Waitrose Reviews

Updated 16 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Waitrose Chairman Sharon White
Sharon White
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible overtime great benefits good pay(in 402 reviews)

  • "John Lewis/Waitrose are such a great company to work for(in 216 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes short staffed(in 88 reviews)

  • "Most new contracts are part time(in 67 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lovely place to work. Great work/life balance. Able to "buy" extra holiday days.

      17 Oct 2020 - Data Analyst in West Hollywood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent environment to work in. Great people, great team work.

      Cons

      Too many reorganisations/transformations in the last year or so which results in job security issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Petit pont

      11 Mar 2020 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to work autonomously or in a team environment Friendly but professional Honest, punctual and reliable Ability to work under pressure Enthusiastic and positive minded

      Cons

      I am a perfectionist when I work I learned to work in a group so I like mutual aid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very enjoyable

      22 Feb 2020 - Customer Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff work well together and are mostly friendly Clientele are mostly very friendly and warm Overtime welcome and paid

      Cons

      Some customers have overly high expectations but management deals with these people well

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Shop Assistant

      25 Nov 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good working atmosphere, supportive managers who schedule daily tasks very well in order to allow for a good working speed and what not.

      Cons

      Sometimes it got quite boring and monotonous doing the same job over and over and over again so maybe a bit better job design could fix this issue and keep the workers more engaged.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good work life balance

      5 Mar 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance mainly

      Cons

      Managers can be fairly unsympathetic Managers too busy doing paperwork in the office to know how the shop floor really runs

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Overall OK, but the pay isn't good for the amount of work they require

      23 Apr 2021 - Currently Unemployed and Seeking Work in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pleasant staff, mostly pleasant customers. Employee discount was above average.

      Cons

      I worked for them for two years and both years they denied my holiday requests repeatedly meaning I had to fight each January to have my remaining holiday allowance paid to me before it was lost. They pushed and pushed me to be crosstrained across the store (I ended up working in 9 roles and training new people in 8 of them) but kept my pay at the bottom of the lowest level, despite their guidelines stating being crosstrained meant you should move up in your pay range. They always had tons of overtime, but would never allow people to have full time hours. They changed my contracted hours a lot (from 8/week to 5/week to 12.5/week to 18.5/week to 11/week to 15/week in the space of 2 years) but always expected me to be fully flexible and work up to 20 hours/week overtime regardless of my contracted hours. I started off on a xmas temp contract and they wouldn't tell me whether they were keeping me on until 2 days before my contracted ended, causing me a lot of stress and financial uncertainty.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Just like any other retail job

      16 May 2021 - Customer Assistant Nights in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If your on the old crontract then I would understand why some people stay here as it makes sense. Most of the old contract staff earn alot more than alot of the office based jobs and there are good perks for them for example double pay Sunday or time and half. They also earn premium working over 37 hours.

      Cons

      If your new to this company i.e less than 5 years then treat this as any other retail job because the pay is average and you can do better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A downwardly spiralling company.

      5 May 2021 - Service Counter Team Leader in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Varied work, lots of overtime, opportunity for training

      Cons

      Slowly cutting staff, low pay, no more bonus for sunday working / bank holiday.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work at for first job

      24 Apr 2021 - Waitrose Supermarket Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly & helpful staff, good shift patterns, took me on as someone whom had no experience of working in a supermarket + was first permanent job, so are willing to give people a chance. Already been given encouragement & advice regarding progression and have only worked at Waitrose for 3 months. Holiday leave is approved quickly.

      Cons

      Shift starts are early for morning partners 05.30 - 06.30 starts & only a 30 minute break for an 8 hour shift.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      14 May 2021 - Waitrose Supermarket Assistant in Aylesbury, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has good work ethic and cares about its employees, great discount across both Waitrose and John Lewis, lovely co-workers.

      Cons

      - jobs end up being repetitive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,609 Reviews

    Work at Waitrose? Share Your Experiences

    Waitrose logo
    or