Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Shopify Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 411 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
306 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, and the benefits(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, you can make a lot of good friends, working remotely is nice(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rotating 6 week schedule with weekend shifts but most gurus adjust to the flow(in 17 reviews)

  • "Creating your healthy work life balance is important(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expansion Pack in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company culture, colleagues in SF are wonderful, regular travel opportunities, interesting problems to work on, growth opportunities, great benefits.

    Cons

    Some internal politics and battles for resources (but I've seen much worse). It can be challenging to be a small US office of a large Canadian company but the HQ offices are getting better at remembering about us.

    Advice to Management

    I have high confidence in the way things are going.

    Shopify2019-06-14
  2. "Customer success guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru in Galway
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people, great benefits , good training and really thorough resources for doing the job

    Cons

    Can be lonely working remote didn’t feel like I was friends with my coworkers that said everyone was really nice.

    Advice to Management

    Hard not to feel under pressure from trainer to go up to three chats

    Shopify2019-06-09
  3. "An experience like no other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Shopify has the best culture you could imagine and the best benefits. I've created some of the best friendships of my life here.

      Cons

      It's very fast paced and you need to be prepared to GSD everyday

      Shopify2019-06-07
    • "Happy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Guru 

        I have been working at Shopify full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Working from home, flexibility, learning opportunities

        Cons

        Weekend work, difficult to disconnect

        Shopify2019-06-05
      • "Shopify Guru"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Shopify full-time

        Pros

        Awesome benefits, extremely supportive environment, exciting company

        Cons

        Very few - can be overwhelming when entering Guruland

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up!

        Shopify2019-06-01
      • "A Wonderful Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -Benefits, Autonomy, Experience, Culture, Colleagues

        Cons

        -Work/Life Balance -Fast growth (this is a pro & con)

        Shopify2019-05-30
      • "Great environment to work in"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Culture, environment, perks, growth

        Cons

        Hard to develop into higher role

        Shopify2019-05-30
      • "Customer Support Guru"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Support Guru in Ottawa, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great learning experience. Detailed training. Amazing benefits. Huge room for growth.

        Cons

        Tough work life balance. High speed/growth culture can lead to burnout.

        Shopify2019-05-29
      • "Very Micromanaged"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Remote, OR

        I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -Benefits are amazing -Salary is decent -Work from home

        Cons

        -Lacks diversity -Leads are not very understanding of peoples unique situations -very micromanaged

        Shopify2019-06-12
      • "Great workplace"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Developer in Waterloo, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Lots of learning Smart people Hard work Great comp Good work life balance

        Cons

        Things change often (can be a pro, but also overwhelming) Growing company has growth pains

        Shopify2019-05-28
      Found 411 reviews