Squiz Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Squiz CEO John-Paul Syriatowicz (no image)
John-Paul Syriatowicz
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture and people are great here. The amenities are next level, and the company is on the rise within the digital world stage.

    Cons

    I would say that sometimes the internal systems can be too robust, and tough to find specific information on.

    Squiz2020-01-22

    Squiz Response

    February 20, 2020Head of People & Culture

    Thank you for your review and I’m glad you are having a great experience. It’d be great to hear more around your internal system challenges to see what we can do better. Please feel free to reach out to discuss. Thanks again, Helen

  2. "What a great team, but senior management must step up"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Support Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture at Squiz is supportive, vibrant, fun. I enjoyed coming to work each day to be with co-workers who became friends. We constantly challenged ourselves - everyone is very skilled and inspiring to be around. The Squiz DNA is apparent in everything that they do. I had opportunities to extend my skill set, and to travel interstate. I learnt a lot technically and also extended my "soft skills" a lot on this job. I became a mentor and trained new staff in our products, and I became very good at supporting customers over the phone, often being asked for by name by recurring customers. A complete turn-around to where I was before working at Squiz, I grew a lot thanks to this job. My immediate management was the best - technically savvy as well as good leaders. How often does it happen in IT that you can ask your boss for technical advice on how to do things, or have banter over the merits of encryption algorithms, or ways to enhance database queries? I really appreciated that. Also I really appreciated that I could rely on middle-management elsewhere in Squiz to have our backs (particularly in Melbourne), to Fight For Better, and to stop the BS, not be a DH, and help me to Find a Way (the Squiz Values don't pass Glassdoor's language censorship, which I find quite charming, and a strong Pro for Squiz, actually). Thanks to those Values being followed by team members, I was able to connect with anyone in the company for help on our customer's issues, and although my office was remote, we were constantly in the loop, and central to the day-to-day operations of the company.

    Cons

    Senior Management was not transparent, and it is difficult to discern the reasons behind a lot of the choices and directions taken, both technically and for the business. We were delayed for a long time with strategic infrastructure upgrades. Caused by a single individual with a lot of power and backing from the senior management. This cost the company a lot of extra work, risk, and money. After that individual left we were finally able to get on with the long overdue tasks. Still paying down technical debt because of this.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2020-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of very technical and senior people to work with and learn from.

    Cons

    Even though a mature company, some questionable management decisions. Some immature policies around how they treat clients.

    Squiz2020-04-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Business is going downwards very quickly!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - At first the team and the customers.

    Cons

    They have just gone through the second of two large redundancies in the 3 years of my employment with them. Getting rid of the only people who actually bring money into the business! Wouldn't be surprised if the business goes under in a year or less. If you want to be safe with your job, you had better make sure you are in the 'inner circle' as that will be the only thing that will keep your job safe! The company has no direction at all and is falling behind in the market very quickly. They will be lucky to survive 3 more years the way the business is being run at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Squiz2020-04-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Representative"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None would not recommend to anyone

    Cons

    Negative culture and bonuses are withheld from you

    Continue reading
    Squiz2020-03-10
  6. "Great people and emerging tech"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All staff are dedicated to our clients and getting the best possible outcome

    Cons

    Projects can have tight timeframes

    Squiz2019-11-26

    Squiz Response

    December 1, 2019Head of People & Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. It's great to see that you're experiencing our commitment to the customer in Brisbane.

  7. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work - flexible working hours and a great team

    Cons

    Not really a con but, large learning curve due to lots of custom implementation.

    Squiz2019-11-18

    Squiz Response

    January 11, 2020Head of People & Culture

    Thanks for your review. It's great that you have had a positive experience and feel part of t a great team. We trust that you are learning from the implementations, and we do believe that this will improve in the future.

  8. "Nice company to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible workink hour, nice office

    Cons

    Don't have it. All good.

    Squiz2019-10-31

    Squiz Response

    November 3, 2019Head of People & Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to review Squiz and I am glad you felt the office and flexible work hours were positive for you.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Friendly for non-PRs, CMS tech has low market share"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squiz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly for applicants with no PR or citizenship - Formal agile development process from design to production. New-beginners could learn a lot - Use jQuery heavily, and is turning to React - Good tutors and training programs - Free and unlimited Cokes

    Cons

    - No complete test processes and CI automation - Squiz Matrix CMS has low market share, so things in Squiz Matrix might not be used by you in the future - Many legacy codes and tools - Lower salary than the market average - Relatively heavy workload in Australia

    Continue reading
    Squiz2019-11-08

    Squiz Response

    November 10, 2019Head of People & Culture

    Hi, thanks for your review and I'm glad you have had some good experiences while at Squiz. We are investing heavily in Squiz Matrix and all of our products, and as part of that are introducing more modern development frameworks such as Vue and React across our product suite. We have a strong commitment to our growth and continue to focus on this including in US and European markets.From a salary perspective, we acknowledge we're not a top payer, however, we are committed to maintaining a position that is within the market median. Thanks again for your review.

  10. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at Squiz full-time

    Pros

    Very good working environment. nice people

    Cons

    Not much I think for now

    Squiz2019-10-07

    Squiz Response

    October 25, 2019Head of People & Culture

    Thanks for your review and I am glad that your experience was a positive one particularly around the work environment and people.

Found 96 reviews