Pulse (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Pulse (UK) Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pulse (UK) CEO Richard MacMillan
Richard MacMillan
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Having been part of the Pulse family for 10 years I am proud to work for such a great company(in 24 reviews)

  • "Clear career progression, which is mapped out in a career pathway(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pulse give everyone the tools to be able to thrive in a buzzy, fast paced, stressful environment should they be willing to put the work in(in 15 reviews)

  • "Lack of career progression or a clear pathway after initial promotions(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    I have fond memories of Christmas parties, managers away days, long service awards and summer barbecues when we had them. The geographical reach of ICS was always a plus which meant service to candidates and clients was simple and effective. While I didn't enjoy the training sessions as I felt they were outdated, meeting up with people from other offices was a good to share best practise. On a personal level I grew fond of many people there including my first director and the CEO, Richard. There is career progression but it's quite unavailing.

    Cons

    I worked my way up through Pulse over the course of 8 years. I worked hard every day because I wanted to grow the ladder, lead a team, earn more money and become pivotal in future plans for the company. What was once a vibrant, personable company eventually turned into a monster, hell bent on making money at almost any cost. When the agency caps hit, my positive career was immediately called into question and I was made to feel like I became bad at my job over night. I worked 10-12 hour days without any thanks. As I grew the ladder I realised that 'progression' was a myth; in fact, what happened was my base was partially increased inline with the increased responsibility however the way the commission structure is arranged meant my consultants were taking home more than me. I worked hard to get to management level but all it meant was endless meetings, I even had one meeting to discuss what we were going to discuss at a future meeting. My experience of career progression was accumulating other people's problem areas and being tasked to fix them - more career accumulation as opposed to progression methinks. The role felt like groundhog day as instead of head hunting, placing candidates and forming effective collaborative relationships I was measured on the productivity of my team and had to count the number of phone calls they made and outbound duration of calls vs duration inbound. I grew tired of this ineffective approach to recruitment and moved on. I worked for a couple of divisions and sadly, from my experience, the approach is the same - tired and ineffective. It's of no surprise to me that ICS are investing more in life sciences because while I'm sure they still make a lot of money in nursing, they are no longer regarded as the significant market leaders they once were due to the arrogant decision not meet cap rates as they thought they were irreplaceable within the NHS in 2016 where they lost significant market share.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2018-08-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Repetitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    The office is located near Kings Cross train station. The manager arranges team building events but you have to apply for it as if its a talent show but some people are automatically picked to go on it. We go out for drinks every two months to the local pub and get a free drink. The CEO seems nice and always says hello.

    Cons

    We have to call the same clients over and over asking for shifts even though they don't have any because if our call stats are rubbish we get moaned at. We were given sales training but it didn't help. Clients aren't split very well and my day is calling all my clients (9) twice a day and then starting at "A" on the availability and going down to "Z" and then going back to the top again. It would then become an issue because my team said they didn't have enough people to call on their lists as there weren't enough nurses to go around. We lost nurses because of our pay rates as nurse banks put their rates up higher than ours. Earn hardly any bonus and have never been told how to earn more as the bonus scheme is different every month. Managers stick together and have their favourite people which everyone sees through and if your face doesn't fit you're not part of the gang. Don't know what some of the managers and team leaders actually do other than just have inflated egos. Overall the role is boring as you are not given hardly any direction and if you ask you are looked down on as you are expected to know. I've not worked in a recruitment industry before so I'm sorry for not knowing everything but there is no need for managers to talk to you like you're an idiot.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-12-18

    Pulse (UK) Response

    February 2, 2017Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Whilst it is great to read about the many things you liked whilst working here, such as the location, the events, and the benefits, it is unfortunate to read that you would not recommend the company. Our people are our most important asset, we’re passionate about listening to our staff and making sure we take positive action following feedback. Across the business we’re committed to creating a culture of openness and transparency, hence why it is important that we continue to ask for feedback in order to look at what we do well, as well as where we can improve. Our commitment to hosting focus group sessions are an example of how we welcome all feedback; regardless of whether it is less positive and focuses on where we can improve. We would very much encourage you to participate and become one of our engagement champions within the division to help us make improvements and ensure yours and other staff feedback is implemented. You can do this by contacting me at your earliest convenience. Over the past two years we have invested in putting in place a dedicated talent development team; providing all our new starters with an on-boarding programme that is aimed at ensuring our people have the tools they need to do their job. We have planned further investment in our engagement programme, health and wellbeing initiatives and developing our career pathways and promotions. These are all really positive changes and are testament to how we have listened to our staff and implemented initiatives that not only address the day-to-day, but also the longer term .Comments from our recent staff survey tell us that people value “being in a very supportive team with great senior managers”, “help being there when I need it” and our “strong commitment to learning and development”. As our business has grown we continue to remain passionate, as we always have done, about retaining the personal touch; ensuring that all our people feel valued and appreciated and that their contribution helps make a difference. We are committed to making the necessary changes. If you would like to contact me, confidentially, to talk through the points that you have made in more detail, please email me on marcella.pergande@ukics.com.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Wrong side of average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    *Office location *Some good people work here (though lots have left / are leaving) *Well established company *Some good social events like Thursday night drinks every few months *Opportunities available on the intranet in other divisions so company is quite open *Have an oncall team so you don't have to take work home with you / oncall phone *Some good benefits - help cover travel, basic annual leave, team building trips *Do occasional charity events *Dress down Friday - donate a pound for charity *Free coffee and tea etc in the kitchen

    Cons

    *Company too big and has lost personal touch *Never had the commission structure explained. I billed more money from month to month but actually earned less. I've been on different schemes depending on how well team performs. It's always changing and I think it is discretionary dependent on my managers mood *Not a job if you're money hungry as there are too many limitations in place. If you do well then management often simply don't comply with the scheme from the last month. For example - I supplied into every available unit on my client list yet I got penalised for not converting a new client *Pointless targets as the indicator if you're doing a good job is if you make 100 calls in a day and are on the phone for 2 hours. Plenty of better ways to monitor progress *Different teams have different clients and you can be doing better than a colleague who is underachieving in a performing team but earn much less - it is not a level playing field regardless of what your manager implies *Management team are cliquey and rarely acknowledge the team working around them *unless your face fits* *Managers spend hours in meetings but we never get any feedback other than to ring more people - un-inspirational leaders and do little to motivate teams *Was often spoken to like a child being addressed by a teacher. I've recently completed university, got 4 A's at A-Level, worked very hard in my Pulse role and was very contientious so believe more respect was due. I learned that some managers are former nurses and have been there a long time which gave them an air of superiority which disengaged a large number of us *Managers don't say hello when they come in the office and you can see through them when they chat to you during their 'rounds'. This does nothing for the already low morale. They don't have to say hello but don't expect staff to be forthcoming when you come around for small talk *Work long hours without any thanks - tiny piece of a big business and that's how you get treated *Too many people (mainly a couple of managers) living on past glories. Clients may have historically been converted but keep coming back because of the service we continually provide, not because of a client meeting 20 years ago *Promotions are given not always earned. Given to keep hold of some staff or to conveniently replace people that leave. Recently a number of consultants were made senior but still did the same job as before *3 really good managers have left and weren't effectively replaced. I think 2 have gone to other parts of the company which makes me think it's not all bad just that this division is not a good place to be anymore *We were based over two floors in our office but laterly could fit on one as so many people have left *Change the plan every couple of months and don't have much faith in management. Lost lots of market share while management decided the best course of action but they never asked us directly who speak to the clients every day *When first employed I was promised the world but reality is very different - commission structure, career development, training, social events etc nothing is as outlined *When I started, I went through the onboarding process which was overkill especially given I had previous recruitment experience. Most colleagues that started at the same time have left now *Asked to do an interview with my manager but neither had ever done one before so looked like amateurs regardless of the set question interview form *Didn't get to vote on the designated charities we support and when I questioned about it I was told that we did but didn't voice our opinions so decision was taken out of our hands *Morale low and not a pleasant place to work *It's one rule for one person and a different for another; flexibility with break times, doctors appointments, targets, sickness, expectations, business dress *Pulse no longer regarded as the best agency in London and have lost a lot of market share *Office feels like a call centre *No sense of a team - I had no idea who half of my colleagues were who sat 4 desks away from me

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-11-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unfortunate management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with a are great and are very supportive. The social scene fantastic, especially for younger workers looking for a good time in London.

    Cons

    False promises from management and bonuses not being paid out, even after being told that we will get them in our next pay. Management do not care about the inappropriate behavior from coworkers and only care about gross margin not about the well being of employees.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-08-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A once great company that has lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Account Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There were some great people within the business. The CEO is a great leader, but his senior management let him down.

    Cons

    I worked for Pulse for over 10 years and the reviews I have seen on here do not reflect the poor treatment that I have seen happen especially over the last 2 years. The division I worked in had no direction or strategy. Poor decisions at senior management level lead to losing many major contracts and candidates. It all could have been different if they had listened to the staff who were on the ground who knew the market. This once great company who I absolutely loved working for let me down. Lack of support to do my job efficiently, poor communication, and being left to keep staff moral high after changes being made to the business that I had no say in. No career progression- a career pathway was spoken about and promised for over 3 years which never materialised. The bonus structure is an absolute joke for what is supposed to a recruitment company! finally the company of late has lost some really good employees who worked hard and grew the business at its peak, these employees were loyal and stayed because they wanted to see the company get to that success again, but you let them down. I'm still waiting for my exit interview so I thought I'd write a review.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-08-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    August 7, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your experience of working at Pulse wasn't as positive towards the end of your career as we'd like to achieve. I want to reassure you that we will take your feedback on board and ensure that we work with the Leadership team to address these concerns and take any remedial action to improve the experience of our employees both now and in the future. Thank you for your contribution to Pulse over the time you’ve worked with us. You have stated that you didn’t receive an exit interview; if you wish, please contact me at marcia.white@ukics.com, so that this can be arranged.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Coordinator in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with wonderful people

    Cons

    I haven’t experienced anything negative, so cons to state.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-05-28

    Pulse (UK) Response

    June 14, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to read about your positive experience thus far and I hope that you continue to develop and progress in your career here.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pulse have put in place a great career pathway, which means you are in control of what you want to achieve in your career and the timescale in which to achieve it. There is a high level of on-going personal developement which is personally tailored rather than just attending generic training sessions.

    Cons

    Parking can sometimes be limited

    Pulse (UK)2019-04-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    April 8, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are passionate about supporting our employees to help them to grow within Pulse and ICS; developing clear career paths and providing training and opportunities for progression is a key focus across our business. It's great to read about your positive experience thus far and I hope that you continue to develop and progress in your career here

    Continue reading
  8. "Pulse Nursing teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Having been part of the Pulse family for 10 years I am proud to work for such a great company. You have autonomy and trust to help grow the business, open communication and so much in terms of benefits from a simple thank you, through to an amazing Christmas party.

    Cons

    Very few, the nature of what we do = fast pace and often a busy environment, but if you work hard the pros certainly out weigh the cons

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-03-01

    Pulse (UK) Response

    March 8, 2019HR Business Partner

    Hi, it's great to read about your positive experience and to see that you'd recommend this as a great place to work. Listening and acting upon feedback play a key part in engaging with our employees and we'll continue to do so. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  9. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Awesome colleagues, dedicated case managers and care-coordinators

    Cons

    Offices getting shut down, losing dedicated staff

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-03-13
  10. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for with lots of support. Great opportunities for promotion.

    Cons

    There isn’t anything to mention

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-02-21

    Pulse (UK) Response

    March 1, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to read that you feel there are good career opportunities here and that you'd recommend Pulse as a great place to work. We take on board your feedback and will share this with the senior managers.

    Continue reading
Found 109 reviews