Uber Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Uber Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi
Dara Khosrowshahi
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Picking up annoying Drunk riders(in 346 reviews)

  • "Wear and tear on POV gets expensive(in 296 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Couldn't be happier!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success/Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    "Ideas over hierarchy" is one of the key company pillars and they really do practice what they preach. I haven't been in my role for more than 6 months, however, I've already contributed to multiple projects that have had an impact across the whole ANZ market. They do more for L&D than I've seen anywhere else - really investing in their employees. They also understand the impact of culture on a workplace and put...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you're not used to a start-up environment, you'll need to prepare yourself for the volatility of things changing extremely quickly - process changes, product updates, compliance/legal workflow, etc.

    Uber2019-06-18
  2. "Incredible workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is incredible, opportunity to move Into new roles, autonomy to take on and own projects, catered lunch provided, CEO is inspiring, product innovations daily.

    Cons

    If you struggle to work autonomously and respond poorly to change, it’ll be a struggle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing.

    Uber2019-06-03
  3. "Working as a uber driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Uber Driver in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Uber part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible shift timings to work

    Cons

    No fixed wages and no superannuation nothing

    Uber2019-05-23
  4. "Exciting business, mundane and repetitive managerial structure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subject Matter Expert in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uber full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Network of friends and peers, new opportunities to learn skills and develop insights.

    Cons

    Tiresome internal management and hiring structure, constantly redoing the same projects that have been proven to fail, very little internal innovation, lack of support from local management teams.

    Advice to Management

    Promote internally rather than hire externally, use the experience accumulated by existing staff to forecast projects and concepts that are effective and will enact positive change.

    Uber2019-04-30
  5. "uber expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Uber Expert in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uber part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    multicultural - supportive environment with face to face communication with seniors is the best thing. i simply love the company!

    Cons

    individuals such as front line employees (experts) should be appreciated more in terms of incentives/bonuses/rewards for all the hard work they have been putting through.

    Advice to Management

    more opportunities should be there for current employees in terms of developing individuals professional careers

    Uber2019-04-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fair rates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

      I have been working at Uber full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You work autonomously managing your work schedule

      Cons

      The application does not show where you are going before you accept the trip

      Uber2019-04-17
    • "Greenlight Hub"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Greenlight Expert in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Uber part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - culture - experience - opportunities

      Cons

      - computer based - front desk

      Advice to Management

      - keep improving!

      Uber2019-03-06
    • "A great place to learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Greenlight Expert I in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Uber part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Fantastic work culture, decent variety of tasks, and very people-focused management team. Management is always willing to listen to suggested improvements and feedback about current systems. A fast-paced and challenging environment. I always feel like I'm making a difference.

      Cons

      Management is occasionally disorganised. On the odd day, the Team Leads will forget to communicate things to the Greenlight Leads, so just make sure to follow up to ensure that it's actioned on time.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up!

      Uber2018-12-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Life at the Greenlight Hub..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Greenlight Expert in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Uber full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Management truly care about you. The support I've received from management at Uber is like no other I've experienced before - The team is amazing. Everyone understands the goal and supports each other to achieve it. I've met many great colleagues here who I now consider my good friends - You can be your true self at Uber - Agile environment. Very fast paced and ever-changing. This makes working here so exciting ...

      Show More

      Cons

      - Responsibilities are split between experts to improve efficiency, although not quite sure if this is actually improving interactions with partners

      Advice to Management

      Continue what you're doing

      Uber2018-12-05
    • "Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Uber full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Innovation and autonomy and distribution

      Cons

      Culture and values and ambiguity

      Advice to Management

      Change faster

      Uber2018-10-14
    Found 40 reviews