Squiz Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Squiz Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
John-Paul Syriatowicz
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Full of really great people that are a pleasure to hang out with every day(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexible working arrangements, opportunities to do wat i want, and rewarded(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Solutions Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nice open plan office, where you can easily walk round and chat to people... or fire a nerf gun at them. - Lot's of different work - It's not the same work day-in-day-out, every project is different. We have so many clients, meaning we get so many different projects coming through. My favourites are the single page apps, where I get to use ReactJS! - Awesome fridge with beer and wine... people love that in the...

    Show More

    Cons

    - A few projects come through that aren't super interesting, e.g. just large websites. But then something awesome comes along that you can make into a Single Page App using react/redux/ssr, which is the real fun stuff.

    Squiz2017-08-25
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Strategy Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy and challenges to solve in digital and new markets

    Cons

    Growth and the need to simplify hamper progress

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the 3 year plan it looks good to me.

    Squiz2019-08-20
  3. "Squiz is pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic people. Always focus on improving. Reinvigorating their offering

    Cons

    Limited markets. Not great brand awareness.

    Squiz2019-07-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unfulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    - Talented and supportive colleagues - Complimentary snacks & breakfast - CBD location - Flexible work environment - 30 days annual leave

    Cons

    - The core of the problems with the company all come down to it's key CMS product offering. It is not competitive or relevant in today's market. - Therefore sales and marketing are scrambling to try and find ways to stay relevant and sell the product. - Retention is low and new sales are poor. - No career development as the company is stagnant and HR is all but non existent - No mentorship from manager or leadership...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You want to keep up with the industry and be a technology agency but are stuck in the past. Improve the product or scrap it and focus on services and partnering with other technology companies. There is a lack of transparency and the goal posts are forever changing - keep your employees better engaged and make them feel heard and acknowledged.

    Squiz2019-07-19
  5. "Opportunities for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Bonus incentives 30 days annual leave Paid maternity leave Supportive team Attractive salary

    Cons

    Team based incentives rather than individual

    Advice to Management

    Take onboard feedback that is regularly provided in order to retain influential and highly sort after staff.

    Squiz2019-06-26
  6. "Don't ! Just Don't !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Coffee machine and tea * People there very nice * Flexible working hours

    Cons

    * Low paid * Still using 5 years ago techs * No one care about the team growing

    Advice to Management

    Meeting , meeting and meeting ~ Never take action.

    Squiz2019-07-07
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Avoid it. You would waste your time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    I made good friends.

    Cons

    Old technology, old mindset. Lots of talks about a vision that keeps changing. No process, no sales culture, no investment... I could carry on.

    Advice to Management

    Implement a proper structure, lead by example, invest.

    Squiz2018-09-27
  8. "A standard digital agency with a good vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - nice people - table tennis / friday drinks - relaxed atmosphere -

    Cons

    - regular agency with either too much going on or not enough - projects become too samey

    Squiz2018-03-26
  9. Helpful (7)

    "decent place to work, but has standard problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Sydney
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have some good staff the and good beer fridges and a range of interesting projects to work on.

    Cons

    Its a regular digital agency that has ups and downs with work load. Having worked a couple of years on different projects I quickly found that there were too many new ideas floating around and not enough action taken on enough of them. Not the best salary around.

    Advice to Management

    Complete some of the ideas first before having 100s more

    Squiz2017-08-31
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Don't, just don't!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I even can't think of one

    Cons

    - Your career will go backwards - You'll work with ancient technology - Nothing changes - Lots of talk, zero action - Management have no clue and are clinging to the past

    Advice to Management

    Admit you need help. Stop acting like a boys club and listen to your staff. Stop calling us 'Squizzers' and actually remember the names of the people who carry this company.

    Squiz2017-08-23

    Squiz Response

    August 24, 2017Head of People & Culture

    Sorry to hear that you feel that your experience with us has not been positive. We take such feedback on very seriously as we do want to create a great culture and experience for our people. If you were comfortable I would like the opportunity to get more context around your feedback ...

    Show More
Found 84 reviews