Harrods Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Harrods Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Harrods CEO Michael Ward
Michael Ward
308 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long Hours and Senior Management Politics(in 43 reviews)

  • "Career progression is all based on who you know not what you know(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior shop associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods part-time

    Pros

    Benefits, good trainings and courses for free,

    Cons

    to become managers you need to follow a course if you apply from internal

    Harrods2019-11-14
  2. "Were good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Harrods Sales Associate in Good Easter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It Is one off big store in world

    Cons

    The buying office not working n same building

    Advice to Management

    It was ok

    Harrods2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International team; interesting job; nice work environment; great staff discount and benefits; great teammate and good manager but very difficult to find

    Cons

    Could be bad work-life balance if not managed well; not that much team work unless you’re lucky to have a great teammate and good manager

    Advice to Management

    Hire the right staff; provide better training; follow things through especially managing difficult staff

    Harrods2019-11-05
  4. "Horrible Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    Great team mates, good friends

    Cons

    Horrible manager, please change management

    Advice to Management

    Better manager

    Harrods2019-11-06
  5. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Buying & Merchandising 

    I worked at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    Good discount of 30% and further clothing discount.

    Cons

    Outdated buying office, very manual in their work. No room for improvement.

    Harrods2019-11-19
  6. "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for Harrods for just over 2 years, within that time I have progressed within the HR department twice - progression is available to all if you work for it. Everyone I work with is really supportive and an expert in their field, I feel I learn something every week. We have dress for your day and a flexible attitude towards working from home which I absolutely love. I really enjoy my job here at Harrods... and love the people I work with.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to add on this.

    Harrods2019-11-04
  7. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture Benefits Great company to be a part of

    Cons

    The Location is a bit of a trek

    Harrods2019-10-29
  8. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great benefits, I have worked in the company for 11 years starting off as a part time sales associate and working my way through management. - Discount and Business Clothing Allowance is great! - Lots of secobdments and work experience to try different areas of the business - New brand Values are exactly what was needed - Good family feel

    Cons

    Not really any cons a such... the expectations are high so as long as you are determined and want to work hard to achieve your personal goals and company aspirations... you will succeed

    Advice to Management

    My manager is fantastic and really looks after her people, she speaks with everyone and makes an effort to get to know everyone with whom she comes into contact with

    Harrods2019-10-27
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Export Sales Administrator in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great communication and people

    Cons

    Working pattern , shift, location, accessible

    Advice to Management

    None

    Harrods2019-10-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Management needs a lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You meet some amazing people and get to work in a beautiful environment for an iconic company. Staff discounts are also a bonus.

    Cons

    Managers. I have worked retail for a few years and have never come across managers like the ones in Harrods. There’s a very unkind and toxic culture and some managers treat you like absolute rubbish. I have witnessed managers shouting and belittling their staff on the shop floor. Have also witnessed managers gossiping and making snide comments about their staff to other staff members. The lack of professionalism is... very alarming, very reminiscent of American high school culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realise that your staff are humans too and respect goes both ways. Managing is about inspiring and bringing out the best in your team, not making them feel useless and unappreciated. I think when harrods gets this in check it really would be one of the best places to work.

    Harrods2019-11-02
Found 654 reviews