Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Shopify Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 439 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
328 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, and the benefits(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, you can make a lot of good friends, working remotely is nice(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's not enough being done to show care for gurus mental health(in 19 reviews)

  • "Creating your healthy work life balance is important(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very smart here, I've been learning a lot and I can see growth in my future

    Cons

    There are still some bumps with process and operations, and team alignment as the company grows

    Shopify2019-08-16
  2. "Nice place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Very good perks for employees

    Cons

    N/A, i think all good

    Shopify2019-08-13
  3. "Best company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, great benefits, amazing coworkers, inspiring leaders, interesting problems to solve, great culture.

    Cons

    Context heavy company, may seem overwhelming at first.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your leaders and help them level up their leadership skills

    Shopify2019-08-12
  4. "Highlight of my career so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent place to learn and grow - Endless new opportunities: Shopify believes in a "career jungle gym" vs. "career ladder" - Work with so many brilliant and friendly people from all walks of life - Food! Breakfast/lunch everyday, and snacks are readily available - Working spaces are top notch - Flexibility to work remotely whenever you want/need

    Cons

    - Not a con for myself personally, but it's easy to get carried away with the opportunities available. Lots of ambiguity at times so you need to be proactive and able to focus on what needs to be completed first. I'd say Shopify is not for everyone and that's totally ok

    Shopify2019-08-08
  5. "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Shopify overall is a dream. You get to work remote, your benefits are fantastic and the people are absolutely amazing.

    Cons

    Things can sometimes be pretty scrappy

    Shopify2019-07-30
  6. "Very good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    I have enjoyed working at shopify.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Shopify2019-07-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission- guruland needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Easy mission to get behind: make commerce better for everyone - Visionary CEO - Working from home can be awesome - Great peeks + benefits - The guru role will give you a strong knowledge base not only of the Shopify platform, but also allows you to learn how to be an expert in commerce in general. If you are into business/entrepreneurship, this is a great way to learn and get paid at the same time. - People you...

    Show More

    Cons

    Shopify is a great company to work for. If you are able to embrace the role of guru until mastery and then move on to something better, I think it’s a great stepping stone into other areas of the company. The cons below reflect my views of guruland. - Some gurus are straight up smarter + show more potential than their squad leads. From a high performer perspective, it’s tough to be coached by someone you know you can...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Don’t compare guruing to a typical call centre job when it comes to compensation. Shopify Gurus support the internet. - stay true to what Shopify values - incorporate a structure to gather real candid feedback on leads. - identify and better utilize talent available in existing shopifolk - start segmenting the merchants and specializing the support staff

    Shopify2019-07-24
  8. "Defiantly the best company I’ve worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and actually care for you and encourage you to use all your vacation and personal days. Wants to see you grow and move up in the company

    Cons

    None so far - been very welcomed. Working remote doesn’t feel remote with the amount of time you spend and talk with your squad

    Shopify2019-07-27
  9. "Great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, Engaging, Maximizes your growth, Great benefits

    Cons

    There have been no cons here so far

    Shopify2019-07-25
  10. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work! 5/5

    Cons

    Solid place to work - no complaints

    Shopify2019-07-22
Found 439 reviews