CH2M Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
CH2M CEO Jacqueline Hinman
Jacqueline Hinman
439 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Need a little better communication from upper management(in 44 reviews)

  • "Bad senior management- the leadership needs to learn to be more proactive and teach their team new skills(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company CH2M"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Contracts Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M

    Pros

    Work life balance, benefits, colleagues, highly ethical

    Cons

    Not the highest paying company

    CH2M2015-06-26
  2. "Not Bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent technical experience in the right team. Good leadership overall in most areas.

    Cons

    Difficulties winning work in some markets and geographies meant that company could never become "big" in certain countries.

    CH2M2018-05-21
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Great People - Lost organisation"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good People with a wealth of technical experience in the field they work in. A large global reach to leverage expertise from.

    Cons

    Constant restructures. Lack of vision and direction. Difficult to get support from global resources due to the silo mentality across the company and geographies. Very risk averse organisation. Still US centric.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2017-05-03
  4. Helpful (13)

    "An Executive blinded by themselves"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CH2M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are many, just not feeling them right now. This latest restructure has been a woefully executed process. Change happens, it's often not fun but necessary. How you implement change is a leadership litmus test. A test this CEO and executive have failed.

    Cons

    No bottom line growth in years under the leadership of an exec and BG exec management who've contentedly protected their own interests while failing to support, understand or capitalize on growth outside of their pet focus areas. Leading to more restructuring...opportunity to make impactful change....but no.... different structure, same people, new titles, appointing the same buddies to roles around them. If these people failed to perform, lead and grow the business in their previous roles, why are they still tasked with this responsibility?

    Continue reading
    CH2M2016-10-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good co'workers but poor senior management."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CH2M full-time

    Pros

    Good fellow workers and worldwide opportunities.

    Cons

    Too many short term fixes on company wide basis without considering long term requirements or impacts.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2016-04-08
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Principal Engineer"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Regional APN Engineer Or Consultant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CH2M

    Pros

    The Pros are not very special than others.

    Cons

    Poor management as so many layers of layers of business, local , regional and global management. Need to get all layers approval to bid works and as a results too late. Ch2 avoiding to do design work in engineering and it will lead to dead end of the business.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2016-04-14

    CH2M Response

    July 1, 2016Global Talent Brand Strategist

    Thanks for the feedback, i'll share this with the management team. Thanks, Matt

  7. Helpful (8)

    "One Star Rating Based on ANZ Business"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is unfortunate that CH2M HILL has not acted quickly to remove the business ethics and practices of former Halcrow Group Directors and Senior Executives with the ANZ business as the impression is that overall CH2M HILL internationally has a good employee culture.

    Cons

    The business is top heavy in Director and Executive levels who deliver little. Within ANZ it has a large issue with former Halcrow Group Directors and key Senior Management team who have no track record in delivering opportunities. Within ANZ there is complete mismanagement which is leading to a decline in business opportunities and CH2M HILL do not appear to be taking a decision to remove key former Halcrow Group senior management who are underperforming.

    Continue reading
    CH2M2014-09-14
  8. "Solid IT Intern Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was not very fast paced and usually could work on homework in downtime.

    Cons

    My location was in the basement of the GE aviation facility in Evendale. Air quality was a bit worrisome.

    CH2M2020-05-27
  9. "Large Engineering Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bridge Engineer in Chantilly, VA

    I worked at CH2M full-time

    Pros

    Stock options, shared resources globally

    Cons

    Poor connection between lower and upper level managers

    CH2M2020-04-29
  10. "Excellent workplace overall"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable Coordinator in North York, ON
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CH2M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture was extremely positive, great benefits, workplace environment was pleasant, I was well respected in my role.

    Cons

    No cons. Management was constantly changing during my tenure.

    CH2M2020-04-10
Found 1183 reviews
</>Embed