countries.

    Oil Search2020-03-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Clueless management, lots of politics"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Oil Search

    Pros

    Nice office and decent benefits

    Cons

    Workplace bullying Clueless management Lots of politics

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2020-02-19
  6. "Good People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time

    Pros

    People are fun to work with Great technical staff

    Cons

    Lack of career progression Limited opportunities to move within the organisation

    Oil Search2018-11-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not Reccommended"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oil Search full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable salary and benefits for employees.

    Cons

    Lots and lots of politics sadly managed as a boys club, lack of talent on most senior management, there is a couple of exceptions, poor vision and no support to employees.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2018-12-14
  8. "Supply Chain Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Number one safety culture and safe working environment.

    Cons

    Competition is touch. People are challenged to perform to meet set standards

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2018-04-26
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Harassment and bullying"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oil Search full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable salary. Good spread of technical staff across various diciplines.

    Cons

    Extremely political. Completed an online Bullying and Harassment training module when I signed up but never thought that I would end up as the victim. Was continuously harassed by my young team lead in an attempt to demonstrate his 'leadership qualities' to management.

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2017-12-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Oil Search"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Oil Search full-time

    Pros

    A medium sized company, with small company attitudes - you know everyone, and everyone knows you. You can get to the people you need to talk to without unnecessary hierarchy, and you can get things done with a minimum of red tape. Limited processes and structures in place mean that problem solvers and big-picture thinkers can go a long way.

    Cons

    Lots of politics, lots of interpersonal dramas making the working environment unpleasant at times. Compensation is below market

    Continue reading
    Oil Search2016-08-31
Found 33 reviews