AECOM Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
AECOM President & CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1,785 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of the upper management make short term decisions to improve their yearly performance that have negative results across the longer term(in 158 reviews)

  • "Large company inhibits individual growth(in 121 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Collaborative environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landscape Architect in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the team across Australia has been very fulfilling. I worked with the first for just over 3 years. The manager was very supportive of the teams' needs. Projects worked on were also very exciting at various scales.

    Cons

    Perhaps the bureaucracy of getting something to be approved as it needs to go through several people.

    AECOM2020-04-15
  2. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Environmental Scientist in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great conditions in the Brisbane office

    Cons

    As always consulting is a hard gig.

    AECOM2020-04-20
  3. "Graduate Interview"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AECOM full-time

    Pros

    Good Team environment, perfect for starting out as they provide the support needed for developing your career

    Cons

    Downsides not applicable for this

    AECOM2020-04-08
  4. "As expected for a massive company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Engineer in Brisbane

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a vast knowledge base given the number of engineers around you and opportunities to work on high-profile projects.

    Cons

    Just another cog in the machine.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2020-03-12
  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Engineer - Substations in Perth, Western Australia

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life-balance Broad scope of work discipline

    Cons

    All Consultancies are dependant on market forces

    Continue reading
    AECOM2020-03-10
  6. "Fantastic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Water Resources Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creative working environment with open minded leaders!

    Cons

    There’s no downsides i can think of.

    AECOM2020-02-29
  7. "Good workplace"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits Interesting work So many female employees (far better ratio than I’ve seen at other engineering firms)

    Cons

    Project work has peaks and troughs, it can be slow sometimes. Hot desk arrangement

    AECOM2020-02-25
  8. "Decent company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and culture. Open office.

    Cons

    Political and work can be dry

    AECOM2020-02-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "none"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Engineer in Sydney

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people but cliquey. Good projects.

    Cons

    I don't know where to start

    Continue reading
    AECOM2020-02-12
  10. "Design Road Highways"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Road Design in Sydney

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has a good atmosphere

    Cons

    I got a good experience

    AECOM2020-01-21
Found 4911 reviews