Westpac Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Westpac Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 728 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Brian Hartzer
287 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "too much red tape to get things done(in 26 reviews)

  • "Lack of employee engagement with senior management around significant business change(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Home finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Finance Manager in Epping, New South Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Large organization Australia's first bank, lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Recruitment process is quite lengthy, Have not fully experienced work life balance in my 8 years of service

    Westpac Group2019-04-29
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great company, excellent support, good benefits

    Cons

    Focus on profit at the expense of people

    Westpac Group2019-05-22
  3. "PBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PBA in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good training - opportunity to grow

    Cons

    - Stress with targets - making calls

    Westpac Group2019-05-20
  4. "Great relationship culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Collaborative, supportive and customer driven culture

      Cons

      Decision making is sometimes slower than expected.

      Westpac Group2019-05-17
    • "B-"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Information Security Consultant in Sydney
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Worklife Integration is great and lots of exposure across a number of business units, people are excellent to work with

      Cons

      Dated tech stack, Finance is the primary driver of all decision-making, very risk-averse,

      Westpac Group2019-05-15
    • "best employer ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Middle Management in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      If you can find a unwatched corner of the office, you can go completely unnoticed in exchange for very little work. Quite possibly why the work life balance is so great! For the ambitious, you can create yourself a nice empire of morons - just remember to cc everyone in all manner of emails, then get your team to cc other people to keep the chain going. If you hear someone say something that sounds smart, you...

      Show More

      Cons

      Its challenging when you actually need others to do their work. My IQ has dropped quite a lot - though i'm slowly start to see this as a pro. I'm running out of smart things to re-say as all the smart people keep leaving.

      Advice to Management

      Please implement better performance management strategies. It feels like nobody has any incentive to work. Best case scenario : I get referred to someone that might do some work that I need. Worst case scenario: the person I am working with says they will do their job, but don't actually do anything. The reforms/changes are basically defaulting people into not taking accountability. We talk about ownership,...

      Show More
      Westpac Group2019-05-13
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Westpac Group full-time

      Pros

      Good leadership, Flexible work, internal Opportunities

      Cons

      No or less bonus Term in role

      Westpac Group2019-05-12
    • "customer service officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Adelaide
      Recommends

      I have been working at Westpac Group full-time

      Pros

      friendly environment, great culture, benefits

      Cons

      fast-paced, a lot to learn

      Westpac Group2019-05-10
    • "Good culture and people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Culture Transparency in decisions roles Plenty of good middle management

      Cons

      No growth. Thus, limited opportunities. Middle of a restructure phase leading to a shrinking of the bank

      Westpac Group2019-05-22
    • "ok position, toxic environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lending Connect Banker 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      great work benefits and potential for growth

      Cons

      toxic environment, management care only about sales targets

      Westpac Group2019-05-22
    Found 728 reviews