Optus Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Optus Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 575 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Allen Lew
247 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work culture encourages work/life balance(in 64 reviews)

  • "Fantastic organisation that knows how to take care of its employees, a dynamic working environment which means everyday is different(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "nsw location - macquarie park, now that the train line is currently closed(in 18 reviews)

  • "no work life balance;few career development opportunity(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great workplace to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optus full-time

    Pros

    my time at optus was fantastic.

    Cons

    there are no cons. i have no complaints

    Optus2019-03-30
  2. "Senior Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canberra
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Optus full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Good culture. Opportunity to develop experience, contacts and achieve results. Good autonomy with opportunity to be creative. God incentives for over achievement

    Cons

    Some process improvements and resource constraints. Difficult to find good talent to deliver required outcomes for customers, both in project delivery and service delivery

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting resources and support functions from the back end. Enable teams to deliver a better customer experience. Plan for long term, not just in-year

    Optus2019-04-12
  3. "Great Company to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in North Ryde
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus, Excellent Benefits, Perks, Campus facilities and good overall working environment. Managers is very supportive and work life balance is perfect. Flexibility to work from home.

    Cons

    Too many processes and need to be more agile. Too many systems and require consolidation.

    Advice to Management

    Create more autonomy in the business. Otherwise fantastic leadership culture

    Optus2019-04-11
  4. "SMB SPECIALIST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Optus full-time

    Pros

    Amazing work ethic and family friendly

    Cons

    Area managers always looking for external hiring instead of progression inside company

    Optus2019-04-02
  5. "Software Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work and beautiful environment, financially well discipled

    Cons

    Some parts of organisation work in silos, strategic planning is lacking.

    Optus2019-04-13
  6. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optus part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Can be fun with good coworkers and manager. Commission and employee discount

    Cons

    Low base salary Can be stressful

    Optus2019-04-13
  7. "Service Desk analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Really nice place to work.

    Cons

    There is nothing as such to say

    Optus2019-03-29
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus part-time

    Pros

    Optus is an organisation where the opportunities to get involved and make a difference are endless. Optus look after their people and genuinely seek to make Optus a great place to work for employees. Employees are encouraged to volunteer and give back to the wider community.

    Cons

    Nothing to add in this space

    Optus2019-03-27
  9. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many fun co-workers to hang around Flexible hours, manager was happy to organise around my study schedule Nice monthly bill discount

    Cons

    Nasty customers - sometimes there are not enough resources for us retail staff to help resolves issues for customers Stressful environment, I can't imagine myself working here sustainably full-time. Career opportunities leveraging Bachelor degrees limited, as many teams in head-office now being outsourced.

    Optus2019-03-28
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time

    Pros

    Campus, salary, culture, technology, location

    Cons

    Security, management, size, customer experience, lack of direction

    Optus2019-03-27
Found 575 reviews