Uber Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Uber Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes the app doesn't take me to the right location to pick up the riders(in 353 reviews)

  • "Wear and tear on POV gets expensive(in 305 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great option if you have other stuff going on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expert in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Uber is a really supportive environment, particularly in the Brisbane office. Management culture is fantastic and they really foster open channels of communication regarding performance. Positive and constructive feedback are both offered regularly. There's a real sense of respect from management towards employees. Customer service representatives are encouraged to put in 110% to make sure we are offering the best possible...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only opportunities for advancement that open up are in Sydney or overseas. Not a great place to work if you're looking to advance a career within Brisbane. Roles are casual to start with and hours are not always freely available.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. It's clear you respect your employees and that is reflected in the positive culture.

    Uber2019-07-02
  2. "Poor pay and politics aside, I learnt a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time

    Pros

    Some brilliant people at Uber. You will make friends at work. You will grow professionally.

    Cons

    Credits won’t pay your bills. You’ll be underpaid (ballpark) 15-30k. You’ll be overworked - good luck ever agreeing on what falls in your “remit”. If you’re not an extrovert - you’re not going to enjoy Uber’s culture very much. If watching a circle j*rk makes you want to tear your eyes out - don’t apply.

    Advice to Management

    Welcome to Uber. First time manager?

    Uber2019-08-10
  3. "Fantastic, fast paced, creative, and collaborative organisation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Development Business Partner ANZ in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Uber has a fast paced, creative and collaborative culture. You will have the opportunity to be involved with many exciting projects and tasks with passionate and enthusiastic people. Everyone is talented, supportive and wants to do their best!

    Cons

    A fast paced environment is not for everyone, to succeed you need to be autonomous, hard working, confident, and committed.

    Uber2019-07-01
  4. "waste of time to be uber driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Self Driver in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    no working under other and no heavy lifting

    Cons

    long hour works out under 6 dol per hour after all cost

    Advice to Management

    commission too high for not good service

    Uber2019-07-31
  5. "Couldn't be happier!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success/Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    "Ideas over hierarchy" is one of the key company pillars and they really do practice what they preach. I haven't been in my role for more than 6 months, however, I've already contributed to multiple projects that have had an impact across the whole ANZ market. They do more for L&D than I've seen anywhere else - really investing in their employees. They also understand the impact of culture on a workplace and put...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you're not used to a start-up environment, you'll need to prepare yourself for the volatility of things changing extremely quickly - process changes, product updates, compliance/legal workflow, etc.

    Uber2019-06-18
  6. "Incredible workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is incredible, opportunity to move Into new roles, autonomy to take on and own projects, catered lunch provided, CEO is inspiring, product innovations daily.

    Cons

    If you struggle to work autonomously and respond poorly to change, it’ll be a struggle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing.

    Uber2019-06-03
  7. "Working as a uber driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Uber Driver in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Uber part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible shift timings to work

    Cons

    No fixed wages and no superannuation nothing

    Uber2019-05-23
  8. "Exciting business, mundane and repetitive managerial structure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subject Matter Expert in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Network of friends and peers, new opportunities to learn skills and develop insights.

    Cons

    Tiresome internal management and hiring structure, constantly redoing the same projects that have been proven to fail, very little internal innovation, lack of support from local management teams.

    Advice to Management

    Promote internally rather than hire externally, use the experience accumulated by existing staff to forecast projects and concepts that are effective and will enact positive change.

    Uber2019-04-30
  9. "uber expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Uber Expert in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    multicultural - supportive environment with face to face communication with seniors is the best thing. i simply love the company!

    Cons

    individuals such as front line employees (experts) should be appreciated more in terms of incentives/bonuses/rewards for all the hard work they have been putting through.

    Advice to Management

    more opportunities should be there for current employees in terms of developing individuals professional careers

    Uber2019-04-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fair rates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work autonomously managing your work schedule

    Cons

    The application does not show where you are going before you accept the trip

    Uber2019-04-17
Found 44 reviews