Squiz Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Squiz Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Squiz CEO John-Paul Syriatowicz (no image)
John-Paul Syriatowicz
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Full of really great people that are a pleasure to hang out with every day(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexible working arrangements, opportunities to do wat i want, and rewarded(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Very good working environment. nice people

    Cons

    Not much I think for now

    Squiz2019-10-07
  2. "Great place to work- the people are fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Implementation Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Great team, good for learning, great culture and fantastic work/life balance

    Cons

    I don’t have anything negative to say. It truly was a great place to be.

    Squiz2019-09-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Strategy Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy and challenges to solve in digital and new markets

    Cons

    Growth and the need to simplify hamper progress

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the 3 year plan it looks good to me.

    Squiz2019-08-20
  4. "Squiz is pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic people. Always focus on improving. Reinvigorating their offering

    Cons

    Limited markets. Not great brand awareness.

    Squiz2019-07-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unfulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    - Talented and supportive colleagues - Complimentary snacks & breakfast - CBD location - Flexible work environment - 30 days annual leave

    Cons

    - The core of the problems with the company all come down to it's key CMS product offering. It is not competitive or relevant in today's market. - Therefore sales and marketing are scrambling to try and find ways to stay relevant and sell the product. - Retention is low and new sales are poor. - No career development as the company is stagnant and HR is all but non existent - No mentorship from manager or... leadership team - Office environment is depressing. - No structured commission plan or individual targets for sales people (yet you have the high pressures of selling)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You want to keep up with the industry and be a technology agency but are stuck in the past. Improve the product or scrap it and focus on services and partnering with other technology companies. There is a lack of transparency and the goal posts are forever changing - keep your employees better engaged and make them feel heard and acknowledged.

    Squiz2019-07-19
  6. "Opportunities for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Bonus incentives 30 days annual leave Paid maternity leave Supportive team Attractive salary

    Cons

    Team based incentives rather than individual

    Advice to Management

    Take onboard feedback that is regularly provided in order to retain influential and highly sort after staff.

    Squiz2019-06-26
  7. "Don't ! Just Don't !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Coffee machine and tea * People there very nice * Flexible working hours

    Cons

    * Low paid * Still using 5 years ago techs * No one care about the team growing

    Advice to Management

    Meeting , meeting and meeting ~ Never take action.

    Squiz2019-07-07
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Avoid it. You would waste your time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    I made good friends.

    Cons

    Old technology, old mindset. Lots of talks about a vision that keeps changing. No process, no sales culture, no investment... I could carry on.

    Advice to Management

    Implement a proper structure, lead by example, invest.

    Squiz2018-09-27
  9. "A standard digital agency with a good vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - nice people - table tennis / friday drinks - relaxed atmosphere -

    Cons

    - regular agency with either too much going on or not enough - projects become too samey

    Squiz2018-03-26
  10. "Good company that's lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Usually nice office spaces. Creative types. Allows for cross office work more than most companies. The people are nice, majority genuinely like working with each other and are helpful. Friendly social atmosphere. There are a lot of talented people at Squiz working hard for their customers and for each other. Good diversity of people. Pay's okay. Has made some improvements in this space. Nice healthy... living bonus.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's a lot of unaddressed negativity and no innovation. Lots of talk about values but no commitment to technical excellence, recognition of effort or career progression. Client focus is driven by individuals rather than company-wide programmes. Despite delivering innovation for clients we're going backwards. Processes are broken and good ideas from experienced people ignored unless it comes from the CEOs... inner circle. Key products driving innovation are underfunded. Priorities compete with each other. Regionally we innovate but we're not moving forward as a company. There's new vision presented every 6-12 months, its always "we'll build it ourselves!", never includes a budget because the CEO doesn't believe in budgets and never measures results or sticks to a plan. Latest move is to hire new external Executives. Great to being in new experience but change needs to go deeper. Only one female exec (HR) in 8 or 10 globally? There are many female role models available. Why do they not have a voice across the company? No maternity leave or paternity leave. HR has been promising updates on this topic for years. We're burning through people with talent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Squiz was a good company, a local alternative to bigger vendors that. Liners loved, but has been struggling for a while and now our clients are noticing. It's time for an honest look at Squiz. One of our Squiz DNA pillars is Start with the Why. Isolated technology cannot survive on its own. An absolute client focus must guide us. Squiz should be more connected to other tech (stop wasting 5 years on product... R&D) so we keep up with innovation. Deliver on one strategy and measure success or failure before creating another one. Listen to staff on the front lines and put their ideas into practice. They could turn this company around if you did.

    Show More
    Squiz2017-12-15
Found 86 reviews