Squiz Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Squiz Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
John-Paul Syriatowicz
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Full of really great people that are a pleasure to hang out with every day(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexible working arrangements, opportunities to do wat i want, and rewarded(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Solutions Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nice open plan office, where you can easily walk round and chat to people... or fire a nerf gun at them. - Lot's of different work - It's not the same work day-in-day-out, every project is different. We have so many clients, meaning we get so many different projects coming through. My favourites are the single page apps, where I get to use ReactJS! - Awesome fridge with beer and wine... people love that in the...

    Show More

    Cons

    - A few projects come through that aren't super interesting, e.g. just large websites. But then something awesome comes along that you can make into a Single Page App using react/redux/ssr, which is the real fun stuff.

    Squiz2017-08-25
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid it. You would waste your time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    I made good friends.

    Cons

    Old technology, old mindset. Lots of talks about a vision that keeps changing. No process, no sales culture, no investment... I could carry on.

    Advice to Management

    Implement a proper structure, lead by example, invest.

    Squiz2018-09-27
  3. "A standard digital agency with a good vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - nice people - table tennis / friday drinks - relaxed atmosphere -

    Cons

    - regular agency with either too much going on or not enough - projects become too samey

    Squiz2018-03-26
  4. Helpful (6)

    "decent place to work, but has standard problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Sydney
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have some good staff the and good beer fridges and a range of interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Its a regular digital agency that has ups and downs with work load. Having worked a couple of years on different projects I quickly found that there were too many new ideas floating around and not enough action taken on enough of them. Not the best salary around.

    Advice to Management

    Complete some of the ideas first before having 100s more

    Squiz2017-08-31
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Don't, just don't!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I even can't think of one

    Cons

    - Your career will go backwards - You'll work with ancient technology - Nothing changes - Lots of talk, zero action - Management have no clue and are clinging to the past

    Advice to Management

    Admit you need help. Stop acting like a boys club and listen to your staff. Stop calling us 'Squizzers' and actually remember the names of the people who carry this company.

    Squiz2017-08-23

    Squiz Response

    August 24, 2017Head of People & Culture

    Sorry to hear that you feel that your experience with us has not been positive. We take such feedback on very seriously as we do want to create a great culture and experience for our people. If you were comfortable I would like the opportunity to get more context around your feedback ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting place to work for the average folk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Systems Administrator in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Start up feel when I first started working. Ok level of flexibility but not on par with magic quadrant alternatives Some really good opportunities for entry level folks entering the work force but if you're a gun look elsewhere.

    Cons

    Age difference culture clash Agency style work where billable hours take front seat to innovation Glass ceiling on innovation, if it works don't fix it mentality Inability to embrace process improvement and new technology Sub par pay Fragmented team across regions without daily stand up's across regions Complete lack of Product Operational Responsibility across OPS due to fragmentation of the OPS team across...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be totally transparent and look outside the box

    Squiz2017-05-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "PHP Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PHP Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Senior management are top notch and really care about the company. This flows down to most employees with pretty good attitudes throughout the organisation. They have many offices scattered around the place so chance to work with people form different locations.

    Cons

    The work seems to be a little old school and behind the times. Working on large government and enterprise software can be more about meetings than solving interesting problems.

    Advice to Management

    The company needs to look around the industry a bit more to keep up with trends.

    Squiz2017-04-22
  8. "Fantastic people, poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squiz full-time

      Pros

      Fantastic fun group of people to work with that make everyone happy to come to work. There are a lot of people working hard to make the company better.

      Cons

      Pay is the worst part of this job. A lot of people are paid below industry standard and it is proving hard to keep intelligent capable people in their positions.

      Advice to Management

      Work out the pay situation before more staff move on. Skilling people up on Matrix implementation is not an easy investment to make!

      Squiz2017-04-18
    • Helpful (9)

      "Run"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Squiz

      Pros

      An amazing group of peers

      Cons

      Senior management only in it for the buck

      Squiz2017-04-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Squiz - Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Squiz for more than a year

      Pros

      Management allow a lot of flexibility to those that demonstrate that they deliver outcomes and meet deadlines. Flexibility like working from home/part-time hours/compressed hours etc are an industry standard which Squiz embrace. For some staff clearer deliverables need to be provided whether they are working from home or in the office. Very social, friendly and supportive.

      Cons

      Pay increments could be a little better.

      Advice to Management

      You are doing a great job - keep it up.

      Squiz2017-02-09
    Found 78 reviews